Trouble Brewing

Author: Suzanne Baltsar

Publisher: Gallery Books

ISBN: 1501188313

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 1866

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This sweet, savory, and satisfying novel—perfect for fans of The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert—follows a smart, ambitious woman making her way in the male-dominated world of beer brewing. Piper Williams is used to being the only woman in a room full of men, but she isn’t used to being instantly drawn to someone she’s in business with. After working long hours brewing in her garage, Piper is determined to prove herself—and to ignore the chemistry she has with Blake Reed, owner of Minnesota’s newest gastropub who is going to stock four of her brews. She wants her craft beer to stand on its own merits and knows that the tight-knit male-dominated brewer community will assume the worst if she starts anything with one of her vendors. No way she’ll risk everything she’s invested in her budding business on a guy who might not stick—no matter how charmingly handsome and funny he is, right? And Blake has a conflict of his own—his haughty family wants him to ditch the gastropub and support his father’s political campaign. Well, that, and the fact that he knows Piper’s snark and sass is the perfect blend of crisp and refreshing for him. So Blake and Piper make a pact: she’ll go out with him if, and only if, two additional pubs start carrying her beer. Sticking to the pact proves harder than either of them expected—especially since the attraction is off the charts between quirky, independent Piper and smart, charming Blake. Then Piper gets a once-in-a-lifetime offer that could launch her company to the next level—and take her away from Blake. Are she and Blake just drunk in love, or do they have something real that’s worth risking her dreams for?
Release

The Letters of Sarah Elizabeth Jackson (1910-1922)

Author: Barbara Wall

Publisher: University of Adelaide Press

ISBN: 1925261565

Category: History

Page: 258

View: 6051

DOWNLOAD NOW »

‘My sister was a wonderful woman’. So wrote George Canning Jackson on 7 February 1964. His sister, Sarah Elizabeth Jackson (known to friends and family by her second name, Elizabeth), had died of consumption on 14 January 1923, aged thirty-two. Canning Jackson was writing to Dr Helen Mayo, to whom he sent all the letters written by Elizabeth that he had been able to find. These letters were later deposited in the Rare Books and Special Collections section of the Barr Smith Library in the University of Adelaide, and are here presented in with an introduction by Barbara Wall. Elizabeth had a remarkable influence on the young men and women of Adelaide, especially those connected with the University of Adelaide. Her exceptional personality, her extraordinary powers of thinking and communicating, her thoughtfulness, her devotion to the causes of women and children, her passion for redressing wrongs, her wit and delight in nonsense all shine through these letters, and help us to understand the outstanding impact and influence she had on her contemporaries.
Release