Proof through the Night

Music and the Great War

Author: Glenn Watkins

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520927896

Category: Music

Page: 614

View: 8749

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Carols floating across no-man's-land on Christmas Eve 1914; solemn choruses, marches, and popular songs responding to the call of propaganda ministries and war charities; opera, keyboard suites, ragtime, and concertos for the left hand—all provided testimony to the unique power of music to chronicle the Great War and to memorialize its battles and fallen heroes in the first post-Armistice decade. In this striking book, Glenn Watkins investigates these variable roles of music primarily from the angle of the Entente nations' perceived threat of German hegemony in matters of intellectual and artistic accomplishment—a principal concern not only for Europe but also for the United States, whose late entrance into the fray prompted a renewed interest in defining America as an emergent world power as well as a fledgling musical culture. He shows that each nation gave "proof through the night"—ringing evidence during the dark hours of the war—not only of its nationalist resolve in the singing of national airs but also of its power to recall home and hearth on distant battlefields and to reflect upon loss long after the guns had been silenced. Watkins's eloquent narrative argues that twentieth-century Modernism was not launched full force with the advent of the Great War but rather was challenged by a new set of alternatives to the prewar avant-garde. His central focus on music as a cultural marker during the First World War of necessity exposes its relationship to the other arts, national institutions, and international politics. From wartime scores by Debussy and Stravinsky to telling retrospective works by Berg, Ravel, and Britten; from "La Marseillaise" to "The Star-Spangled Banner," from "It's a Long Way to Tipperary" to "Over There," music reflected society's profoundest doubts and aspirations. By turns it challenged or supported the legitimacy of war, chronicled misgivings in miniature and grandiose formats alike, and inevitably expressed its sorrow at the final price exacted by the Great War. Proof through the Night concludes with a consideration of the post-Armistice period when, on the classical music front, memory and distance forged a musical response that was frequently more powerful than in wartime.
Release

Night Music

Author: Tara Fox Hall

Publisher: Satin Romance

ISBN: 1612359043

Category: Fiction

Page: 37

View: 6851

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Grieving Krys Markman has come to lose herself in family memories at Letchworth State Park, and try to figure out her next step. Yet the unearthly beautiful music she hears each night stirs her soul to romance. Can its creator, the attractive vampire David Helm, heal her broken heart?
Release

Night Music

Author: BJ James

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1460311124

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 6311

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The seductive melody on the night air had caught Devlin O'Hara's attention, and the hauntingly beautiful woman who created the music captured his heart. Devlin didn't know if Kate Gallagher was sinner or saint—what he did know was that he wanted to claim her for himself…. Kate, struggling with her own loss, was wary of the handsome O'Hara, who had trespassed into her sanctuary. Now the explosive emotions he stirred inside her warred with her instinct to protect her heart. But nothing had prepared Kate for the searing passion that awaited in Devlin's powerful embrace….
Release

Night Music

Author: Jojo Moyes

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1848943245

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 6987

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The dark and romantic novel by Jojo Moyes, internationally bestselling author of Me Before You, After You and the new bestseller Still Me. 'Warm, engaging and acutely observed.' - Woman and Home Isabel Delancey has always taken her gifted life for granted. But when her husband dies suddenly, leaving her with a mountain of debt, she and her two children are forced to abandon their home and move to a crumbling pile in the country. With the house falling down around them, and the last of her savings fast disappearing, Isabel turns to her neighbours, not knowing that her mere presence there has stirred up long-standing obsessions. As she fights to make her house a home, passions and lives collide. Isabel will discover an instinct for survival she never knew she had - and that a heart can play a new song . . .
Release

Night Music

Poems

Author: L. E. Sissman

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0544105575

Category: Poetry

Page: 160

View: 1756

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Selected by Peter Davison with an introduction by Edward Hirsch. Sissman was a true phenomenon in American poetry. He published his first book, a collection of antic, autobiographical episodes in blank verse, in 1968. Eight years and three books later, he died of Hodgkin's disease at the age of forty-eight. Of Sissman's remarkable final poems John Updike wrote, "What other poet had ever given such wry and unblinking witness to his own dying? His poetry gave back to life more generously than he had received, and carried his beautiful wit into darkness undimmed." Now Sissman's longtime editor, Peter Davison, has selected from his lifework the essential poems--the essence of an American original. (A Mariner Original)
Release

Night Music

Author: Jenn Marie Thorne

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735228795

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 6134

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Music has always been Ruby's first love. But has it ever loved her back? Slip behind the scenes of the classical music world one hot, anything-can-happen, New York City summer. "Delightful...Hits all the right notes." --Mackenzi Lee, author of The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Ruby has always been Ruby Chertok: future classical pianist and daughter of renowned composer Martin Chertok. But after her horrendous audition for the prestigious music school where her father is on faculty, it's clear that music has publicly dumped her. Now Ruby is suddenly just . . . Ruby. And who is that again? All she knows is that she wants away from the world of classical music for good. Oscar is a wunderkind, a musical genius. Just ask any of the 1.8 million people who've watched him conduct on YouTube--or hey, just ask Oscar. But while he might be the type who'd name himself when asked about his favorite composer and somehow make you love him more for it, Oscar is not the type to jeopardize his chance to study under the great Martin Chertok--not for a crush. He's all too aware of how the ultra-privileged world of classical music might interpret a black guy like him falling for his benefactor's white daughter. But as the New York City summer heats up, so does the spark between Ruby and Oscar. Soon their connection crackles with the same alive, uncontainable energy as the city itself. Can two people still figuring themselves out figure out how to be together? Or will the world make the choice for them? "Seriously swoony...loved it." --Rachel Hawkins, author of Royals "Sweet and intense...[An] engrossing romance with a social conscience." --Kirkus "Dreamy." --Bustle "Utterly romantic." --Tanaz Bhathena, author of A Girl Like That "Full of heart and humor. It crackles with energy." --Kelly Loy Gilbert, author of Picture Us in the Light "Timely and romantic." --Publishers Weekly "Beautiful, heartfelt, aware, and raw." --Lauren Gibaldi, author of This Tiny Perfect World "Thoughtful, nuanced." --Booklist
Release

A Little Night Music

Author: A. E. Easterlin

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Inc

ISBN: 1509209085

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 1922

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Kate Sanders waged a war against breast cancer and won — but at what cost? Her fiancé deserted her, leaving her two best friends to pick up the pieces. After reconstruction surgery, the girls decided it was time for Kate to rejoin the ranks of the living. After all, all men couldn't be perfidious jerks, right? Little did they know their efforts would lead Kate not only to Cash, a legally blind vet and an exceptional man, but straight into the path of a psychotic killer. Would the devastating Cash save her from the clutches of her stalker? More importantly, could he convince her he was the man of her dreams, or would the recurrence of her disease prove terminal to their love?
Release

A Hard Day's Night - Music on Film Series

Author: Ray Morton

Publisher: Limelight Editions

ISBN: 0879104155

Category: Music

Page: 154

View: 2184

DOWNLOAD NOW »

(Limelight). A Hard Day's Night: Music on Film Series is the story of the making of the greatest rock-and-roll movie of all time. Beginning with introductions to the film's stars chronicling their rise from a raggedy teenage skiffle band to the biggest pop act in the world the book goes on to tell how the American film company United Artists wanted to make a quick, low-budget movie starring the Fab Four so its record division could put out a motion picture soundtrack album full of new Beatles songs, in order to allow the studio to cash in on the incredible wave of Beatlemania then sweeping the planet. Director Richard Lester, producer Walter Shenson, and screenwriter Alun Owen were hired to churn out just another cheap exploitation film, but instead used the opportunity to create a startlingly fresh and original movie that broke new ground both in subject matter (instead of simply following genre tradition and sticking the band in some corny made-up plot, they had the Beatles play themselves in a narrative based on their own incredible real-life experiences) and in form (Lester's inspired, surrealist approach to the film's musical numbers kicked off the entire music video revolution). Covered is the film's frantic six-week shoot, the lively recording sessions that resulted in seven great new Beatles songs, and how both the film and the album met with great critical and popular success.
Release

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

Author: John Connolly

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1473619734

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3079

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'On the Anatomization of an Unknown Man (1637) by Frans Mier' won the CWA Dagger for best short story. 'The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository' won the 2014 Anthony award for best short story. Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection - with two award-winning stories - of the supernatural from John Connolly. A decade after NOCTURNES first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling author of thirteen acclaimed thrillers featuring private investigator Charlie Parker, gives us a second volume of tales of the supernatural. From stories of the monstrous for dark winter nights to fables of fantastic libraries and haunted books, from a tender narrative of love after death to a frank, personal and revealing account of the author's affection for myths of ghosts and demons, this is a collection that will surprise, delight - and terrify. NIGHT MUSIC also contains two novellas: the multi-award-winning THE CAXTON PRIVATE LENDING LIBRARY & BOOK DEPOSITORY, and THE FRACTURED ATLAS, featuring The Wanderer in Unknown Realms, previously published as an ebook, developed here into a five-part novella. NIGHT MUSIC: NOCTURNES 2 is a masterly collection to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive. 'An addictive and meticulously rendered collection of eerie, amusing and achingly beautiful short stories.' Sunday Business Post
Release