Natural Born Readers

Author: VICTORIA. CONNELLY

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781910522134

Category:

Page: 216

View: 6727

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ben Stratton and Bryony Nightingale. Everybody thought they'd be together forever. But, when Ben leaves the small market town of Castle Clare to travel the world, Bryony is heartbroken, seeing his departure as the ultimate betrayal. Throwing herself into her work running the much-loved children's bookshop, Bryony determines to forget Ben and to start dating again. But Ben doesn't make it easy for her, sending her postcards filled with his love and posting her foreign editions of all the great romantic novels from the countries he's travelling through. Then, after six long years, the unexpected happens and Ben returns, determined to win Bryony back. But will she forgive him and does he have the courage to tell her the truth about why he left her? Natural Born Readers is the third book in the warm-hearted Book Lovers series by the bestselling author of The Rose Girls and A Weekend with Mr Darcy. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber and Sherryl Woods. Praise for Victoria Connelly: 'Great fun. A real page-turner.' Andrew Davies, screenwriter of Pride and Prejudice 'Sunshine on a rainy day. A charmingly written slice of warm-hearted escapism.' Lisa Jewell 'A lovely feel-good story.' Katie Fforde 'Fun, flirty fantasy from the gifted pen of Victoria Connelly. A magical story with a gorgeous setting and more than enough handsome men to go around!' Carole Matthews
Release

The Book Lover's Guide to Florida

Author: Kevin M. McCarthy

Publisher: Pineapple Press Inc

ISBN: 9781561640126

Category: Travel

Page: 512

View: 8887

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Here is the book lover's literary tour of Florida, an exhaustive survey of writers, books, and literary sites in every part of the state. The state is divided into ten areas and each one is described from a literary point of view. You will learn what authors lived in or wrote about a place, which books describe the place, what important movies were made there, even the literary trivia which the true Florida book lover will want to know. You can use the book as a travel guide to a new way to see the state, as an armchair guide to a better understanding of our literary heritage, or as a guide to what to read next time you head to a bookstore or library."--Publisher.
Release

A Book-Lover's Holidays in the Open

Author: Theodore Roosevelt

Publisher: Cosimo, Inc.

ISBN: 1596058110

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 384

View: 8160

DOWNLOAD NOW »

As much a symbol of the nation 's adventurous past as he was the very picture of booming 20th-century progress, Theodore Roosevelt politician and soldier, naturalist and historian was still a young man when he left the Oval Office, and he spent the decade after his presidency exploring the world... and sharing his experiences in his inimitable prose. In this 1916 book, he leads us: on a cougar hunt on the rim of the Grand Canyon trekking across the Navajo Desert to a Hopi snake dance across the Andes and Northern Patagonia through bird reserves at the mouth of the Mississippi and much more Roosevelt 's rip-roaring, real-life exploits are just as entertaining today as they were a century ago, and serve as a stirring reminder of the breathtaking beauty and lurking danger of the natural world. American icon THEODORE ROOSEVELT (1858 1919) was 26th President of the United States, serving from 1901 to 1909, and the first American to win a Nobel Prize, in 1906, when he was awarded the Peace Prize for mediating the Russo-Japanese War. He is the author of 35 books.
Release

A Family of Readers

The Book Lover's Guide to Children's and Young Adult Literature

Author: Martha V. Parravano,Roger Sutton

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN: 0763662178

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 368

View: 7679

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Two of the most trusted reviewers in the field join with top authors, illustrators, and critics in a definitive guide to choosing books for children—and nurturing their love of reading. A FAMILY OF READERS is the definitive resource for parents interested in enriching the reading lives of their children. It’s divided into four sections: 1. Reading to Them: Choosing and sharing board books and picture books with babies and very young children. 2. Reading with Them: Launching the new reader with easy readers and chapter books. 3. Reading on Their Own: Exploring what children read—and how they read—by genre and gender. 4. Leaving Them Alone: Respecting the reading privacy of the young adult. Roger Sutton knows how and why children read. He must, as the editor in chief of THE HORN BOOK, which since 1924 has been America’s best source for reviews of books for young readers. But for many parents, selecting books for their children can make them feel lost. Now, in this essential resource, Roger Sutton and Martha V. Parravano, executive editor at the magazine, offer thoughtful essays that consider how books are read to (and then by) young people. They invite such leading authors and artists as Maurice Sendak, Katherine Paterson, Margaret Mahy, and Jon Scieszka, as well as a selection of top critics, to add their voices about the genres they know best. The result is an indispensable readers’ companion to everything from wordless board books to the most complex and daring young adult novels.
Release

The L.M. Montgomery Reader

Volume Three: A Legacy in Review

Author: Benjamin Lefebvre

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 1442660872

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 464

View: 4488

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The final volume of The L.M. Montgomery Reader, A Legacy in Review examines a long overlooked portion of Montgomery’s critical reception: reviews of her books. Although Montgomery downplayed the impact that reviews had on her writing career, claiming to be amused and tolerant of reviewers’ contradictory opinions about her work, she nevertheless cared enough to keep a large percentage of them in scrapbooks as an archive of her career. Edited by leading Montgomery scholar Benjamin Lefebvre, this volume presents more than four hundred reviews from eight countries that raise questions about and offer reflections on gender, genre, setting, character, audience, and nationalism, much of which anticipated the scholarship that has thrived in the last four decades. Lefebvre’s extended introduction and chapter headnotes place the reviews in the context of Montgomery’s literary career and trace the evolution of attitudes to her work, and his epilogue examines the reception of Montgomery’s books that were published posthumously. A comprehensive account of the reception of Montgomery’s books, published during and after her lifetime, A Legacy in Review is the illuminating final volume of this important new resource for L.M. Montgomery scholars and fans around the world.
Release

Natural Born Angel

Author: Scott Speer

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN: 1407135244

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 5188

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In a world where guardian angels are celebrities who save people for money, Maddy's life was transformed when she became the girlfriend of the hottest Angel around. But she never imagined that she'd become even more famous than Jackson. Unfortunately for Maddy, she's an irresistible PR opportunity - and soon her popularity soars higher than any Angel. Her relationship is cracking under the pressure. And as tension starts to mount between Angels and humans, she finds herself an ambassador for humankind. With Jackson at the helm of the Immortals, the two ex-lovers must become sworn enemies. It's Angels in one corner, humans on the other - until an evil force, greater than anything on Earth, forces them to stand united if they want to survive.
Release