Metamorphoses

Author: Ovid

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0141906251

Category: Poetry

Page: 768

View: 1606

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ovid's deliciously witty and exuberant epic starts with the creation of the world and brings together a series of ingeniously linked Greek and Roman myths and legends in which men and women are transformed, often by love - into flowers, trees, stones and stars. This new verse translation, in simple and swift English hexameters, allows Ovid's narrative to flow - pulling the reader along with it.
Release

Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology

Author: Luke Roman,Monica Roman

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 1438126395

Category: Mythology, Classical

Page: 561

View: 7415

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Greek and Roman mythology has fascinated people for more than two millennia, and its influence on cultures throughout Europe, America, North Africa, and the Middle East attests to the universal appeal of the stories. This title examines the best-known figures of Greek and Roman mythology together with the great works of classic literature.
Release

Like Life

Sculpture, Color, and the Body

Author: Luke Syson,Sheena Wagstaff,Emerson Bowyer,Brinda Kumar

Publisher: Metropolitan Museum of Art

ISBN: 1588396444

Category: Art

Page: 312

View: 3223

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Since before the myth of Pygmalion bringing a statue to life through desire, artists have used sculpture to explore the physical materiality of the body. This groundbreaking volume examines key sculptural works from thirteenth-century Europe to the global present, revealing new insights into the strategies artists deploy to blur the distinction between art and life. Three-dimensional renderings of the human figure are presented here in numerous manifestations, created by artists ranging from Donatello and Edgar Degas to Kiki Smith and Jeff Koons. Featuring works created in media both traditional and unexpected—such as glass, leather, and blood—Like Life presents sculpture by turns conventional and shocking, including effigies, dolls, mannequins, automata, waxworks, and anatomical models. Texts by curators and cultural historians as well as contemporary artists complete this provocative exploration of realistic representations of the human body. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 14.0px Verdana}
Release

Ovid's Myth of Pygmalion on Screen

In Pursuit of the Perfect Woman

Author: Paula James

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1441146776

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 630

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Why has the myth of Pygmalion and his ivory statue proved so inspirational for writers, artists, philosophers, scientists, and directors and creators of films and television series? The 'authorised' version of the story appears in the epic poem of transformations, Metamorphoses, by the first-century CE Latin poet Ovid; in which the bard Orpheus narrates the legend of the sculptor king of Cyprus whose beautiful carved woman was brought to life by the goddess Venus. Focusing on screen storylines with a Pygmalion subtext, from silent cinema to Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Lars and the Real Girl, this book looks at why and how the made-over or manufactured woman has survived through the centuries and what we can learn about this problematic model of 'perfection' from the perspective of the past and the present. Given the myriad representations of Ovid's myth, can we really make a modern text a tool of interpretation for an ancient poem? This book answers with a resounding 'yes' and explains why it is so important to give antiquity back its future.
Release

Literature and Encyclopedism in Enlightenment Britain

The Pursuit of Complete Knowledge

Author: Seth Rudy

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137411546

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 261

View: 6059

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Literature and Encyclopedism in Enlightenment Britain tells the story of long-term aspirations to comprehend, record, and disseminate complete knowledge of the world. It draws on a wide range of literary and non-literary works from the early modern era and British Enlightenment.
Release

Spanish Grammar in Context

Author: Juan Kattán-Ibarra,Angela Howkins

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0071602690

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 270

View: 1895

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Improve your Spanish language skills with authentic texts . The best way to bring the grammar of a language to life is by experiencing it in context, as it is actually used by native speakers and writers. Designed for the intermediate and advanced student, Spanish Grammar in Context puts Spanish grammar into context for you with an array of engaging texts, including newspaper articles, song lyrics, literary texts, and even transcriptions from TV talk shows. . Each chapter focuses on a specific element of grammar. A short text is followed by an explanation of the relevant grammar and several exercises. Exercises center on specific topics and stress everyday words and expressions. You get to build your vocabulary while honing grammar skills. .
Release

Selections from the Carmina Burana

a verse translation

Author: David Sidney Parlett,Carl Orff

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

ISBN: 9780140444407

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 266

View: 2297

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Gathers thirteenth-century bawdy songs, written in Latin, about women, wine, love, and nature, and provides background information on each piece
Release

The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

Author: Geoffrey Chaucer

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393084183

Category: Poetry

Page: 800

View: 6272

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.
Release

Master and Servant

Love and Labour in the English Industrial Age

Author: Carolyn Steedman

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1139464973

Category: History

Page: N.A

View: 3056

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Leading historian Carolyn Steedman offers a fascinating and compelling account of love, life and domestic service in eighteenth-century England. This book, situated in the regional and chronological epicentre of E. P. Thompson's The Making of the English Working Class and Emily Bronte's Wuthering Heights, focuses on the relationship between a Church of England clergyman (the Master of the title) and his pregnant maidservant in the late eighteenth century. This case-study of people behaving in ways quite contrary to the standard historical account sheds new light on the much wider historical questions of Anglicanism as social thought, the economic history of the industrial revolution, domestic service, the poor law, literacy, education, and the very making of the English working class. It offers a unique meditation on the relationship between history and literature and will be of interest to scholars and students of industrial England, social and cultural history and English literature.
Release

The Metamorphoses of Ovid

Author: Ovid

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN: 9780801847981

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 342

View: 6200

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The mark of success in a poet's career, writes David Slavitt, was an epic that might stand on the shelf alongside Virgil's. But how was a poet like Ovid, with a more intimate, livelier, funnier and more self-mocking sensibility, to attempt such a thing? The epic form was not, I think, immediately congenital, and my guess is that Ovid recognized this himself. Accordingly, he transformed the epic, playing against its grain a lot of the time, and escaping its severe organizational and thematic demands by transforming it into something altogether different. The first metamorphosis, then, is of the idea of the epic itself.
Release