Metamorphoses

Author: Ovid

Publisher: Penguin Classics

ISBN: 9780141394619

Category: Fables, Latin

Page: 768

View: 6676

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Part of Penguin's beautiful hardback Clothbound Classics series, designed by the award-winning Coralie Bickford-Smith, these delectable and collectible editions are bound in high-quality colourful and tactile cloth. Ovid's sensuous and witty poetry brings together a dazzling array of mythological tales, ingeniously linked by the idea of transformation - often as a result of love or lust - where men and women find themselves magically changed into new and sometimes extraordinary beings. Beginning with the creation of the world and ending with the deification of Augustus, Ovid interweaves many of the best-known myths and legends of Ancient Greece and Rome, including Daedalus and Icarus, Pyramus and Thisbe, Pygmalion, Perseus and Andromeda, and the fall of Troy. Erudite but light-hearted, dramatic yet playful, the Metamorphoses has influenced writers and artists throughout the centuries from Shakespeare and Titian to Picasso and Ted Hughes.
Release

Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman Mythology

Author: Luke Roman,Monica Roman

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 1438126395

Category: Mythology, Classical

Page: 561

View: 5841

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Greek and Roman mythology has fascinated people for more than two millennia, and its influence on cultures throughout Europe, America, North Africa, and the Middle East attests to the universal appeal of the stories. This title examines the best-known figures of Greek and Roman mythology together with the great works of classic literature.
Release

Conversations with Scripture: 2 Isaiah

Author: Stephen L. Cook

Publisher: Church Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 9780819226129

Category: Religion

Page: 176

View: 4626

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The God of Second Isaiah, the “Holy One of Israel,” is increasingly foreign to modern Anglicans, who are often uncomfortable with the uncanny, fiery side of God. Unfortunately, this may leave Anglicans frustrated both with God’s “non-rational” ways and with morality-centered Christianity. The new research behind this book reveals Second Isaiah as priestly temple literature, expert at the Holy and its coming dawn on earth. Second Isaiah highlights priestly themes and quotes the temple texts to help readers approach that which is utterly mysterious. To study this material is to rediscover the overwhelming, absolute worth of God.
Release

The Selected Canterbury Tales: A New Verse Translation

Author: Geoffrey Chaucer

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393084183

Category: Poetry

Page: 800

View: 6323

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.
Release

Selections from the Carmina Burana

a verse translation

Author: David Sidney Parlett,Carl Orff

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

ISBN: 9780140444407

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 266

View: 9129

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Gathers thirteenth-century bawdy songs, written in Latin, about women, wine, love, and nature, and provides background information on each piece
Release

Ovid: Oxford Bibliographies Online Research Guide

Author: Oxford University Press

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN: 9780199803040

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 42

View: 6480

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This ebook is a selective guide designed to help scholars and students of the ancient world find reliable sources of information by directing them to the best available scholarly materials in whatever form or format they appear from books, chapters, and journal articles to online archives, electronic data sets, and blogs. Written by a leading international authority on the subject, the ebook provides bibliographic information supported by direct recommendations about which sources to consult and editorial commentary to make it clear how the cited sources are interrelated. A reader will discover, for instance, the most reliable introductions and overviews to the topic, and the most important publications on various areas of scholarly interest within this topic. In classics, as in other disciplines, researchers at all levels are drowning in potentially useful scholarly information, and this guide has been created as a tool for cutting through that material to find the exact source you need. This ebook is just one of many articles from Oxford Bibliographies Online: Classics, a continuously updated and growing online resource designed to provide authoritative guidance through the scholarship and other materials relevant to the study of classics. Oxford Bibliographies Online covers most subject disciplines within the social science and humanities, for more information visit www.aboutobo.com.
Release

The Complete Poems and Translations

Author: Christopher Marlowe

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780143104957

Category: Poetry

Page: 287

View: 2265

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This unique anthology offers a more comprehensive look at the poems of Christopher Marlowe, England's first great poet and playwright.
Release