Meddling in Murder

Meddling in Murder

“Don't meddle in what's going on, Clary.” I was surprised. Lloyd had never tried to tell me what to do or what not to do. He knew better. And I didn't like that word 'meddle.' “You mean the murder or Alice disappearing?” I asked.

Author: Carol Howell

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595282456

Category: Fiction

Page: 212

View: 531

The small community of New Liberty in rural Maine is horrified when a young girl is brutally raped and murdered. Dodd's Convenience Store serves as the social center of the town, and Clary Dodd is one of its most prominent citizens. Clary is an inveterate puzzle solver. She has helped the police with one or two minor cases in the past and feels herself uniquely qualified to catch the murderer. Against the advice of her husband and with the help of her friend Laura Dearborn, the indomitable Clary digs into the backgrounds of people she's known for years and turns up disturbing information about many of them. A second violent death clouds the picture and escalates tension in the town. Ignoring threats to their safety, Clary and Laura persist in their investigations only to find themselves in mortal danger as they close in on the murderer.
Categories: Fiction

Meddling in Murder

Meddling in Murder

The small community of New Liberty in rural Maine is horrified when a young girl is brutally raped and murdered.

Author: Carol Z. Howell

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781469739557

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 263

The small community of New Liberty in rural Maine is horrified when a young girl is brutally raped and murdered. Dodd's Convenience Store serves as the social center of the town, and Clary Dodd is one of its most prominent citizens. Clary is an inveterate puzzle solver. She has helped the police with one or two minor cases in the past and feels herself uniquely qualified to catch the murderer. Against the advice of her husband and with the help of her friend Laura Dearborn, the indomitable Clary digs into the backgrounds of people she's known for years and turns up disturbing information about many of them. A second violent death clouds the picture and escalates tension in the town. Ignoring threats to their safety, Clary and Laura persist in their investigations only to find themselves in mortal danger as they close in on the murderer.
Categories: Fiction

My Morning Meditations

My Morning Meditations

IS MEDDLING LIKE MURDER ? * Late Sunday afternoon the telephone rang . The voice at the other end was both anxious and excited . " Doctor , " he exclaimed , “ I read something in the Sunday school leaflet this morning at church that I ...

Author: Charles Haddon Nabers

Publisher:

ISBN: UVA:X001339348

Category: Christian life

Page: 79

View: 818

Categories: Christian life

Meddling and Murder An Aunty Lee Mystery

Meddling and Murder  An Aunty Lee Mystery

A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore's best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY.

Author: Ovidia Yu

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780008222413

Category: Fiction

Page: 248

View: 839

A delightfully warm and witty mystery from one of Singapore's best-known and most acclaimed writers, perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s NO. 1 LADIES’ DETECTIVE AGENCY.
Categories: Fiction

Murders and Metaphors

Murders and Metaphors

I knew he wouldn't be happy if he thought that I was meddling in his murder investigation, and he was clearly already in a foul mood. Before I could make up my mind, Rainwater called my name. “Violet.” His face cleared as he reached the ...

Author: Amanda Flower

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 9781683319009

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 774

USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower is back with the third in her more-charming-than-ever Magical Bookshop mystery. Fans of Sofie Kelly and Heather Blake, prepare your bookshelves! Niagara region booksellers Violet Waverly and Grandma Daisy sleuth the slaying of a sommelier whose book signing turned into her sayonara. January means ice wine season in the Niagara Falls region, but the festivities leave Charming Books owner Violet Waverly cold, still reeling from a past heartbreak. A past heartbreak who will be present at the annual midnight grape-harvest festival, and no magic in the world or incantation powerful enough could get Violet to attend. But Grandma Daisy, an omniscient force all on her own, informs Violet that she’s already arranged for the mystical Charming Books to host celebrity sommelier Belinda Perkins’s book signing at the party. Little do either Waverly women know, the ice wine festival will turn colder still when Violet finds Belinda in the middle of the frozen vineyard—with a grape harvest knife protruding from her chest. Belinda grew up in Cascade Springs, but she left town years ago after a huge falling-out with her three sisters. One of those sisters, Violet’s high school friend Lacey Dupont, attends the book signing in the hope of making amends with her sister, but Belinda and Lacey end up disrupting the signing with a very public shouting match and Lacey quickly becomes the prime suspect in the sommelier’s murder. Violet is sure Lacey is innocent, and to keep her friend out of prison, Violet asks for guidance from her magical bookshop. The shop’s ethereal essence points her to Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, but what have the four March sisters to do with the four Perkins sisters? If she can’t figure it out, Violet, herself, may turn as cold as ice. Violet, Grandma Daisy, Emerson the tuxedo cat, and resident crow Faulkner are back on the case in Murders and Metaphors, USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower’s enchanting third Magical Bookshop mystery.
Categories: Fiction

Flowery Branch Murders a Chick Fowler Mystery

Flowery Branch Murders  a Chick Fowler Mystery

“Then you could catch the crooks and do the community a favor and get the Kiwanis award next summer? No, Mr. Fowler, that wouldn't be too swift. There's no way I could condone citizens meddling in a murder investigation.

Author: Larry McDougald

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781387772896

Category: Fiction

Page: 310

View: 793

Murder at the International Poultry Exposition in Atlanta? Professor Nick (Chick) Fowler, is pressured by his friend Gordie to help develop a new product for animal health, a herbal product from China called Qingdao Gold. But Gordie is shot to death on the first day of the convention. What was the man hiding that made him a target for murder? As a severe storm is dumping a record-breaking snowfall on Atlanta, Chick defies orders from the police to stay out of their investigation. Chick follows the trail of Qingdao Gold from the tiny community of Flowery Branch, GA, to Memphis, and back, as he tracks a terrorist threat.
Categories: Fiction

Mumbo Gumbo Murder

Mumbo Gumbo Murder

You do realize you're meddling in one of Babcock's cases again.” “I wouldn't call it meddling.” Carmela paused and squinted, as if carefully weighing her answer. “Well, maybe superficially I am. But it's really all about Mimi.

Author: Laura Childs

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780451489593

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 581

A shocking murder strikes a sour note during Jazz Fest in the latest New Orleans Scrapbooking Mystery from New York Times bestselling author Laura Childs. It's Jazz Fest in New Orleans, and the giant puppets from the Beastmaster Puppet Theatre are parading through the French Quarter. Some are very spooky and veiled, others are tall and gangly, like strange aliens. As the parade proceeds, Carmela Bertrand and her best friend, Ava, follow behind, down Royal Street and past the food booths. Suddenly, they hear a terrible crash from Devon Dowling's antiques shop. They rush inside to find Devon collapsed with blood streaming down the side of his face. Has he been shot? Stabbed? 911 is hastily called, and the police and EMTs show up. After the police examine Devon's body, they tell Carmela and Ava that their friend was murdered with an icepick. They're shocked beyond belief—and now Mimi, Devon's little pug, is left homeless. Carmela and Ava are determined to catch the murderer, but the list of suspects is long. How long do they have before they find themselves on the killer's list?
Categories: Fiction

Murder After a Fashion

Murder After a Fashion

Some people might say I was meddling.” Like the woman at the front desk. Like Jack. “It's not meddling if you're helping solve a crime, am I right?” I was happy to finally talk to someone who understood me and my motives.

Author: Grace Carroll

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101623831

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 327

These days, not even a new wardrobe can keep fashionista Rita Jewel from feeling blue. Perhaps the cure is a cooking class with a celebrity chef! But her appetite is ruined when murder becomes the main course… As a salesgirl at Dolce’s, a chic boutique outfitting San Francisco’s wealthiest women, Rita has the world’s greatest job. So why does she feel like last season’s Christian Louboutin stilettos—worn and out of style? Maybe it’s because her love life needs a makeover ASAP. From carrots to caviar, Guido Torcelli is the celebrity chef du jour. Perhaps signing up for his cooking class will serve as a much-needed distraction for Rita. But when Guido’s shot to death, Rita knows she’ll soon top the list of suspects. Guido was killed at his culinary school the same night she scrawled her phone number on a menu and handed it to him. Now she’s got to find the murderer before she’s forced to take all her meals in the prison cafeteria…
Categories: Fiction

Murder Is No Accident The Hidden Springs Mysteries Book 3

Murder Is No Accident  The Hidden Springs Mysteries Book  3

Even if people did decide she was a meddling old woman. Some things needed meddling to make them come out right. And a lot of prayer. She was capable of both. She had her jacket on and was heading across the yards when Betty Jean Atkins ...

Author: A. H. Gabhart

Publisher: Revell

ISBN: 9781493405985

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 655

Young Maggie Greene may be trespassing in the old, empty Victorian mansion on a quiet street in Hidden Springs, but all she wants is some private time in the magnificent tower room to write her stories. Certain she'll be in trouble if caught, she hides when a realtor shows up. But someone else is in the house too, someone even more worried about getting caught. When Maggie finds the realtor's body at the bottom of a flight of stairs and the other person gone, Deputy Sheriff Michael Keane is called in. He assumes the realtor's death is a tragic accident--until a second person is found dead in the house. When Maggie is threatened, Michael must catch the murderer before anyone else dies. Cozy mystery fans will love this third installment in The Hidden Springs Mysteries series from an author who knows how to make small-town America sweet, sentimental--and a little sinister.
Categories: Fiction

Murder Houses of London

Murder Houses of London

had staked out the murder house, waiting for Jill Dando to arrive. ... BBC directors had received death threats from angry Serbs, and Jill herself had been sent a letter, presumably by a Serb, criticising her meddling in the conflict.

Author: Jan Bondeson

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN: 9781445614915

Category: True Crime

Page: 352

View: 690

Which of London's most gruesome murders happened in your street? And were they committed by Jack the Ripper, the Kray twins, the Blackout Ripper or ‘Acid Bath’ Haigh?
Categories: True Crime