Make Me

(Jack Reacher 20)

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473508789

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 1529

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Child's best for some time...with detective-story and romcom elements (even sly humour) on top of the psychological duels and set-piece violence." (Sunday Times) Jack Reacher has no place to go, and all the time in the world to get there. A remote railroad stop on the prairie with the curious name of Mother's Rest seems perfect for an aimless one-day stopover. He expects to find a lonely pioneer tombstone in a sea of nearly-ripe wheat. Instead there is a woman waiting for a missing colleague, a cryptic note about two hundred deaths, and a small town full of silent, watchful people. Reacher’s one-day stopover turns into an open-ended quest leading to the most hidden reaches of the internet, and right into the nightmare heart of darkness. Although the Jack Reacher novels can be read in any order, Make Me is 20th in the series.
Release

The Jack Reacher Field Manual

An Unofficial Companion to Lee Child s Reacher Novels

Author: George Beahm

Publisher: BenBella Books, Inc.

ISBN: 1941631037

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 5950

DOWNLOAD NOW »

You don’t know Jack—Jack Reacher, that is . . . In The Jack Reacher Field Manual: An Unofficial Companion to Lee Child’s Reacher Novels, from ex-Army major and New York Times bestselling author George Beahm, get up-close and personal with Reacher like never before. The only book of its kind, the Field Manual draws on 17 years of interviews, novels, stories, and more to demystify author Lee Child’s larger-than-life, name-taking, quick-thinking one-man avenger. Child calls the Reacher novels “almost entirely autobiographical,” and The Jack Reacher Field Manual seamlessly integrates the literary creator and his creation to provide the most complete portrait of Jack Reacher available. Dive into Jack Reacher’s life with: - A detailed dossier on Reacher and his life at West Point and in the Army’s Military Police Corps - Reacher’s rules of engagement, including how he handles a street brawl - A full-color drifter’s roadmap of the US, detailing the places Reacher has visited in the novels - Reacher’s philosophy for surviving under the radar - A biography on Child and an A-to-Z list of the key people, places, and things in his life - And more, including a glossary of US Army acronyms that appear in the series and a comprehensive reading list of Reacher novels, novellas, and stories The Jack Reacher Field Manual belongs in the fatigue jacket of any fan craving more information about this internationally popular literary antihero.
Release

Reacher Said Nothing: Lee Child and the Making of Make Me

Author: Andy Martin

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473540429

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 9585

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'I loved writing Make Me, and Andy Martin's Reacher Said Nothing gives you the how, why, when and where - warts and all.' - Lee Child WARNING: CONTAINS SPOILERS On September 1, 1994, Lee Child went out to buy the paper to start writing his first novel, in pencil. The result was Killing Floor, which introduced his hero Jack Reacher. Twenty years later, on September 1, 2014, he began writing Make Me, the twentieth novel in his number-one- bestselling Reacher series. Same day, same writer, same hero. The difference, this time, was that he had someone looking over his shoulder. Andy Martin, uber Reacher fan, Cambridge academic, expert on existentialism, and dedicated surfer, sat behind Lee Child in his office and watched him as he wrote. While Lee was writing his Reacher book, Andy was writing about the making of Make Me. Reacher Said Nothing is a book about a guy writing a book. An instant meta-book. It crosses genres, by bringing a high-level critical approach to a popular text, and gives a fascinating insight into the art of writing a thriller, showing the process in real time. It may well be the first of its kind. [Spoiler alert: if you haven't read Make Me yet, this book contains spoilers]
Release

The Midnight Line

(Jack Reacher 22)

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473542294

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 6290

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER/A RICHARD & JUDY BOOKCLUB 2018 PICK Jack Reacher is having a bad day. It would be a dumb idea to make it worse. Reacher sees a West Point class ring in a pawn shop window. It’s tiny. It's a woman cadet’s graduation present to herself. Why would she give it up? Reacher was a West Pointer too, and he knows what she went through to get it. All he wants is to find the woman. He’ll have to go through bikers, cops, crooks, and low-life muscle. If she’s ok, he’ll walk away. If she’s not ... he’ll stop at nothing. Best advice: stay out of his way. Although the Jack Reacher novels can be read in any order, The Midnight Line follows on directly from the end of Make Me.
Release

Personal (with bonus short story Not a Drill)

A Jack Reacher Novel

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Delacorte Press

ISBN: 0804178763

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 4556

DOWNLOAD NOW »

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Jack Reacher returns in another fast-moving, action-packed, suspenseful book from Lee Child. You can leave the army, but the army doesn’t leave you. Not always. Not completely, notes Jack Reacher—and sure enough, the retired military cop is soon pulled back into service. This time, for the State Department and the CIA. Someone has taken a shot at the president of France in the City of Light. The bullet was American. The distance between the gunman and the target was exceptional. How many snipers can shoot from three-quarters of a mile with total confidence? Very few, but John Kott—an American marksman gone bad—is one of them. And after fifteen years in prison, he’s out, unaccounted for, and likely drawing a bead on a G8 summit packed with enough world leaders to tempt any assassin. If anyone can stop Kott, it’s the man who beat him before: Reacher. And though he’d rather work alone, Reacher is teamed with Casey Nice, a rookie analyst who keeps her cool with Zoloft. But they’re facing a rough road, full of ruthless mobsters, Serbian thugs, close calls, double-crosses—and no backup if they’re caught. All the while Reacher can’t stop thinking about the woman he once failed to save. But he won’t let that that happen again. Not this time. Not Nice. Reacher never gets too close. But now a killer is making it personal. BONUS: This edition includes the short story "Not a Drill" and an excerpt from Lee Child's Make Me. Praise for Personal “The best one yet.”—Stephen King “Reacher is the stuff of myth, a great male fantasy. . . . One of this century’s most original, tantalizing pop-fiction heroes . . . Child does a masterly job of bringing his adventure to life with endless surprises and fierce suspense.”—The Washington Post “Yet another satisfying page-turner.”—Entertainment Weekly “Reacher is always up for a good fight, most entertainingly when he goes mano a mano with a seven-foot, 300-pound monster of a mobster named Little Joey. But it’s Reacher the Teacher who wows here.”—Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times “Jack Reacher is today’s James Bond, a thriller hero we can’t get enough of. I read every one as soon as it appears.”—Ken Follett “Reacher’s just one of fiction’s great mysterious strangers.”—Maxim “If you like fast-moving thrillers, you’ll want to take a look at this one.”—John Sandford “Fans won’t be disappointed by this suspense-filled, riveting thriller.”—Library Journal (starred review) “Child is the alpha dog of thriller writers, each new book zooming to the top of best-seller lists with the velocity of a Reacher head butt.”—Booklist “Every Reacher novel delivers a jolt to the nervous system.”—Kirkus Reviews
Release

What Do I Read Next? 2002

Author: Gale Group,Neil Barron

Publisher: Gale Cengage

ISBN: 9780787652951

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 712

View: 832

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Contains descriptions of 1,201 books in nine fiction genres published in late 2001 and 2002, each including the author or editor's name, publication information, story type, major characters, subject, plot summary, and lists of reviews and other books by the same writer; arranged alphabetically by author in each genre section.
Release

Fatal Edge: A Jess Kimball Thriller

Author: Diane Capri

Publisher: AugustBooks

ISBN: 1940768756

Category: Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 6442

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Exciting short read! Investigative Reporter Jess Kimball’s impossible mission to protect crime victims continues in this new short from New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Diane Capri. In Fatal Edge, Jess Kimball’s assistant, Mandy Donovan fills in for Jess when a spoiled rich man’s girlfriend goes missing and he says he’s not to blame. Along with her new P.I. boyfriend, Mandy heads up to the ski resort in Wyoming where the woman was last seen and lands in the path of a killer. Can Jess get there before Mandy becomes the next victim? For fans of Lee Child, Jack Reacher, John Grisham, and James Patterson’s Women's Murder Club “Full of thrills and tension – but smart and human too.” — Lee Child, #1 World Wide Bestselling Author of Jack Reacher Thrillers “Expertise shines on every page.” -- Margaret Maron, Edgar, Anthony, Agatha and Macavity Award Winning MWA Past President "Relentlessly determined to bring justice to an unjust world, Jess Kimball is like a female Jack Reacher, only nicer!" -- Martha Powers, award winning author of Conspiracy of Silence and Death Angel US and UK Author Diane Capri and Investigative Reporter Jess Kimball: New York Times Bestseller USA Today Bestseller #1 Thriller #1 Mystery #1 Hard-boiled Mystery #1 Police Procedural #1 Vigilante Justice #1 Conspiracy Thriller #1 Women Sleuth's Mystery #1 Legal Thriller #1 Anthology and more! Readers Love Jess Kimball and Clamor for More! “Smart, fast-paced, personal and, dare I say, thrilling. It's the kind of "this could happen to me" thrill that really chills me to the bone if I think about it too much. I could not put this book down until I found out if everything was going to turn out okay. Does it? Well you'll have to read it and see!” “Highly recommend-- kept me on the edge of my seat and I had a hard time putting it down-- Great characters and storyline-- can only hope Diane Capri will make a series out of Jess and Helen-- I do want more!” “This thought-provoking novel is populated with strong women and likeable men. Ms. Capri fully develops these characters while maintaining a tension-filled pace that will keep you turning pages well into the wee hours of the morning.”
Release