Maggie Smith

A Biography

Author: Michael Coveney

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1474600247

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 4020

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'Coveney is the only writer who could get under Smith's skin, capturing her steeliness and vulnerability' INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY From her days as a star of West End comedy and revue, Dame Maggie's path has led to international renown and numerous accolades including two Academy Awards. Recently she has been as prominent on our screens as ever, with high-profile roles as the formidable Dowager Countess of Grantham in DOWNTON ABBEY, as Professor Minerva McGonagall in the HARRY POTTER movie franchise and as the eccentric Miss Shepherd in the film version of THE LADY IN THE VAN by Alan Bennett. Paradoxically she remains an enigmatic figure, rarely appearing in public and carefully guarding her considerable talent. Drawing on personal archives, interviews and encounters with the actress, as well as conversations with immediate family and dear friends, Michael Coveney's biography is a captivating portrait of the real Maggie Smith.
Release

Maggie Smith

A View From The Stalls

Author: Caroline Fevrier

Publisher: Book Guild Publishing

ISBN: 1912575329

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 2338

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Dame Maggie Smith stands as a remarkable example of the concomitance – in a performer’s career – of typecasting and characterisation, that is the ability to impersonate ‘against type’ infinitely various screen or stage characters. This book of appreciation essentially aims at correcting the preconceived image that the general public has of Dame Maggie Smith. Focusing on the last twenty-five years, it examines, through the many parts she has played since the early 1990s, her ability to go beyond typecasting and give, thanks to her chameleon skills, nuanced and convincing portrays of infinitely diverse characters. From The Importance of Being Earnest to Gosford Park and Becoming Jane, to Downton Abbey and Sister Act, to The Last September and the Harry Potter saga, Dame Maggie Smith has had a wide spanning career in TV and Film. Not to mention her theatrical work on the stage. Author Caroline Fevrier lives in Paris, France and has a passion for theatre and performing. Caroline holds a PhD in Literature and Humanities and an MA in Literature and Drama. She was also trained as a professional performer and has been involved in several stage productions and short movies. Caroline regularly gives lectures on theatre and performance to academic audiences and had published several books on literature and humanities, and now focuses closely on the performing arts.
Release

Our Forgotten Years

A Gypsy Woman's Life on the Road

Author: Maggie Smith-Bendell

Publisher: Univ of Hertfordshire Press

ISBN: 9781902806914

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 8513

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Maggie Smith-Bendell was born on the edge of a pea field near Bridgwater in Somerset in 1941. She and her family are Romani Gypsies and as she grew up Maggie learned the old crafts and customs of the Gypsies' traditional way of life. Her family travelled the length and breadth of the countryside, eking a living from the woods and hedgerows, catching rabbits, pheasants, and wild duck. They did all manner of fieldwork for farmers including picking peas, beans, and hops; and as soon as Maggie was old enough she contributed to the family's labour. Ever since they arrived in Europe centuries ago, the Gypsies have been persecuted for their outsider status, but the last sixty years or so have perhaps seen the greatest threats to their culture, to the extent that their traditional way of life is in danger of disappearing altogether: changes in the law, changes in agriculture, many things have undermined the Gypsies' freedom to live as they wish. In this wonderful memoir, full of the language and lore of the Gypsies, Maggie Smith-Bendell gives us a true insight into a way of life that has more or less vanished: driven by the seasons, with an extraordinary closeness to nature, she and her family faced numerous hardships including the deaths of beloved family members. As well as telling the story of her family's ups and downs in the course of their yearly journeys to the pea-fields of Somerset and the hop-gardens of Herefordshire, Maggie recounts her own journey to become a prominent campaigner for Gypsy rights. An autobiography told straight from the heart, Our Forgotten Years is both moving and inspiring.
Release

After All These Years

Our Gypsy Journey Continues

Author: Maggie Smith-Bendell

Publisher: Univ of Hertfordshire Press

ISBN: 1907396985

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 224

View: 8978

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Set in the context of the Gypsies' long and rich history, this autobiography secures the memories of the old ways of Gypsy life and culture at the dawn of the 21st century. Full of the author's vivid recollections, these pages recount her experiences growing up as a Gypsy in rural England. At the heart of her story is her "gorgie mush," Terry, whom she married despite her family's strong disapproval that he wasn't a Gypsy. Together they embraced one another's ways of life, bringing up their children to love the best of both worlds. This tale of one family's unique way of life takes readers on a journey that constantly travels between various places and cultures.
Release

Lord Strathcona

A Biography of Donald Alexander Smith

Author: Donna McDonald

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN: 1554882176

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 600

View: 5575

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Donald Smith, known to most Canadians as Lord Strathcona, was an adventurer who made his fortune building railroads. He joined the Hudson’s Bay Company at age eighteen and went on to build the first railway to open the Canadian Northwest to settlement. As his crowning achievement, he drove the last spike for the nation-building Canadian Pacific Railway. In 1896, Smith became Canada’s High Commissioner in London and was soon elevated to the peerage. He became a generous benefactor to Canadian institutions. This eminently readable biography brings to light new information, including details about Strathcona’s personal life and his scandalous marriage.
Release

Extraordinary Women of the Rocky Mountain West

Author: N.A

Publisher: Pikes Peak Library District

ISBN: 1567352774

Category: Rocky Mountains Region

Page: 362

View: 3348

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Contains papers presented at the fourth annual Pikes Peak Regional History Symposium held June 9, 2007 in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Profiles a number of prominent and exceptional women throughout the history of the Rocky Mountain West and highlights the political, cultural, economic and social conditions which these women helped to shape.
Release

Keep Moving

Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change

Author: Maggie Smith

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1982132086

Category: Self-Help

Page: 224

View: 5014

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Marie Claire “2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now” A Washington Post “What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019” A Parade “25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot” “Keep Moving speaks to you like an encouraging friend reminding you that you can feel and survive deep loss, sink into life’s deep beauty, and constantly, constantly make yourself new.” —Glennon Doyle, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Untamed and Love Warrior For fans of Anne Lamott and Cleo Wade, a collection of quotes and essays on facing life’s challenges with creativity, courage, and resilience. When Maggie Smith, the award-winning author of the viral poem “Good Bones,” started writing inspirational daily Twitter posts in the wake of her divorce, they unexpectedly caught fire. In this deeply moving book of quotes and essays, Maggie writes about new beginnings as opportunities for transformation. Like kintsugi, the Japanese art of mending broken ceramics with gold, Keep Moving celebrates the beauty and strength on the other side of loss. This is a book for anyone who has gone through a difficult time and is wondering: What comes next?
Release

The World According to Mike Leigh

Author: Michael Coveney

Publisher: Harpercollins Pub Limited

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 255

View: 3462

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The first biography of one of Britain's most exciting & original filmmakers & playwrights, whose successes include the award-winning film Secrets & Lies. Featuring 45 b/w photographs & a complete listing of his works.
Release