Mack The Life

Author: Lee Mack

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446488764

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 416

View: 2530

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Have you ever wondered where comedians come from? Why is it that one person is a funny bloke down the pub while another actually makes a living by standing up in front of an audience telling jokes? And where does all that material come from? Well, young Lee McKillop used to wonder that too. Growing up in his parents’ pub, small and wiry in a world of bigger and chunkier specimens, Lee quickly learned that cracking jokes was a way to get attention. After a somewhat random series of jobs, which included being Red Rum’s stableboy and a bingo hall barman, it was as a Great Yarmouth holiday camp entertainer that he had his first crack at telling jokes on stage. It got him some laughs, the sack and a punch in the face.* Now, as Lee Mack, he’s one of our best loved and most successful comedians, both as a live stand-up and on television. In Mack the Life, Lee tells the story of how he got there and gives extraordinary insight into what really makes comics tick. Hilarious and brilliant, it’s the kind of book which reminds you why you learned to read in the first place. *Nearly.
Release

Corbett Mack

The Life of a Northern Paiute

Author: Michael Hittman

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803223769

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 390

View: 470

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This is the compelling yet disturbing story of Corbett Mack (1892-1974), an opiate addict who was a member of the Nuumuu (Numa), or Northern Paiute. The Northern Paiute are best known as the people who produced Wovoka, the Ghost Dance prophet whose revitalistic teachings swept the Indian world in the 1890s. Mack is from the generation following the collapse of the Ghost Dance religion, a generation of Nomogweta or "half-breeds" (also called "stolen children")-Paiute of mixed ancestry who were raised in an increasingly bicultural world and who fell into virtual peonage to white (often Italian) potato farmers. Around the turn of the century, the use of opium became widespread among the Paiute, adopted from equally victimized Chinese laborers with whom they worked closely in the fields. The story of Corbett Mack is an uncompromising account of a harsh and sometimes traumatic life that was typical of an entire generation of Paiute. It was a life born out of the turmoil and humiliation of an Indian boarding school, troubled by opiate addiction, bound to constant labor in the fields, yet nonetheless made meaningful through the perseverance of Paiute cultural traditions. Michael Hittman is chairman of the Anthropology and Sociology Department and a professor at Long Island University, Brooklyn. He is the author of Wovoka and the Ghost Dance: A Sourcebook and A Numa History: The Yerington Paiute Tribe.
Release

Connie Mack

A Life in Baseball

Author: Ted Davis

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595121128

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 232

View: 5081

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The life and times of Connie Mack, longtime baseball man. The early days of baseball, when it was America's Game. The players, Managers, and Executive's who helped shape the National Pastime. Foxx, Grove, Waddell, Landis, Ruth and others stroll across the pages. A must read for any baseball fan, young or old.
Release

A Pimp's Life

Author: Treasure Hernandez

Publisher: Urban Books

ISBN: 9781599831473

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3031

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the tradition of Donald Goines and Iceberg Slim comes A Pimp's Life, the story of the rise and fall of Mack Jones. He's at the top of his pimp game in Queens, New York, until he breaks one of the cardinal rules of Pimping 101 and falls in love with one of his girls. Destiny was once an innocent young girl tricked into selling her body, but now she's as tough as the most seasoned professionals on the street. Then a tragic turn of events causes her to open her heart once again. When Mack is shot, she stays by his side during his recovery, proving herself to be as devoted as any wife would be to her husband. After she sees that Mack has regained his strength, Destiny finally gathers the courage to leave the life behind her, and Mack is forced to make a decision. He won't stop her from leaving, but he must decide if he will follow her out of the game. Will he stay with what he's always known, or take a chance on love? And even if he does choose to get out, will the streets let him go that easy?
Release

Thomas Gray

A Life

Author: Robert L. Mack

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300084993

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 718

View: 9353

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mack incorporates recent scholarship on Gray, drawing on developments in 18th-century and gender studies, as well as on extensive archival research into the life of the poet and his family. The result is an eloquent and enlightening book, sure to be the definitive biography of this great poet, a forefather of the Romantic Movement. 50 illustrations.
Release

Reality TV

Realism and Revelation

Author: Anita Biressi,Heather Nunn

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN: 0231850263

Category: Social Science

Page: 224

View: 2821

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book analyses new and hybrid genres of television including observational documentaries, talk shows, game shows, docu-soaps, dramatic reconstructions, law and order programming and 24/7 formats such as Big Brother and Survivor.
Release

Daniel Boone

The Life and Legend of an American Pioneer

Author: John Mack Faragher

Publisher: Holt Paperbacks

ISBN: 1429997060

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 464

View: 2787

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for History for 1993 In the first and most reliable biography of Daniel Boone in more than fifty years, award-winning historian Faragher brilliantly portrays America's famous frontier hero. Drawing from popular narrative, the public record, scraps of documentation from Boone's own hand, and a treasure of reminiscence gathered by nineteenth-century antiquarians, Faragher uses the methods of new social history to create a portrait of the man and the times he helped shape. Blending themes from a much vitalized Western and frontier history with the words and ideas of ordinary people, Faragher has produced a book that will stand as the definitive life of Daniel Boone for decades to come, and one that illuminates the frontier world of Boone like no other.
Release

Connie Mack and the Early Years of Baseball

Author: Norman L. Macht

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 0803209908

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 743

View: 1944

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Connie Mack was the Grand Old Man of baseball. This book, spanning first fifty-two years of Mack's life, covers his experiences as player, manager, and club owner. It tells how Mack, a school dropout at fourteen, created strategies for winning baseball and principles for managing men long before there were notions of defining such subjects.
Release

A Prince of Our Disorder

The Life of T. E. Lawrence

Author: John E. Mack

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN: 9780674704947

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 561

View: 5800

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Presents portrait of the soldier and leader most widely known as Lawrence of Arabia, set against the history, politics, and society of the times.
Release

Prisoners of a Hard Life

Author: Susan Willmarth,Ellen Miller-Mack,Lois Ahrens,Real Cost of Prisons Project

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 20

View: 3880

DOWNLOAD NOW »

###############################################################################################################################################################################################################################################################
Release