A Guide for Using Little House on the Prairie in the Classroom

A Guide for Using Little House on the Prairie in the Classroom

Before the Book Before you begin reading Little House on ... (page 11) • Begin house building project. (page 12) • Explore point of view. (page 13) • Begin “Reading ... (page 21) • Learn a prairie song. (page 22) • Explore social ...

Author: Linda Lee Maifair

Publisher: Teacher Created Resources

ISBN: 9781557345394

Category: Education

Page: 48

View: 932

Categories: Education

Little House on the Prairie

Little House on the Prairie

A family travels from the big woods of Wisconsin to a new home on the prairie, where they build a house, meet neighboring Indians, build a well, and fight a prairie fire.

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books

ISBN: UCSC:32106010339395

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 242

View: 276

A family travels from the big woods of Wisconsin to a new home on the prairie, where they build a house, meet neighboring Indians, build a well, and fight a prairie fire.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Laura Ingalls Wilder Creator of the Little House Books

Laura Ingalls Wilder  Creator of the Little House Books

“Notes from the Real Little House on the Prairie.” The Saturday EveningPost, September 1978: 56. Chapter 2. Born in the Deep Woods 1. Donald Zochert. Laura: The Life ofLaura Ingalls l/Vilder. New York: Avon Books, 1976.19. Chapter 3.

Author: Emma Carlson Berne

Publisher: ABDO

ISBN: 9781604537994

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 335

Discusses the life of the woman who created the famous "Little House" books, from her childhood in Wisconsin to her old age at Rocky Ridge Farm.
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction

Children s Literature

Children s Literature

Within the thought-provoking discussions of race and diversity in her chapter on Little House on the Prairie, for instance, she also incorporates references to Laura's attraction to ''half-breed'' Big Jerry from By the Shores of Silver ...

Author: Elizabeth Lennox Keyser

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300094893

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 579

Annual of The Modern Language Association Division on Children’s Literature and The Children’s Literature Association ARTICLES: Perry Nodelman Speculations on the Characteristics of Children’s Fiction; Roderick McGillis The Pleasure of the Process; Thomas Travisano Of Dialectic and Divided Consciousness; Margaret R. Higonnet A Pride of Pleasures; Perry Nodelman The Urge to Sameness; Kenneth Kidd Boyology in the Twentieth Century; Marilynn Olson Turn-of-the-Century Grotesque; Peter Hollindale Plain Speaking; Hamida Bosmajian Doris Orgel’s The Devil in Vienna; Joseph Stanton Maurice Sendak’s Urban Landscapes. VARIA: Andrea Immel James Pettit Andrews’s "Books" (1790); Penny Mahon "Things by Their Right Name"; Phyllis Bixler The Lion and the Lamb. IN MEMORIAM: R. H. W. Dillard In Memoriam: Francelia Butler, 1913–1998; John Cech In Mansfield Hollow: For Francelia; Eric Dawson Francelia’s Dream. REVIEWS: Anita Tarr "Still so much work to be done"; Gillian Adams A Fuzzy Genre; Kenneth Kidd Crosswriting the School Story; Raymond E. Jones A New Salvo in the Literary Battle of the Sexes; Stephen Canham From Wonderland to the Marketplace; Jan Susina Dealing with Victorian Fairies; Gregory Eiselein Reading a Feminist Romance; Anne K. Phillips The Wizard of Oz in the Twentieth Century; June Cummins "Where the Girls Are"—and Aren’t; Deborah Stevenson Letters from the Editor; Hamida Bosmajian Dangerous Images; Roberta Seelinger Trites The Transactional School of Children’s Literature Criticism. DISSERTATIONS OF NOTE: Mary Mayfield and Rachel Fordyce
Categories: Literary Criticism

My Prairie Cookbook

My Prairie Cookbook

Actress Melissa Gilbert’s personal recollections and memorabilia, including behind-the-scenes stories, anecdotes, and more than 75 treasured scrapbook images, accompany the recipes.

Author: Melissa Gilbert

Publisher: ABRAMS

ISBN: 9781613127124

Category: Cooking

Page: 208

View: 572

A collection of 80 comforting recipes from the star of Little House on the Prairie. From prairie breakfasts and picnic lunches to treats inspired by Nellie’s restaurant, these simple and delicious dishes—crispy fried chicken, pot roasts, cornbread, apple pie, and more—present Bonnet Heads (aka die-hard Little House fans) with the chance to eat like the Ingalls family. Actress Melissa Gilbert’s personal recollections and memorabilia, including behind-the-scenes stories, anecdotes, and more than 75 treasured scrapbook images, accompany the recipes. With answers to the most-asked questions from fans—on topics such as the biggest bloopers, on-set romances, and what Michael Landon was really like—My Prairie Cookbook is a cherished memento for fans of Little House and Laura Ingalls Wilder, as well as anyone who loves hearty, simple home cooking. “Melissa’s writing is so warm and personal that it makes me feel like I’m being wrapped in a big, warm blanket, and the recipes are approachable and delicious.” —Jennifer Garner
Categories: Cooking

The Long Winter

The Long Winter

For the first time in the history of the Little House books, this new edition features Garth Williams’ interior art in vibrant, full color, as well as a beautifully redesigned cover.

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0060581859

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 826

For the first time in the history of the Little House books, this new edition features Garth Williams’ interior art in vibrant, full color, as well as a beautifully redesigned cover. The adventures of Laura Ingalls and her family continue as Pa, Ma, Laura, Mary, Carrie, and little Grace bravely face the hard winter of 1880-81 in their little house in the Dakota Territory. Blizzards cover the little town with snow, cutting off all supplies from the outside. Soon there is almost no food left, so young Almanzo Wilder and a friend make a dangerous trip across the prairie to find some wheat. Finally a joyous Christmas is celebrated in a very unusual way in this most exciting of all the Little House books.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Laura Ingalls Wilder The Little House Books The Library of America Collection

Laura Ingalls Wilder  The Little House Books  The Library of America Collection

The volumes are also available separately with standard Library of America series bindings and jackets.

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Publisher: Library of America

ISBN: 9781598531626

Category: Fiction

Page: 1490

View: 179

Originally published from 1932 to 1943, Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books are classics of children’s literature, beloved by millions. But readers who last enjoyed them as children may be astonished at the quiet poetry of Wilder’s prose and the force and poignancy of her portrait of the lives of American pioneers. Now The Library of America and editor Caroline Fraser present a definitive boxed set that affirms Wilder’s place in the American canon, reintroducing these enduring works to readers young and old. Here, for the first time in two collectible hardcover volumes, are all eight Little House novels—brilliant narratives of the early life of Laura Ingalls and her family as they grow up with the country in the woods, on the plains, and finally in the small towns of the advancing American frontier—plus the posthumous novella The First Four Years, which recounts the early years of the author’s marriage to Almanzo Wilder. As a special feature, four rare autobiographical pieces address the need for historical accuracy in children’s literature, reveal real life events not included in the novels, and answer the inevitable question: what happened next? Contains: VOLUME ONE Little House in the Big Woods Farmer Boy Little House on the Prairie On the Banks of Plum Creek Library of America volume #229 VOLUME TWO By the Shores of Silver Lake The Long Winter Little Town on the Prairie These Happy Golden Years The First Four Years Library of America volume #230 Each volume features deluxe three-part bindings, a newly-researched chronology of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s life and career, and helpful notes. The volumes are also available separately with standard Library of America series bindings and jackets.
Categories: Fiction

Little House 5 Book Collection

Little House 5 Book Collection

This collection of the first five books in Laura Ingalls Wilder's treasured Little House series features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all ...

Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780062565990

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 1648

View: 421

This collection of the first five books in Laura Ingalls Wilder's treasured Little House series features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. This collection includes Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Little House on the Prairie, On the Banks of Plum Creek, and By the Shores of Silver Lake. The Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Time Machines

Time Machines

... time radio tapes and the popularity of nostalgia movies like Woody Allen's Radio Days2 and of weekly television shows about a romanticized past , such as " Happy Days , " " The Waltons , " and " The Little House on the Prairie .

Author: Paul J. Nahin

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 0387985719

Category: Science

Page: 628

View: 972

This book explores the idea of time travel from the first account in English literature to the latest theories of physicists such as Kip Thorne and Igor Novikov. This very readable work covers a variety of topics including: the history of time travel in fiction; the fundamental scientific concepts of time, spacetime, and the fourth dimension; the speculations of Einstein, Richard Feynman, Kurt Goedel, and others; time travel paradoxes, and much more.
Categories: Science

Alice to the Lighthouse

Alice to the Lighthouse

97 Wilder, Little House in the Big Woods, pp. 131–2. 98 Wilder, The Long Winter, p. 10. 99 Moore, 'Laura Ingalls Wilder's Orange Notebooks and the Art of the Little House Books', Children's Literature, Iv.115–16, shows that Wilder's ...

Author: Juliet Dusinberre

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9781349273577

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 352

View: 702

Alice to the Lighthouse is the first and only full-length study of the relation between children's literature and writing for adults. Lewis Carroll's Alice books created a revolution in writing for and about children which had repercussions not only for subsequent children's writers - such as Stevenson, Kipling, Nesbit, Frances Hodgson Burnett and Mark Twain - but for Virginia Woolf and her generation. Virginia Woolf's celebration of writing as play rather than preaching is the twin of the Post-Impressionist art championed by Roger Fry. Dusinberre connects books for children in the late nineteenth century with developments in education and psychology, all of which feed into the modernism of the early twentieth century.
Categories: Literary Criticism