Late Essays

2006-2017

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735223939

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 304

View: 2959

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A new collection of twenty-three literary essays from the Nobel Prize–winning author. J. M. Coetzee’s latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, is now available from Viking. J. M. Coetzee is not only one of the most acclaimed fiction writers in the world, he is also an accomplished and insightful literary critic. In Late Essays: 2006–2016, a thought-provoking collection of twenty-three pieces, he examines the work of some of the world’s greatest writers, from Daniel Defoe in the early eighteenth century to Goethe and Irène Némirovsky to Coetzee’s contemporary Philip Roth. Challenging yet accessible, literary master Coetzee writes these essays with great clarity and precision, offering readers an illuminating and wise analysis of a remarkable list of works of international literature that span three centuries.
Release

The Cambridge Companion to J.M. Coetzee

Author: Jarad Zimbler

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 1108475345

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 260

View: 3676

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Presents lucid and exemplary critical essays, introducing readers to J. M. Coetzee's works, practices, horizons and relations.
Release

Race, Nation, Translation

South African Essays, 1990-2013

Author: Zoë Wicomb

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300241151

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 384

View: 6925

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The first collection of nonfiction critical writings by one of the leading literary figures of post-apartheid South Africa The most significant nonfiction writings of Zoë Wicomb, one of South Africa’s leading authors and intellectuals, are collected here for the first time in a single volume. This compilation features critical essays on the works of such prominent South African writers as Bessie Head, Nadine Gordimer, Njabulo Ndebele, and J. M. Coetzee, as well as writings on gender politics, race, identity, visual art, sexuality, and a wide range of other cultural and political topics. Also included are a reflection on Nelson Mandela and a revealing interview with Wicomb. In these essays, written between 1990 and 2013, Wicomb offers insight on her nation’s history, policies, and people. In a world in which nationalist rhetoric is on the rise and diversity and pluralism are the declared enemies of right-wing populist movements, her essays speak powerfully to a wide range of international issues.
Release

On J. M. Coetzee

Writers on Writers

Author: Ceridwen Dovey

Publisher: Black Inc.

ISBN: 1743820658

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 96

View: 8828

DOWNLOAD NOW »

‘I was born in the year J.M. Coetzee published his third novel, Waiting for the Barbarians. My mother read this dark, disturbing book with its multiple scenes of torture as she breastfed me at night, while my older sister slept and the house was quiet. It was 1980. The apartheid government had declared a state of emergency in the face of growing internal revolt, and my parents were thinking of leaving South Africa again.’ For Ceridwen Dovey, J.M. Coetzee has ‘always been there’, ‘challenging the rest of us to keep up, resisting our attempts to pin him down.’ Her mother wrote the first critical study of Coetzee’s early novels, uncovering their startlingly original ways of bringing together literature and politics. With tenderness and insight, Dovey draws on this family history to explore the Nobel Prize–winner’s work.
Release

Dusklands

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524705551

Category: Fiction

Page: 144

View: 4111

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"J.M. Coetzee's vision goes to the nerve center of being."—Nadine Gordimer J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, is now available from Viking. Late Essays: 2006-2017 will be available January 2018. A shattering pair of novellas in the tradition of Conrad's Heart of Darkness, Dusklands probes the links between the powerful and the powerless. "Vietnam Project" is narrated by a researcher investigating the effectiveness of United States propaganda and psychological warfare in Vietnam. The question of power is also explored in "The Narrative of Jacobus Coetzee," the story of an eighteenth-century Boer frontiersman who vows revenge on the Hottentot natives because they have failed to treat him with the respect that he thinks a white man deserves. With striking intensity, J. M. Coetzee penetrates the twilight land of obsession, charting the nature on colonization as it seeks, in 1970 as in 1760, to absorb the wilds into the Western dusklands.
Release

Critical Essays on Shakespeare's A Lover's Complaint

Suffering Ecstasy

Author: Shirley Sharon-Zisser

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9780754603450

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 203

View: 6060

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A series of readings of Shakespeare's A Lover's Complaint, particularly engaging with issues of psychoanalysis and gender, this volume cumulatively builds a detailed picture of the poem, its reception, and its critical neglect. The collection by leading Shakespeareans brings to the poem the attention it deserves for its beauty, its aesthetic, psychological and conceptual complexity, and its representation of its cultural moment.
Release

Foe

A Novel

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524705497

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 8326

DOWNLOAD NOW »

J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, will soon be available from Viking With the same electrical intensity of language and insight that he brought to Waiting for the Barbarians, J.M. Coetzee reinvents the story of Robinson Crusoe—and in so doing, directs our attention to the seduction and tyranny of storytelling itself In 1720 the eminent man of letters Daniel Foe is approached by Susan Barton, lately a castaway on a desert island. She wants him to tell her story, and that of the enigmatic man who has become her rescuer, companion, master and sometimes lover: Cruso. Cruso is dead, and his manservant, Friday, is incapable of speech. As she tries to relate the truth about him, the ambitious Barton cannot help turning Cruso into her invention. For as narrated by Foe—as by Coetzee himself—the stories we thought we knew acquire depths that are at once treacherous, elegant, and unexpectedly moving.
Release

The Master of Petersburg

A Novel

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524705535

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 9998

DOWNLOAD NOW »

J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, is now available from Viking. Late Essays: 2006-2016 will be available January 2018. In the fall of 1869 Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoevsky, lately a resident of Germany, is summoned back to St. Petersburg by the sudden death of his stepson, Pavel. Half crazed with grief, stricken by epileptic seizures, and erotically obsessed with his stepson's landlady, Dostoevsky is nevertheless intent on unraveling the enigma of Pavel's life. Was the boy a suicide or a murder victim? Did he love his stepfather or despise him? Was he a disciple of the revolutionary Nechaev, who even now is somewhere in St. Petersburg pursuing a dream of apocalyptic violence? As he follows his stepson's ghost—and becomes enmeshed in the same demonic conspiracies that claimed the boy—Dostoevsky emerges as a figure of unfathomable contradictions: naive and calculating, compassionate and cruel, pious and unspeakably perverse.
Release

Elizabeth Costello

Fiction

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524705500

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 9945

DOWNLOAD NOW »

J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, is now available from Viking. Late Essays: 2006-2016 will be available January 2018. Since 1982, J. M. Coetzee has been dazzling the literary world. After eight novels that have won, among other awards, two Booker Prizes, and most recently, the Nobel Prize, Coetzee has once again crafted an unusual and deeply affecting tale. Told through an ingenious series of formal addresses, Elizabeth Costello is, on the surface, the story of a woman?s life as mother, sister, lover, and writer. Yet it is also a profound and haunting meditation on the nature of storytelling.
Release

Slow Man

A Novel

Author: J. M. Coetzee

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524705519

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 1294

DOWNLOAD NOW »

J.M. Coetzee's latest novel, The Schooldays of Jesus, is now available from Viking. Late Essays: 2006-2016 will be available January 2018. J. M. Coetzee, one of the greatest living writers in the English language, has crafted a deeply moving tale of love and mortality in his new book, Slow Man. When photographer Paul Rayment loses his leg in a bicycle accident, he is forced to reexamine how he has lived his life. Through Paul's story, Coetzee addresses questions that define us all: What does it mean to do good? What in our lives is ultimately meaningful? How do we define the place we call "home"? In his clear and uncompromising voice, Coetzee struggles with these issues and offers a story that will dazzle the reader on every page.
Release