It's Not Me, It's Them

Confessions of a hopeless modern romantic - THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Author: Joel Dommett

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472251288

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 8746

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'Effortless humour and bucketloads of charm. It's impossible not to be bowled over by the ending. Most definitely my favourite celebrity memoir in a long time. Brilliant.' - THE SUN **The hilarious debut from I'm A Celeb star Joel Dommett (Live at the Apollo, 8 Out of 10 Cats, Impractical Jokers), for fans of Joe Lycett, James Acaster and Sarah Millican** As a 17-year-old virgin working . . . for Virgin, Joel Dommett has grand ambitions. Firstly, he is going to swap suburbia for the bright lights of Showbiz. Secondly, he is going to find 'the one' in the first forty people he's going to sleep with. What follows is a series of disastrous romantic encounters, including carpets mistaken for toilets, futile grand gestures and the catfishing to end all catfishing. Featuring genuine teenage diary entries and told in Joel's trademark self-deprecating style, this is the brilliant first book from the UK's most exciting comedian.
Release

The Flourishing of Romance and the Rise of Allegory

Author: George Saintsbury

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN: 1473349427

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 470

View: 5694

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Originally published in 1897, "The Flourishing Of Romance And The Rise Of Allegory" is a fascinating treatise by English writer George Saintsbury on Romance. Contents include: "The function of Latin", "Chansons De Geste", "The Matter of Britain", "Antiquity in Romance", "The making of English and the settlement of European Prosody", "Middle High German Poetry", "The 'Fox'", "The 'Rose'", etc. George Edward Bateman Saintsbury (23 October 1845 - 28 January 1933) was an English writer, scholar, literary historian, critic and wine connoisseur. Other notable works by this author include: "A Primer of French Literature" (1880), "Short History of French Literature" (1882), and "History of Elizabethan Literature" (1887). Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new biography of the author.
Release

Best Sellers

From the U.S. Government Printing Office

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Government publications

Page: N.A

View: 2655

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

The Pietist Impulse in Christianity

Author: Christian T. Collins Winn,Christopher Gehrz

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 1621890627

Category: Religion

Page: 366

View: 1787

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From intellectual inquiry to spiritual practice to social reform, Pietism has exerted an enormous influence on various forms of Christianity and on Western culture more generally. However, this contribution remains largely unacknowledged or misunderstood in Anglo-American contexts because negative stereotypes--some undeserved, others deserved--tend to cast Pietism as a quietistic and sectarian form of religion interested in a narrow set of individualistic and spiritual concerns. In this volume, scholars from a variety of disciplines offer a corrective to this misunderstanding, highlighting the profound theological, cultural, and spiritual contribution of Pietism and what they term the pietist impulse. The essays in this volume demonstrate that Pietism was a movement of great depth and originality that was not merely concerned with the pious soul and its God. Rather, Pietists were from the beginning concerned with issues of social and ecclesial reform, the nature of history and historical inquiry, the shape and purpose of theology and theological education, the missional task of the church, and social justice and political engagement. In addition, the essays collected here fruitfully raise the question of the ongoing relevance of Pietism and the pietist impulse for contemporary problems and questions across disciplines and in the church at large.
Release

From Warism to Pacifism

A Moral Continuum

Author: Duane Cady

Publisher: Temple University Press

ISBN: 1439903131

Category: Philosophy

Page: 145

View: 8361

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Illuminating the moral views on violence, from the moral restraint of the just-war tradition through pragmatic nonviolence to principled variations of pacifism.
Release