Inside Reporting

A Practical Guide to the Craft of Journalism

Author: Tim Harrower

Publisher: McGraw-Hill Humanities/Social Sciences/Languages

ISBN: N.A

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 325

View: 5143

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This text does for reporting what Tim Harrower's The Newspaper Designer's Handbook has previously done for design: make it fun and accessible to newcomers. Harrower is an award-winning editor, designer and columnist who has previously taught at Portland State University and currently conducts journalism workshops. Inside Reporting emphasizes the basics but also provides a wealth of information on online reporting and packaging stories in more visual, interactive ways. It also includes more useful information on feature writing--from stories to reviews and column-writing--than any other text in the field.
Release

Mastering SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Infrastructure Design

Author: Joseph L. Jorden

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470410442

Category: Computers

Page: 486

View: 5342

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Reporting Services is a powerful tool for SQL Server 2005 database administrators, developers, and other IT professionals, enabling them to make sense of the immense amount of data generated by enterprises of all sizes Shows readers how to create, manage, and distribute information as well as how to design, produce, and distribute reports that meet the needs of the stakeholder Contains practical insights and real-world solutions not found in other books Bridges the gap between those who manage data and those who need it
Release

Performance-Based Reporting

New Management Tools for Unpredictable Times

Author: Hans V.A. Johnsson,Per Erik Kihlstedt

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0471751944

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 240

View: 8978

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The successfully proven alternative system for relevant businessreporting through performance management Performance-Based Reporting shows businesses howtraditional accounting fails to provide meaningful measures forperformance and presents radically innovative and thoroughly testedmethods for performance-oriented management, assessment, andreporting. Twenty-five years in the making, this helpful book alsopresents The Baseline Approach to management, assessment, andreporting-composed of eighty-percent accounting-free methods. Performance-Based Reporting presents the culmination ofintense experiments involving more than 1,500 businesses and over4,000 executives. It definitively proves the need for new tools forrealistic business planning and management in an unpredictableworld. These tools already exist, and this helpful guide walksreaders through the process of implementing them to help firmsimprove their ability to predict the direction they should take inthe future.
Release

The Multinational Banking Industry (RLE Banking & Finance)

Author: Neil S Coulbeck

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136267581

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 20

View: 4288

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The role of international banks within the developed economies has come under increasingly hostile public scrutiny, yet little attention has been paid to the structure and purpose of the banks themselves. Most existing studies concentrate on the part played by international banks as intermediaries in the domestic and international economy, failing to consider the foremost concern of the banks themselves – their success as business enterprises. This book examines the practical problems faced by the Universal Multinational banks (UMNBs) in the fields of strategic planning and business development. It explains the common constraints encountered by the UMNBs, showing that, whether they like it or not, current market pressures are governing their policies in all the developed economies. Through studying the management structures and business policies of these banks this book provides a much clearer picture of their activities in the world economy. Initially, it concentrates on the UMNBs of the USA since they have provided a strategic model for other global banking concerns. The UMNBs of Japan, Britain, France, Germany, Canada and Switzerland are then discussed to establish their similarities and differences: case studies are included at the end of each chapter to illustrate and reinforce the points made in the preceding text. Although written in 1984 the author successfully predicted many of the subsequent developments in the field of information technology and competition in world markets, which led to the emergence of global financial enterprises.
Release

Windows Server 2012 R2 Administrator Cookbook

Author: Jordan Krause

Publisher: Packt Publishing Ltd

ISBN: 178439422X

Category: Computers

Page: 310

View: 2838

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book is intended for system administrators and IT professionals with experience in Windows Server 2008 or Windows Server 2012 environments who are looking to acquire the skills and knowledge necessary to manage and maintain the core infrastructure required for a Windows Server 2012 and Windows Server 2012 R2 environment.
Release

Radio's Revolution

Don Hollenbeck's CBS Views the Press

Author: Loren Ghiglione

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803267589

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 166

View: 7006

DOWNLOAD NOW »

CBS Views the Press ranks as one of the most important radio programs in U.S. journalism history. The pet project of Edward R. Murrow, Don Hollenbeck?s fifteen-minute program aired weekly over WCBS in New York City from 1947 to 1950 and won a Peabody, a George Polk and other major journalism awards. The provocative program was broadcasting?s Declaration of Independence from newspapers?the first time a network dared trade roles with the powerful press to become the critic of newspapers, not merely the subject of newspapers? criticism. Radio?s Revolution brings together twenty historically significant transcripts of CBS Views the Press, with Loren Ghiglione providing the historical context and insight into Hollenbeck?s approach. ø Hollenbeck tackled the toughest topics, from racism to McCarthyism, and many in the media applauded his conscience and courage. But powerful New York newspapers, including William Randolph Hearst?s flagship Journal-American, attacked Hollenbeck?s program as pro-Communist and anticonservative. In 1954 Hollenbeck got caught in the middle of the televised confrontation between CBS?s Murrow and Senator Joe McCarthy. Still under assault by Hearst columnists, separated from his third wife, worried about losing his job at CBS, and suffering from alcoholism and depression, Hollenbeck killed himself.
Release

A Short History of Las Vegas

Author: Barbara Land,Myrick Land

Publisher: University of Nevada Press

ISBN: 9780874175646

Category: History

Page: 266

View: 2700

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Today's Las Vegas Welcomes 35 million visitors a year and reigns as the world's premier gaming city. But it is much more than a gambling paradise. In A Short History of Las Vagas, Barbara and Myrick Land reveal a fascinating history beyond the mobsters, casinos, and showgirls. The Lands present a complete story, beginning with southern Nevada's indigenous peoples and the earliest explorers to the first pioneers to settle in the area; from the importance of the railroad and the construction of Hoover Dam to the arrival of the Mob after World War II; from the first isolated resorts to appear in the dusty desert to the upscale, extravagant theme resorts of today. Las Vegas-and its history-is full of surprises. The second edition of this lively history includes details of the latest developments and describes the growing anticipation surrounding the Las Vegas centennial celebration in 2005. New chapters focus on the recent implosions of famous old structures and the construction of glamorous now developments headline-making mergers and multibillion-dollar deals involving famous Strip properties; and a concluding look at what life is like for the nearly two million residents who call La
Release

Cover Before Striking

Author: Priscila Uppal

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN: 1459729544

Category: Fiction

Page: 232

View: 6965

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The most common phrase in print is "cover before striking," a warning to those about to innocently strike a match to be careful not to burn their fingers. Uppal's characters in Cover Before Striking are all people pushing their lives to new levels of intensity, danger, or passion as they test their limits and those of the world. The pyromaniac at the heart of the title story — winner of the Gloria Vanderbilt Short Fiction Prize — desperately uses fire to reconnect with lost lovers and family members. In "Vertigo," an injured Olympic athlete becomes a research guinea pig in a surreal scientific experiment. In "The Boy Next Door," a teenager recounts how her mother took her and fled Canada for Brazil, along with the local Catholic priest. Implacable and just a little unhinged, the stories of Cover Before Striking each move toward that moment of contact when the sparks begin to fly, when destruction and beauty seem to blur together. With this collection, Priscila Uppal offers the literary equivalent of playing with fire.
Release

The Executive Series (Omnibus Edition)

Author: Gary Grossman

Publisher: Diversion Books

ISBN: 1626814503

Category: Fiction

Page: 1466

View: 9741

DOWNLOAD NOW »

“Get ready to lose yourself in a hell of a story.” —Michael Palmer, New York Times bestselling author of Oath of Office For Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke, every day is a ticking clock. In these three edge-of-your-seat thrillers, Roarke has the lives of the American people in his hands every day, from the leader of the free world on down, and every page brings him, and us, closer to annihilation. Perfect for fans of Brad Thor and David Baldacci, this bundle of political conspiracy thrillers pits a brilliant agent against an ruthless enemy, and will keep you turning pages to each jaw-dropping conclusion.
Release

The Encyclopedia of the Novel

Author: N.A

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 111877907X

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 1024

View: 7740

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Now available in a single volume paperback, this advanced reference resource for the novel and novel theory offers authoritative accounts of the history, terminology, and genre of the novel, in over 140 articles of 500-7,000 words. Entries explore the history and tradition of the novel in different areas of the world; formal elements of the novel (story, plot, character, narrator); technical aspects of the genre (such as realism, narrative structure and style); subgenres, including the bildungsroman and the graphic novel; theoretical problems, such as definitions of the novel; book history; and the novel's relationship to other arts and disciplines. The Encyclopedia is arranged in A-Z format and features entries from an international cast of over 140 scholars, overseen by an advisory board of 37 leading specialists in the field, making this the most authoritative reference resource available on the novel. This essential reference, now available in an easy-to-use, fully indexed single volume paperback, will be a vital addition to the libraries of literature students and scholars everywhere.
Release