From Alchemy to Chemistry

Author: John Read

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN: 0486170845

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 5356

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Broad, humanistic treatment focuses on great figures of chemistry and ideas that revolutionized the science. Much on alchemy, also development of modern chemistry, atomic theory, elements, organic chemistry, more. 50 illustrations.
Release

From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story

Author: Arthur Greenberg

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 0470085231

Category: Science

Page: 664

View: 3879

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Praise for From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story "The timeline from alchemy to chemistry contains some of the most mystifying ideas and images that humans have ever devised. Arthur Greenberg shows us this wonderful world in a unique and highly readable book." —Dr. John Emsley, author of The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison "Art Greenberg takes us, through text and lovingly selected images, on a 'magical mystery tour' of the chemical universe. No matter what page you open, there is a chemical story worth telling." —Dr. Roald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate and coauthor of Chemistry Imagined "Chemistry has perhaps the most intricate, most fascinating, and certainly most romantic history of all the sciences. Arthur Greenberg's essays-delightful, learned, quirky, highly personal, and richly illustrated with contemporary drawings (many of great rarity and beauty)-provide a kaleidoscope of intellectual landscapes, bringing the experiments, the ideas, and the human figures of chemistry's past intensely alive." —Dr. Oliver Sacks, author of Awakenings From Alchemy to Chemistry in Picture and Story takes you on an illustrated tour of chemistry's fascinating history, from its early focus on the spiritual relationship between man and nature to some of today's most cutting-edge applications. Drawing from rare publications and artwork that span over five centuries, the book contains nearly 200 essays and over 350 illustrations-including 24 in full color-that tell the engaging story of the development of this fundamental science and its connection with human history. Join Arthur Greenberg as he combines the "best of the best" from his previous works (as well as several new essays) to paint a colorful picture of chemistry's remarkable origins!
Release

The World's Greatest Fix

A History of Nitrogen and Agriculture

Author: G. J. Leigh

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0190290153

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 1266

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the tradition of Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, this gives the very early history of how human ingenuity overcame the risk of famine through productive agriculture. Starting with a layman's guide to the chemistry of nitrogen fixation, the book goes on to show how humans emerged from nomadic lifestyles and began developing towns and settlements. When they for the first time began planting the same fields year after year, they noticed quickly the need to ensure soil fertility. But how? The method they came up with is still in use to this day.
Release

Boerhaave and Great Britain

Three Lectures on Boerhaave with Particular Reference to His Relations with Great Britain

Author: Gerrit Arie Lindeboom

Publisher: Brill Archive

ISBN: 9789004038431

Category: Science

Page: 75

View: 895

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Eurekas and Euphorias

The Oxford Book of Scientific Anecdotes

Author: Walter Gratzer,Walter Bruno Gratzer

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN: 9780198609407

Category: Science

Page: 357

View: 3833

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A collection of scientific anecdotes from the past two thousand years offers insight into the personalities, friendships, rivalries, deceptions, hoaxes, tragedies, and mistakes that marked the history of science. (Science & Mathematics)
Release

Journal of the Chemical Society

Author: Chemical Society (Great Britain)

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Chemistry

Page: N.A

View: 7913

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Titles of chemical papers in British and foreign journals" included in Quarterly journal, v. 1-12.
Release