History Through Stories

History Through Stories

Part of a complete approach to learning and improving literacy using storytelling, from Storytelling Schools, which offers resources and training for teachers.

Author: Chris Smith

Publisher: Storytelling School

ISBN: 1907359443

Category: Education

Page: 288

View: 635

Part of a complete approach to learning and improving literacy using storytelling, from Storytelling Schools, which offers resources and training for teachers.
Categories: Education

Horror Literature through History An Encyclopedia of the Stories that Speak to Our Deepest Fears 2 volumes

Horror Literature through History  An Encyclopedia of the Stories that Speak to Our Deepest Fears  2 volumes

All of her books appeared under pseudonyms—nearly one hundred under the name Marjorie Bowen, more than thirty as George Preedy, seventeen as Joseph Shearing, and the remainder by Robert Paye, John Winch, the ghost story anthologist ...

Author: Matt Cardin

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440842023

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 967

View: 333

This two-volume set offers comprehensive coverage of horror literature that spans its deep history, dominant themes, significant works, and major authors, such as Stephen King, Edgar Allan Poe, and Anne Rice, as well as lesser-known horror writers. • Describes horror literature during different periods, thus helping readers understand the roots of modern horror literature, how works of horror have engaged social issues, and how horror has evolved over time • Connects horror literature to popular culture through sidebars on film adaptations, television shows, video games, and other nonliterary, popular culture topics • Includes excerpts from selected literary works that exemplify topics discussed in the entries that support English language arts standards by enabling students to read these excerpts critically in light of the entries • Prompts students to consider the nature of horror as a genre, the relationship of horror literature and social issues, and how horror literature intersects with mainstream supernatural concerns, such as religion
Categories: Literary Criticism

Stories That Make History

Stories That Make History

with what may ultimately be the unknowability of history. We can also see how, through her crónicas, Poniatowska has built a multistory house of collective memory. Her writing as public engagement with Mexican politics along with her ...

Author: Lynn Stephen

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 9781478021940

Category: Social Science

Page: 328

View: 361

From covering the massacre of students at Tlatelolco in 1968 and the 1985 earthquake to the Zapatista rebellion in 1994 and the disappearance of forty-three students in 2014, Elena Poniatowska has been one of the most important chroniclers of Mexican social, cultural, and political life. In Stories That Make History, Lynn Stephen examines Poniatowska's writing, activism, and political participation, using them as a lens through which to understand critical moments in contemporary Mexican history. In her crónicas—narrative journalism written in a literary style featuring firsthand testimonies—Poniatowska told the stories of Mexico's most marginalized people. Throughout, Stephen shows how Poniatowska helped shape Mexican politics and forge a multigenerational political community committed to social justice. In so doing, she presents a biographical and intellectual history of one of Mexico's most cherished writers and a unique history of modern Mexico.
Categories: Social Science

Narrative Matters

Narrative Matters

Grant Bage discusses ways of translating curriculum content into lessons. The author also explores the difficulties for teachers of remaining constructively critical of both policy and their own practice.

Author: Grant Bage

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 0750709804

Category: Education

Page: 177

View: 609

Grant Bage discusses ways of translating curriculum content into lessons. The author also explores the difficulties for teachers of remaining constructively critical of both policy and their own practice.
Categories: Education

Public History Private Stories

Public History  Private Stories

... Passerini theorizes an ideological and methodological discourse on oral history and collective stories that reappears in the autobiographical context of her "ego-history." Through a humanization of history, the separation between ...

Author: Graziella Parati

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN: 9780816626069

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 194

View: 789

In this important volume, Graziella Parati examines the ways in which Italian women writers articulate their identities through autobiography - a public act that is also the creation of a private life. Considering autobiographical writings by five women writers from the seventeenth century to the present, Parati draws important connections between self-writing and the debate over women's roles, both traditional and transgressive. Parati considers the first prose autobiography written by an Italian woman - Camilla Faa Gonzaga's 1622 memoir - as her beginning point, citing it as a central "pre-text". Parati then examines the autobiographies of Enif Robert, Fausta Cialente, Rita Levi Montalcini, and Luisa Passerini. Through her discussion of these women's writings, she demonstrates the complex negotiations over identity contained within them, negotiations that challenge dichotomies between male and female, maternal and paternal, and private and public. Public History, Private Stories is a compelling exploration of the disparate identities created by these women through the act of writing autobiography.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Tower Stories An Oral History of 9 11 20th Anniversary Commemorative Edition

Tower Stories  An Oral History of 9 11  20th Anniversary Commemorative Edition

So these young people tell you their parents' story as if it's their story. I just think that's a fascinating transmission of family history through a historical event. And young people certainly have no context for the changes that ...

Author: Damon DiMarco

Publisher: Santa Monica Press

ISBN: 9781595807878

Category: History

Page:

View: 335

Damon DiMarco's Tower Stories: An Oral History of 9/11 (20th Anniversary Commemorative Edition), eternally preserves a monumental tragedy in American history through the voices of the people who were in New York City on that fateful day. At the same time, the individuals featured in the book speak to the myriad ways by which Americans rose to meet the challenges presented by 9/11, and celebrates the many heroes that are found within its pages. In the tradition of Studs Terkel, DiMarco's literary time capsule includes a wide variety of viewpoints, including: The small group of people who miraculously made it safely down from the 89th floor of Tower 1, the New York Times reporter who desperately fought her way through the fleeing crowds to get back into Lower Manhattan, the paramedic who set up a triage area 200 yards from the base of the Towers before they collapsed, and the bereaved citizens of New York City who struggled to get on with their lives in the days and months following the tragic event, among dozens of others. The original edition of Tower Stories was one of the best-selling and most critically acclaimed books on 9/11 ever published, and for this 20th Anniversary Commemorative Edition, DiMarco has conducted additional interviews that offer a contemporary perspective on the 9/11 tragedy. The individuals DiMarco interviewed for the new edition include: • Alice Greenwald (President and CEO of the 9/11 Memorial & Museum) • Father Jim Martin (New York Times bestselling author) • Tom Haddad (survivor of the 89th floor, Tower 1) • Stephen Adly Guirgis (Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright). The 20th Anniversary Commemorative Edition of DiMarco's moving oral history preserves all of the voices from the original edition for generations to come, while offering new insights that benefit from twenty years of reflection on the world-shattering event. The voices in Tower Stories are in turn haunting and heartbreaking, always emotional, yet ultimately heroic. It’s no wonder that MSNBC called Tower Stories “Arguably the most successful attempt at capturing the enormity of the events of 9/11,” while Publishers Weekly wrote that “DiMarco’s contribution to the memory of that horrific day is enormous; the testimonies collected here form a one-of-a-kind account.”
Categories: History

Transatlantic Stories and the History of Reading 1720 1810

Transatlantic Stories and the History of Reading  1720   1810

The same historical facts could, for instance, be rendered in a “Life and Sufferings” story, in a “Life and Adventures” story ... Reading stories through what contemporaries said about them involved decoding what contemporary reviewers, ...

Author: Eve Tavor Bannet

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 9781139497619

Category: Literary Criticism

Page:

View: 824

Eve Tavor Bannet explores some of the remarkable stories about the Atlantic world that shaped Britons' and Americans' perceptions of that world. These stories about women, servants, the poor and the dispossessed were frequently rewritten or reframed by editors and printers in America and Britain for changing audiences, times and circumstances. Bannet shows how they were read by examining what contemporaries said about them and did with them; in doing so, she reveals the creatively dynamic and unstable character of transatlantic print culture. Stories include the 'other' Robinson Crusoe and works by Penelope Aubin, Rowlandson, Chetwood, Tyler, Kimber, Richardson, Gronniosaw, Equiano, Cugoano Marrant, Samson Occom, Mackenzie and Pratt.
Categories: Literary Criticism

History Stories for Children

History Stories for Children

The River That Runs Through a Mountain , Pages 162-164 Note to the Teacher Geography plays a prominent role in this story . Take the opportunity to show the student the location of the state of Colorado . Much of the Black Canyon area ...

Author: Teacher Manual

Publisher: Christian Liberty Press

ISBN: 1932971084

Category:

Page:

View: 966

Teacher's Manual for History Stories for Children, 2nd Edition. Grade 3.
Categories:

An Everyday History of Somewhere Being the True Story of Indians

An Everyday History of Somewhere  Being the True Story of Indians

In other societies throughout the world, the job of older people is to pass on the knowledge and wisdom of their culture and the history of their people. In our society, however, this is done through books, educational institutions, ...

Author: Ray Raphael

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0394487362

Category: California

Page: 192

View: 120

Categories: California