His Favorites

His Favorites

A “tense, taut, and thrilling” (Marie Claire) novel about a teenage girl, a predatory teacher, and a school’s complicity from the highly acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award finalist and author of A Short History of ...

Author: Kate Walbert

Publisher: Scribner

ISBN: 9781476799407

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 997

A “tense, taut, and thrilling” (Marie Claire) novel about a teenage girl, a predatory teacher, and a school’s complicity from the highly acclaimed, bestselling National Book Award finalist and author of A Short History of Women—“riveting, terrifying, exactly the book for our times” (Ann Patchett). They were on a lark, three teenaged girls speeding across the greens at night on a “borrowed” golf cart, drunk. The cart crashes and one of the girls lands violently in the rough, killed instantly. The driver, Jo, flees the hometown that has turned against her and enrolls at a prestigious boarding school. Her past weighs on her. She is responsible for the death of her best friend. She has tipped her parents’ rocky marriage into demise. She is ready to begin again, far away from the accident. “Devastatingly relevant” (Vogue) and “fueled by gorgeous writing” (NPR), His Favorites reveals the interior life of a young woman determined to navigate the treachery in a new world. Told from her perspective many years later, the story coolly describes a series of shattering events and a school that failed to protect her. “Before things turn treacherous, there’s a moment when predation can feel dangerously like kindness…Walbert understands this…His Favorites begs to be read” (Time).
Categories: Fiction

Our Kind

Our Kind

In Our Kind, Kate Walbert masterfully conveys the dreams and reality of a group of women who came into the quick rush of adulthood, marriage, and child-bearing during the 1950s.

Author: Kate Walbert

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781416586449

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 955

From the award-winning author of The Gardens of Kyoto comes this witty and incisive novel about the lives and attitudes of a group of women—once country-club housewives; today divorced, independent, and breaking the rules. In Our Kind, Kate Walbert masterfully conveys the dreams and reality of a group of women who came into the quick rush of adulthood, marriage, and child-bearing during the 1950s. Narrating from the heart of ten companions, Walbert subtly depicts all the anger, disappointment, vulnerability, and pride of her characters: "Years ago we were led down the primrose lane, then abandoned somewhere near the carp pond." Now alone, with their own daughters grown, they are finally free—and ready to take charge: from staging an intervention for the town deity to protesting the slaughter of the country club's fairway geese, to dialing former lovers in the dead of night. Walbert's writing is quick-witted and wry, just like her characters, but also, in its cumulative effect, moving and sad. Our Kind is a brilliant, thought-provoking novel that opens a window into the world of a generation and class of women caught in a cultural limbo.
Categories: Fiction

The Gardens of Kyoto

The Gardens of Kyoto

A coming-of-age story set during wartime retraces one woman's struggles with romance as her favorite cousin Randall is called away to the battlefields of the South Pacific.

Author: Kate Walbert

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9780684869490

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 798

A coming-of-age story set during wartime retraces one woman's struggles with romance as her favorite cousin Randall is called away to the battlefields of the South Pacific.
Categories: Fiction

A Short History of Women

A Short History of Women

Inspired by a suffragist ancestor who starved herself to promote the integration of Cambridge University, Evie refuses to marry and Dorothy defies a ban on photographing the bodies of her dead Iraq War soldier sons, a choice that ...

Author: Kate Walbert

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781416594994

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 633

Inspired by a suffragist ancestor who starved herself to promote the integration of Cambridge University, Evie refuses to marry and Dorothy defies a ban on photographing the bodies of her dead Iraq War soldier sons, a choice that embarrasses Dorothy's daughters. Reprint. A best-selling book.
Categories: Fiction

The Sunken Cathedral

The Sunken Cathedral

By the National Book Award-nominated author ofA Short History of Women. Tour.

Author: Kate Walbert

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781476799322

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 563

A pair of widows, an art historian, their painting class instructor and an increasingly insecure neighbor navigate rapid changes and extreme weather in their Manhattan community. By the National Book Award-nominated author ofA Short History of Women. Tour.
Categories: Fiction

Munsey s Magazine for

Munsey s Magazine for

MY FAVORITE NOVELIST AND HIS BEST BOOK . * BY WILLIAM DEAN HOWELLS . A " one sided conversation " in which Mr. Howells reviews the field of American and foreign fiction , confesses his preferences and prejudices , and tells of the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B2870623

Category: American periodicals

Page: 974

View: 711

Categories: American periodicals

Munsey s Magazine

Munsey s Magazine

It was one sentative book , though there are some of of the first novels I read , and it was an his later novels , like the “ Tale of Two early favorite with me ; and then I read Cities , ' ' which are more shapely ; but the others of ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000068739157

Category:

Page: 952

View: 777

Categories:

Garden of Eve A Novel

Garden of Eve   A Novel

The horses were undoubtedly some of his favorites. After all, the Good Book says there are winged horses living in Heaven, and who knows? Maybe He picked his favorites from Earth and gave them wings and immortality.

Author: Brian Stewart

Publisher: Boat Angel Outreach Center

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 963

What a wonderful tale of romance adventure and wonder. God made Adam and Eve and wants us still to walk with him and be his friends. This is an amazing story for young adults.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Armageddon Now Black OPS Book 2

Armageddon Now  Black OPS   Book 2

AS SENDAK PREPARED for his solo mission, he thought back to all the other times he had gotten his gear ready to go to war. ... His favorites were the action-packed novels of Vietnam, particularly those written by Jack Hawkins and Knox ...

Author: Michael Kasner

Publisher: Caliber Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 286

View: 949

From Action/Adventure novelist Michael Kasner comes a covert military thriller series. Formed by an elite cadre of government officials, the five member Black OPS team goes where the law can’t - to seek retribution for acts of terror directed against Americans anywhere in the world. BLACK OPS - BOOK TWO: AMERICA ON THE VERGE OF AN ETHNIC CIVIL WAR! The Black OPS team has dealt with foreign terrorists aboard, but now the carnage is the bloody handiwork of Americans as Los Angeles turns into a powder keg in an interracial war that threatens to sweep the county. Deployed to infiltrate the gangs, to trace the weapons flooding L.A. to their source, the five member Black OPS commandos uncover a trail of diabolical horror leading to the gruesome vision of social engineering... In the tradition of Don Pendleton's Executioner Mack Bolan and Warren Murphy's Destroyer classic paperback book series!
Categories: Fiction

The Virtue of Giving Up

The Virtue of Giving Up

His favorite French philosopher was Voltaire, from whom he learned the importance of arriving at reasoned conclusions by ... including a copy of the first English translation of Les Miserables, which was his favorite Hugo novel.

Author: Judith Anne Dent

Publisher: Balboa Press

ISBN: 9781504376792

Category: Social Science

Page: 256

View: 210

This is the story of Judith Dent, a girl growing up in the middle of the last century, completely blind as well as autistic, at a time when few people had even heard of autism. Judy, in her own words, was a child who could lie on the floor and scream until she turned blue from the sheer desperation of realizing she was different, not only from sighted children, but from other blind children. Her familyincluding a mother suffering from paranoid schizophreniawas unequipped and overwhelmed. Schools had no idea how to deal with her. How is it possible that Judith survived her early years, multiple suicide attempts and hospitalizations, finally achieving successas a woman and wife living in her own home and as a PhD graduate? She lacked sight, but she brought to her writings here an extraordinary eye and memory for detail that make it almost possible for the reader to experience her world and understand how she did it.
Categories: Social Science