No One is Here Except All of Us

Author: Ramona Ausubel

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101559829

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 7524

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the award-winning author of Sons and Daughters of Ease and Plenty. In 1939, the families in a remote Jewish village in Romania feel the war close in on them. Their tribe has moved and escaped for thousands of years- across oceans, deserts, and mountains-but now, it seems, there is nowhere else to go. Danger is imminent in every direction, yet the territory of imagination and belief is limitless. At the suggestion of an eleven-year-old girl and a mysterious stranger who has washed up on the riverbank, the villagers decide to reinvent the world: deny any relationship with the known and start over from scratch. Destiny is unwritten. Time and history are forgotten. Jobs, husbands, a child, are reassigned. And for years, there is boundless hope. But the real world continues to unfold alongside the imagined one, eventually overtaking it, and soon our narrator-the girl, grown into a young mother-must flee her village, move from one world to the next, to find her husband and save her children, and propel them toward a real and hopeful future. A beguiling, imaginative, inspiring story about the bigness of being alive as an individual, as a member of a tribe, and as a participant in history, No One Is Here Except All Of Us explores how we use storytelling to survive and shape our own truths. It marks the arrival of a major new literary talent. From the Hardcover edition.
Release

The Story of Baha'u'llah

Promised One of All Religions

Author: Druzelle Cederquist

Publisher: Baha'i Publishing Trust

ISBN: 9781931847131

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 359

View: 5323

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Chronicles the life of the founder of the Baha'i religion, a prophet and self-proclaimed dvinity who was persecuted during his lifetime. Original.
Release

Cold Antler Farm

A Memoir of Growing Food and Celebrating Life on a Scrappy Six-Acre Homestead

Author: Jenna Woginrich

Publisher: Shambhala Publications

ISBN: 0834829673

Category: House & Home

Page: 192

View: 3154

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jenna Woginrich is well loved for her essays on all that accompanies the life of a true homesteader: the mud and mess, the beautiful and tragic, the grime and passion. In Cold Antler Farm, she draws our attention to the timekeeper of such a lifestyle: the ancient agricultural year, filled with celebrations and seasonal touchstones that mark turning points in the cycles of life. Amidst these new-old holidays, we learn the stories of her beloved animals and crops. May apple blossoms become sweet fruit for rambunctious sheep in June. Come September, the apple harvest draws together neighbors for cider making under the waning summer sun. These living beings fuel one another—and the community—day to day, season by season. If we examine what living seasonally truly means, the agrarian calendar becomes a source of wisdom. How do we set down roots and break new ground in spring? How can we best nourish body and soul in the heat of deep summer? And what can we learn by simply paying more attention to the weather? Cold Antler Farm encourages us to eat and live well with respect for the natural rhythms of the year. In turn we learn what it means to be truly connected.
Release

A Secret History of Witches

Author: Louisa Morgan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0356511553

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 8191

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts. 'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . mesmerising' Tish Thawer 'It's true, ma petite. If they know - if they discover what we are - they will try to kill us' Brittany, 1821. After Grand-mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her. Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half-remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival. And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew. The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden. But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed more urgently than ever - not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history. A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters - witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift. *SHORTLISTED FOR THE ENDEAVOUR AWARD* 'A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft' Carol Goodman, author of Incubus 'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky 'Enthralling . . . Deeply moving and richly conceived' Kay Kenyon 'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve 'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist
Release

The Stainless Steel Rat Returns

Author: Harry Harrison

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0575101059

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4856

DOWNLOAD NOW »

James Bolivar 'Slippery Jim' diGriz, Special Corps agent, master conman and interstellar criminal (retired), is living high on the hog with his lovely, vivacious wife Angelina on the luxury planet Moolaplenty when long-lost Cousin Elmo arrives. And Cousin Elmo's not alone: he's got a ship full of porcuswine and their keepers, and they're all looking for a new home. And before he's even finished his first cocktail, his bank account's been drained and he and Angelina are off wandering the stars on a sabotaged ship. In this darkly satiric work Harry Harrison brings his most famous character out of retirement for a grand tour of the galaxy, cocktail in hand, his luscious wife by his side, a smile on his lips and larceny in his heart. He's in search of adventure, gravitons, and a way to get the porcuswine out of his life ... for ever!
Release

British Dramatists Since World War II

Author: Stanley Weintraub

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Dramatists, English

Page: 679

View: 7992

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The postwar theater in Britain has taken revolutionary steps, offering a wide spectrum of new drama ranging from Harold Pinter's absurdist dramas to Alan Ayckbourn's domestic comedies. Many playwrights from this period have taken bold initiatives to bring
Release