The Shattered Sea Series 3-Book Bundle

Half a King, Half the World, Half a War

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 1101969091

Category: Fiction

Page: 1104

View: 7830

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Discover the fantasy novels that have earned raves from George R. R. Martin and Maze Runner author James Dashner, won a Locus Award and an Alex Award, and claimed best-of-the-year honors in Time, The Washington Post, and BuzzFeed. From a crippled slave whose appearance belies his dangerous ambitions, to “a girl who makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy” (Chicago Tribune), an unforgettable cast of characters populate this addictive series, now together in one epic ebook bundle: HALF A KING HALF THE WORLD HALF A WAR Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains, and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea. And he must do it all with only one good hand. Born a weakling in the eyes of his father, Yarvi is alone in a world where a strong arm and a cold heart rule. He cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so he must sharpen his mind to a deadly edge. Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast and the lost, he finds they can do more to help him become the man he needs to be than any court of nobles could. But even with loyal friends at his side, Yarvi learns that his path may end as it began—in twists, and traps, and tragedy. Praise for the Shattered Sea series “The Shattered Seas trilogy has worked its way into a very exclusive group of my favorite fantasy novels of all time. The pacing is perfect, the characters deep and true and real, the world rich and authentic, the plot full of twists and turns. Perhaps my favorite part is that no one is purely good or evil: Each and every character has layers upon layers that are a joy to discover. I tore through all three books and truly hope that someday Joe Abercrombie returns to this magnificent, captivating world.”—James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner “A fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.”—George R. R. Martin, on Half a King “Abercrombie’s Shattered Sea is a fantastic yet believable backdrop to Yarvi’s struggle, a vivid imaginary land.”—The Seattle Times, on Half a King “An excellent page-turner . . . full of drama and energy.”—New York Daily News, on Half the World “Compelling . . . [Thorn] makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy.”—Chicago Tribune, on Half the World “A fantasy for all ages, and all times, [that] rends the soul as compulsively as anything Abercrombie has written to date . . . Half a War is a success in every way, putting a stupendous capstone on the entire Shattered Sea Trilogy.”—Tor.com “Abercrombie piles on shocking betrayals and charges his characters a high price for vengeance in this powerful and fitting final volume.”—Publishers Weekly, on Half a War
Release

Half a War

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 080417847X

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 9063

DOWNLOAD NOW »

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BUZZFEED AND THE INDEPENDENT • New York Times bestselling author Joe Abercrombie delivers the stunning conclusion to the epic fantasy trilogy that began with Half a King, praised by George R. R. Martin as “a fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.” “The Shattered Seas trilogy has worked its way into a very exclusive group of my favorite fantasy novels of all time.”—James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Maze Runner Words are weapons. Princess Skara has seen all she loved made blood and ashes. She is left with only words. But the right words can be as deadly as any blade. If she is to reclaim her birthright, she must conquer her fears and sharpen her wits to a lethal edge. Only half a war is fought with swords. The deeply cunning Father Yarvi has walked a long road from crippled slave to king’s minister. He has made allies of old foes and stitched together an uneasy peace. But now the ruthless Grandmother Wexen has raised the greatest army since the elves made war on God, and put Bright Yilling at its head—a man who worships only Death. Sometimes one must fight evil with evil. Some—like Thorn Bathu and the sword-bearer Raith—are born to fight, perhaps to die. Others—like Brand the smith and Koll the wood-carver—would rather stand in the light. But when Mother War spreads her irons wings, she may cast the whole Shattered Sea into darkness. Praise for Half a War “Filled with swift battles, quick plot twists and witty dialogue.”—New York Daily News “A fantasy for all ages, and all times [that] rends the soul as compulsively as anything Abercrombie has written to date . . . Half a War is a success in every way, putting a stupendous capstone on the entire Shattered Sea Trilogy.”—Tor.com “There’s all the sword-swinging and Machiavellian machinations you could ask for in this tale of a final battle between countries and kings.”—Fredericksburg Free Lance–Star “Engaging, mesmerising and jaw-dropping.”—SciFi Now “Abercrombie piles on shocking betrayals and charges his characters a high price for vengeance in this powerful and fitting final volume.”—Publishers Weekly Praise for Joe Abercrombie’s Half a King “A fast-paced tale of betrayal and revenge that grabbed me from page 1 and refused to let go.”—George R. R. Martin “Once this plot has its teeth in you, it will not let go. . . . Abercrombie’s masterly storytelling means that everything, from the characters you come to love and despise to the sprawling world that is explored, is enthralling.”—Fantasy Book Review Half the World “Another entertaining burst of battle, magic and political machinations from the always reliable Joe Abercrombie . . . a thoroughgoing blast, a violent, beautiful rabbit hole of craft that is well worth disappearing into.”—Shelf Awareness “Compelling . . . [Thorn] makes Katniss Everdeen look like Dorothy Gale.”—Chicago Tribune From the Hardcover edition.
Release

The Gates of Hell (Telamon Triology, Book 3)

A thrilling mystery of murder and adventure

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075539576X

Category: Fiction

Page: 255

View: 4831

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A campaign of murder, as Alexander nears his greatest challenge... Paul Doherty writes the third instalment featuring Alexander the Great and Telamon in The Gates of Hell, a gripping mystery of murder and adventure. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody. 'The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great' - Yorkshire Evening Post It is 334 BC, and Alexander and his troops have crossed into Asia. Marching south he has conquered all in his path, but he and his enemies all know that the great prize is the city of Halicarnassus, strategically important and with fortifications to make any attacker despair. Alexander's court is set up close to the city, and his physician and old friend Telamon is there. Even as Alexander prepares for one of the most dramatic confrontations in the ancient world, a series of brutal killings begins, proving that the Persians have infiltrated the court. With his lord facing the fight of his life, Telamon must go through 'the Gates of Hell' to find the traitors. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'With vivid sense imagery and a keen eye for detail, Doherty brings colour and drama' 'Paul Doherty grasps the atmosphere, the spirit of the times, and the aura of royal intrigue of 334 BC' 'Five stars'
Release

Sharp Ends

Stories from the World of the First Law

Author: Joe Abercrombie

Publisher: Orbit

ISBN: 0316390801

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3748

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Sharp Ends is the ultimate collection of award winning tales and exclusive new short stories from the master of grimdark fantasy, Joe Abercrombie. Violence explodes, treachery abounds, and the words are as deadly as the weapons in this rogue's gallery of side-shows, back-stories, and sharp endings from the world of the First Law. The Union army may be full of bastards, but there's only one who thinks he can save the day single-handed when the Gurkish come calling: the incomparable Colonel Sand dan Glokta. Curnden Craw and his dozen are out to recover a mysterious item from beyond the Crinna. Only one small problem: no one seems to know what the item is. Shevedieh, the self-styled best thief in Styria, lurches from disaster to catastrophe alongside her best friend and greatest enemy, Javre, Lioness of Hoskopp. And after years of bloodshed, the idealistic chieftain Bethod is desperate to bring peace to the North. There's only one obstacle left - his own lunatic champion, the most feared man in the North: the Bloody-Nine . . . For more from Joe Abercrombie, check out: The Shattered Sea TrilogyHalf a KingHalf the WorldHalf a War The First Law Trilogy The Blade Itself Before They Are Hanged Last Argument of Kings Stand Alone Novels in the First Law World Best Served Cold The Heroes Red Country
Release

The Pictorial Field-book of the War of 1812

Or, Illustrations, by Pen and Pencil, of the History, Biography, Scenery, Relics, and Traditions of the Last War for American Independence

Author: Benson John Lossing

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: 1084

View: 7434

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

A Testimony of Jesus Christ - Volume 2

A Commentary on the Book of Revelation

Author: Anthony Charles Garland

Publisher: SpiritAndTruth.org

ISBN: 0978886429

Category: Religion

Page: 596

View: 6400

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Commentary on the Book of Revelation - Volume 2 The author presents a detailed study of the Book of Revelation emphasizing prophetic themes from the rest of the Bible which find their fulfillment in Revelation. To understand this controversial book, the author explores the many connections between the visions seen by the Apostle John and previous prophetic revelation given to Old Testament prophets such as Daniel, Ezekiel, and others. It is the author's conviction that an understanding of related passages elsewhere in the Bible is the most important key to unlocking the bewildering variety of interpretations which often accompany the study of the last book of the Bible. The commentary can be used in conjunction with a free companion internet course providing an additional 70 hours of audio instruction linked to almost 1,000 slides.
Release

Grimdark Magazine Issue #1

Author: Mike Gelprin,Mark Lawrence,Gerri Leen,Adrian Tchaikovsky,Nick Wisseman

Publisher: Grimdark Magazine

ISBN: 0994165919

Category: Fiction

Page: 71

View: 1008

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Grimdark Magazine presents the darker, grittier side of fantasy and science fiction. Each quarterly issue features established and new authors to take you through their hard-bitten worlds alongside articles, reviews and interviews. Our stories are grim, our worlds are dark and our morally grey protagonists and anti-heroes light the way with bloody stories of war, betrayal and action.FICTION:Bad Seed (Broken Empire) by Mark LawrenceShadow Hunter (Shadows of the Apt) by Adrian TchaikovskyThe Woman I Used to Be by Gerri LeenThe Neutral by Anatoly Belilovsky (translator) and Mike Gelprin (author)The Red Wraith by Nick WissemanNON-FICITON:An interview with Joe AbercrombieAn interview with Graham McNeillBook Review: Joe Abercrombie's Half a King - review by Kyle MassaArticle: Grimdark is Here to Stay by Layla Cummins
Release