Goat Song

A Seasonal Life, A Short History of Herding, and the Art of Making Cheese

Author: Brad Kessler

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416561153

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 1996

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Acclaimed novelist Brad Kessler lived in New York City but longed for a life on the land where he could grow his own food. After years of searching for a home, he and his wife, photographer Dona Ann McAdams, found a mountain farmhouse on a dead-end road, with seventy-five acres of land. One day, when Dona returned home with fresh goat milk from a neighbor's farm, Kessler made a fresh chèvre, and their life changed forever. They decided to raise dairy goats and make cheese. Goat Song tells about what it's like to live intimately with animals who directly feed you. As Kessler begins to live the life of a herder -- learning how to care for and breed and birth goats -- he encounters the pastoral roots of so many aspects of Western culture. Kessler reflects on the history and literature of herding, and how our diet, our alphabet, our religions, poetry, and economy all grew out of a pastoralist milieu among hoofed animals. Kessler and his wife adapt to a life governed by their goats and the rhythm of the seasons. And their goats give back in immeasurable ways, as Kessler proves to be a remarkable cheesemaker, with his first tomme of goat cheese winning lavish praise from America's premier cheese restaurants. In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Goat Song is both a spiritual quest and a compelling and beautiful chronicle of living by nature's rules.
Release

Food Lit: A Reader's Guide to Epicurean Nonfiction

A Reader's Guide to Epicurean Nonfiction

Author: Melissa Brackney Stoeger

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1610693760

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 350

View: 1154

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An essential tool for assisting leisure readers interested in topics surrounding food, this unique book contains annotations and read-alikes for hundreds of nonfiction titles about the joys of comestibles and cooking.
Release

The Life of Cheese

Crafting Food and Value in America

Author: Heather Paxson

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520270185

Category: Social Science

Page: 303

View: 5318

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"The Life of Cheese is the definitive work on America's artisanal food revolution. Heather Paxson's engaging stories are as rich, sharp, and well-grounded as the product she scrutinizes. A must read for anyone interested in fostering a sustainable food system." Warren Belasco, author of Meals to Come: A History of the Future of Food "Heather Paxson's lucid and engaging book, The Life of Cheese, is a gift to anyone interested in exploring the wonderful and wonderfully complex realities of artisan cheesemaking in the United States. Paxson deftly integrates careful considerations of the importance of sentiment, value and craft to the work of cheesemakers with vivid stories and lush descriptions of their farms, cheese plants and cheese caves. While she beguiles you with the stories and tastes of cheeses from Vermont, Wisconsin and California, she also asks you to envision a post-pastoral ethos in the making. This ethos reconsiders contemporary beliefs about America's food commerce and culture, reimagines our relationship to the natural world, and redefines how we make, eat, and appreciate food. For cheese aficionados, food activists, anthropologists and food scholars alike, reading The Life of Cheese will be a transformative experience." Amy Trubek, author of The Taste of Place: A Cultural Journey into Terroir
Release

The Small-Scale Cheese Business

The Complete Guide to Running a Successful Farmstead Creamery

Author: Gianaclis Caldwell

Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

ISBN: 1603585494

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 226

View: 9172

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Originally published in 2010 under the title The farmstead creamery advisor.
Release

Urban Homesteading

Heirloom Skills for Sustainable Living

Author: Rachel Kaplan,K. Ruby Blume

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

ISBN: 161608054X

Category: Gardening

Page: 292

View: 4086

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Teaches self-reliance, sustainability, and green living in urban areas, from growing food with limited space and making solar cookers to raising chickens.
Release

Issues in Biological and Life Sciences Research: 2011 Edition

Author: N.A

Publisher: ScholarlyEditions

ISBN: 1464963355

Category: Science

Page: 5106

View: 3650

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Issues in Biological and Life Sciences Research: 2011 Edition is a ScholarlyEditions™ eBook that delivers timely, authoritative, and comprehensive information about Biological and Life Sciences Research. The editors have built Issues in Biological and Life Sciences Research: 2011 Edition on the vast information databases of ScholarlyNews.™ You can expect the information about Biological and Life Sciences Research in this eBook to be deeper than what you can access anywhere else, as well as consistently reliable, authoritative, informed, and relevant. The content of Issues in Biological and Life Sciences Research: 2011 Edition has been produced by the world’s leading scientists, engineers, analysts, research institutions, and companies. All of the content is from peer-reviewed sources, and all of it is written, assembled, and edited by the editors at ScholarlyEditions™ and available exclusively from us. You now have a source you can cite with authority, confidence, and credibility. More information is available at http://www.ScholarlyEditions.com/.
Release