Ghostwritten

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844568830

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 3245

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Winner of the Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. A magnificent achievement and an engrossing experience, David Mitchell's first novel announced the arrival of one of the most exciting writers of the twenty-first century. An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what links him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? Or to a Mongolian gangster, a woman on a holy mountain who talks to a tree, and a late night New York DJ? Set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, Ghostwritten weaves together a host of characters, their interconnected destinies determined by the inescapable forces of cause and effect.
Release

Beyond Extremes

Author: Stefan Glomb,Stefan Horlacher

Publisher: Gunter Narr Verlag

ISBN: 9783823360971

Category: Civilization, Modern, in literature

Page: 398

View: 6936

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

David Mitchell

Critical Essays

Author: Sarah Dillon

Publisher: Gylphi Limited

ISBN: 1780240031

Category:

Page: 264

View: 850

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The outcome of the first international conference on David Mitchell's writing, this collection of critical essays focuses on his first three novels - 'Ghostwritten', 'number9dream' and 'Cloud Atlas' - to provide an analysis of Mitchell's complex narrative techniques and the literary, political and cultural implications of his work.
Release

GHOST WRITTEN BY PICARD THE CAT

Author: Donald I. Templeman

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595811014

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 8210

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the descriptive styles which mirror 19th Century Romanticism to the bold starkness of contemporary dialects, these stories offer myriad insights into the many facets of the masculine soul. These are not cat stories. Well actually there is one. But for the most part this is a collection of first person narratives in short fiction which are certain to leave the reader begging to dialogue with every page. As with his powerful and imaginative science fiction novels, The Last Champion of Earth and The Planet of Mortal Worship, Donald Templeman entertains, stuns and unveils lurid insights into the human condition with every keystroke. "Author Templeman is a skilled writer and accomplished storyteller"-WRITER'S DIGEST 12TH ANNUAL BOOK AWARDS
Release

A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell

Author: Patrick O'Donnell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1441116133

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 4990

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Having emerged as one the leading contemporary British writers, David Mitchell is rapidly taking his place amongst British novelists with the gravitas of an Ishiguro or a McEwan. Written for a wide constituency of readers of contemporary literature, A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell explores Mitchell's main concerns-including those of identity, history, language, imperialism, childhood, the environment, and ethnicity-across the six novels published so far, as well as his protean ability to write in multiple and diverse genres. It places Mitchell in the tradition of Murakami, Sebald, and Rushdie-writers whose works explore narrative in an age of globalization and cosmopolitanism. Patrick O'Donnell traces the through-lines of Mitchell's work from ghostwritten to The Bone Clocks and, with a chapter on each of the six novels, charts the evolution of Mitchell's fictional project.
Release

Jack the Ripper and Black Magic

Victorian Conspiracy Theories, Secret Societies and the Supernatural Mystique of the Whitechapel Murders

Author: Spiro Dimolianis

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786484721

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 236

View: 8117

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jack the Ripper is a gothic tale of Victorian conspiracies, the supernatural, secret societies and the police. Scotland Yard hunted a serial killer shrouded in politics as the mutilator of East End prostitutes infused pop culture with demonic horror. This book uses historic sources and rare official reports to reveal dark and supernatural aspects of the Ripper case.
Release

Aesthetics and Ethics in Twenty-First Century British Novels

Zadie Smith, Nadeem Aslam, Hari Kunzru and David Mitchell

Author: Peter Childs,James Green

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1441135561

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 192

View: 6380

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A fresh set of concerns face the twenty-first century British novelist. In this study of the four key novelists Zadie Smith, Nadeem Aslam, Hari Kunzru and David Mitchell, the the changes in narrative approaches and critical directions of a new post-1989 fiction are explored. Close readings of the writers are informed by a range of contemporary theorists, critics and commentators to reveal the emphases of twenty-first century fiction. Terror, fear, consumerism, multinationalism, and corporatism: the terms circulating in culture and social networks are evident in Smith's faith in ethical living, Aslam's consideration of multiculturalism, the novels Kunzru builds around the politics of identity and in the importance Mitchell places on the interconnectedness of human life. By putting the emergence of a new British literary dynamic in the context of ethical as well as global contexts, this study analyzes the transformed fictional perceptions of a world no longer defined by the stand off of super powers.
Release

Case Studies in Organizational Communication

Ethical Perspectives and Practices

Author: Steve May

Publisher: SAGE Publications

ISBN: 1483332756

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 384

View: 9785

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Second Edition of Case Studies in Organizational Communication: Ethical Perspectives and Practices, by Dr. Steve May, integrates ethical theory and practice to help strengthen readers' awareness, judgment, and action in organizations by exploring ethical dilemmas in a diverse range of well-known business cases.
Release

Cosmopolitan Novel

Author: Berthold Schoene

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748640835

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 216

View: 9554

DOWNLOAD NOW »

While traditionally the novel has been seen as tracking the development of the nation state, Schoene queries if globalisation might currently be prompting the emergence of a new sub-genre of the novel that is adept at imagining global community. The book introduces a new generation of contemporary British writers (Rachel Cusk, Kiran Desai, Hari Kunzru, Jon McGregor and David Mitchell) whose work is read against that of established novelists Arundhati Roy, James Kelman and Ian McEwan. Each chapter explores a different theoretical key concept, including 'glocality', 'glomicity', 'tour du monde', 'connectivity' and 'compearance'. Key Features:* Defines the new genre of the 'cosmopolitan novel' by reading contemporary British fiction as responsive to new global socio-economic formations* Expands knowledge of world culture, national identity, literary creativity and political agency by introducing concepts from globalisation and cosmopolitan theory into literary studies * Explores debates on Britishness and 'the contemporary' with close reference to the fall of the Berlin Wall on 9/11/1989 and the World Trade Centre attacks on 11/9/2001 * Introduces a new generation of British writers within a complex global context by drawing on Jean-Luc Nancy's work on community and creative world-formation
Release