Ghostwritten

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN: 0307426025

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 5254

DOWNLOAD NOW »

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks and Cloud Atlas A gallery attendant at the Hermitage. A young jazz buff in Tokyo. A crooked British lawyer in Hong Kong. A disc jockey in Manhattan. A physicist in Ireland. An elderly woman running a tea shack in rural China. A cult-controlled terrorist in Okinawa. A musician in London. A transmigrating spirit in Mongolia. What is the common thread of coincidence or destiny that connects the lives of these nine souls in nine far-flung countries, stretching across the globe from east to west? What pattern do their linked fates form through time and space? A writer of pyrotechnic virtuosity and profound compassion, a mind to which nothing human is alien, David Mitchell spins genres, cultures, and ideas like gossamer threads around and through these nine linked stories. Many forces bind these lives, but at root all involve the same universal longing for connection and transcendence, an axis of commonality that leads in two directions—to creation and to destruction. In the end, as lives converge with a fearful symmetry, Ghostwritten comes full circle, to a point at which a familiar idea—that whether the planet is vast or small is merely a matter of perspective—strikes home with the force of a new revelation. It marks the debut of a writer of astonishing gifts.
Release

Ghostwritten: a novel

Author: David Mitchell

Publisher: J S

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 5215

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A magnificent achievement and an utterly engrossing experience, Ghostwritten is a novel set at the fugitive edges of Asia and Europe, featuring a whole host of characters. An apocalyptic cult member carries out a gas attack on a rush-hour metro, but what connects him to a jazz buff in downtown Tokyo? A woman on a holy mountain talks to a tree - and the tree talks back - unaware of the effect the financial irregularities of a burnt-out lawyer will have on her life. A Mongolian gangster, a redundant English spy in Saint Petersburg with a knack for forging masterpieces, a despondent 'zookeeper', a nuclear scientist, a ghostwriter, a ghost, and a late night New York DJ whose hard-boiled scepticism has been his undoing - all have tales to tell. Add to this saxophones and causality, Buddha, cherry blossoms, island cities, a mind unhooked from memory, the Trans Siberian Express, hidden narratives of the new world's order, circles and roulette in London, 'The White Album', Baggins...
Release

Ghostwritten

Author: Isabel Wolff

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007455070

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 1465

DOWNLOAD NOW »

She listens to everyone else’s story, but can she find her own? Perfect for fans of The Tea Planter’s Daughter, The Railway Man and The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Release

Outsource Your Book

Your Guide to Getting Your Business Book Ghostwritten, Published and Launched

Author: Alinka Rutkowska

Publisher: Leaders Press

ISBN: 9781943386406

Category:

Page: 150

View: 4144

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Do you want to get your book out without lifting a finger? Outsource Your Book shares the secrets of a USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author on how to hire experts to write, publish, and launch your bestseller. Warning: reading this book and following the advice within can result in having your name on a bestselling book and on top of the charts! Discover the 17 steps (known only by bestselling authors) to going from a book idea to a six-figure funnel including: how to position your book so that it's a bestseller - you have to do this before it's written; where to hire a pro to craft a clever book outline; how to hire the right interviewer who can get your ideas out of your head; how to turn your ideas into a masterfully crafted manuscript; the three different types of editing, and which ones you need; how and where to hire for the interior layout and formatting of your book; where to hire a designer for an attention-grabbing cover, and why the right cover can make or break your book sales; how to optimize your book for online sales so that it pops up on top of any search results; where to find the pros to launch your book to bestseller status, and to reach libraries and foreign markets; and much more! Outsource Your Book answers the following question: How do I turn my business book idea into a bestseller by hiring out? Scroll up to grab your copy now and discover the 17 steps to becoming an authority, building credibility, preparing for a consultancy, and leaving a legacy. Your book awaits you!
Release

David Mitchell

Critical Essays

Author: Sarah Dillon

Publisher: Gylphi Limited

ISBN: 1780240031

Category:

Page: 264

View: 3673

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The outcome of the first international conference on David Mitchell's writing, this collection of critical essays focuses on his first three novels - 'Ghostwritten', 'number9dream' and 'Cloud Atlas' - to provide an analysis of Mitchell's complex narrative techniques and the literary, political and cultural implications of his work.
Release

GHOST WRITTEN BY PICARD THE CAT

Author: Donald I. Templeman

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595811014

Category: Fiction

Page: 108

View: 6394

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the descriptive styles which mirror 19th Century Romanticism to the bold starkness of contemporary dialects, these stories offer myriad insights into the many facets of the masculine soul. These are not cat stories. Well actually there is one. But for the most part this is a collection of first person narratives in short fiction which are certain to leave the reader begging to dialogue with every page. As with his powerful and imaginative science fiction novels, The Last Champion of Earth and The Planet of Mortal Worship, Donald Templeman entertains, stuns and unveils lurid insights into the human condition with every keystroke. "Author Templeman is a skilled writer and accomplished storyteller"-WRITER'S DIGEST 12TH ANNUAL BOOK AWARDS
Release

A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell

Author: Patrick O'Donnell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 1441116133

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 3670

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Having emerged as one the leading contemporary British writers, David Mitchell is rapidly taking his place amongst British novelists with the gravitas of an Ishiguro or a McEwan. Written for a wide constituency of readers of contemporary literature, A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell explores Mitchell's main concerns-including those of identity, history, language, imperialism, childhood, the environment, and ethnicity-across the six novels published so far, as well as his protean ability to write in multiple and diverse genres. It places Mitchell in the tradition of Murakami, Sebald, and Rushdie-writers whose works explore narrative in an age of globalization and cosmopolitanism. Patrick O'Donnell traces the through-lines of Mitchell's work from ghostwritten to The Bone Clocks and, with a chapter on each of the six novels, charts the evolution of Mitchell's fictional project.
Release

Jack the Ripper and Black Magic

Victorian Conspiracy Theories, Secret Societies and the Supernatural Mystique of the Whitechapel Murders

Author: Spiro Dimolianis

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 0786484721

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 236

View: 3113

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jack the Ripper is a gothic tale of Victorian conspiracies, the supernatural, secret societies and the police. Scotland Yard hunted a serial killer shrouded in politics as the mutilator of East End prostitutes infused pop culture with demonic horror. This book uses historic sources and rare official reports to reveal dark and supernatural aspects of the Ripper case.
Release