Did the Greeks Believe in Their Myths?

An Essay on the Constitutive Imagination

Author: Paul Veyne

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 9780226854342

Category: History

Page: 161

View: 4339

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"[Veyne's] present book has some kinship with his sprightly theoretical work Comment on ecrit l'histoire; and he declares that its aim was to provoke reflection on the way our conception of truth is built up and changes over the centuries. . . . The style is brilliant and exhilarating."—Jasper Griffin, Times Literary Supplement
Release

Greek Notions of the Past in the Archaic and Classical Eras

Author: John Marincola

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748654666

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 9279

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This volume in The Edinburgh Leventis Studies series collects the papers presented at the sixth A. G. Leventis conference, It engages with new research and new approaches to the Greek past, and brings the fruits of that research to a wider audience.
Release

Sacred Economies

Buddhist Monasticism and Territoriality in Medieval China

Author: Michael J. Walsh

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN: 0231519931

Category: Religion

Page: 256

View: 3623

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Buddhist monasteries in medieval China employed a variety of practices to ensure their ascendancy and survival. Most successful was the exchange of material goods for salvation, as in the donation of land, which allowed monks to spread their teachings throughout China. By investigating a variety of socioeconomic spaces produced and perpetuated by Chinese monasteries, Michael J. Walsh reveals the "sacred economies" that shaped early Buddhism and its relationship with consumption and salvation. Centering his study on Tiantong, a Buddhist monastery that has thrived for close to seventeen centuries in southeast China, Walsh follows three main topics: the spaces monks produced, within and around which a community could pursue a meaningful existence; the social and economic avenues through which monasteries provided diverse sacred resources and secured the primacy of Buddhist teachings within an agrarian culture; and the nature of "transactive" participation within monastic spaces, which later became a fundamental component of a broader Chinese religiosity. Unpacking these sacred economies and repositioning them within the history of religion in China, Walsh encourages a different approach to the study of Chinese religion, emphasizing the critical link between religious exchange and the production of material culture.
Release

The Moon and Madness

Author: Niall McCrae

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN: 1845403304

Category: Medical

Page: 262

View: 3087

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Lunacy, the legendary notion of minds unhinged by the moon, continues to captivate the popular imagination. Although it violates the assumptions of modern science and psychiatry, such belief remains common among mental health workers. Furthermore, several studies have found a small, unexplained correlation between behaviour and the lunar cycle. The book is divided into two parts. It begins with a historical account of the lunacy concept, followed by an investigation of hypothetical mechanisms for a lunar effect.
Release

The Archaic

The Past in the Present

Author: Paul Bishop

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136633677

Category: Philosophy

Page: 272

View: 5506

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic. Defined as meaning 'old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Archē, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit. This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger). The Archaic also includes: studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew) a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanič) a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal). This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.
Release

Far From Minimal

Celebrating the Work and Influence of Philip R. Davies

Author: Duncan Burns,John W. Rogerson

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN: 0567313379

Category: Religion

Page: 576

View: 893

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Marking the 60th birthday of Professor Philip R. Davies, Dr. Duncan Burns and John W. Rogerson, his former student and colleague, respectively, aim to do him justice. They have comprised articles from their peers to reflect on the impact Professor Davies has made in three particular areas of study: Hebrew Bible, Qumran, and Paleastinian Archaeology; New Testament and Early Judaism; and Biblical Interpretation. The breadth of this volume aims to reflect the scope, interest, and influence of Professor Davies from the last 30 years.
Release

Fiction & Diction

Author: Gérard Genette

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 9780801480867

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 155

View: 9493

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Litteraturens aspekter beskrevet ud fra forskellige indfaldsvinkler med udgangspunkt i bl. a. Roman Jakobson's definitioner
Release

Memory and Urban Religion in the Ancient World

Author: Martin Bommas,Juliette Harrisson,Phoebe Roy

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 1441187588

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 272

View: 3065

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Memory and Urban Religion in the Ancient World brings together scholars and researchers working on memory and religion in ancient urban environments. Chapters explore topics relating to religious traditions and memory, and the multifunctional roles of architectural and geographical sites, mythical figures and events, literary works and artefacts. Pagan religions were often less static and more open to new influences than previously understood. One of the factors that shape religion is how fundamental elements are remembered as valuable and therefore preservable for future generations. Memory, therefore, plays a pivotal role when - as seen in ancient Rome during late antiquity - a shift of religions takes place within communities. The significance of memory in ancient societies and how it was promoted, prompted, contested and even destroyed is discussed in detail. This volume, the first of its kind, not only addresses the main cultures of the ancient world - Mesopotamia, Egypt, Greece and Rome - but also look at urban religious culture and funerary belief, and how concepts of ethnic religion were adapted in new religious environments.
Release

The Mechanics of Modernity in Europe and East Asia

Institutional Origins of Social Change and Stagnation

Author: Erik Ringmar

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134292635

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 256

View: 5984

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Why, from the eighteenth century onwards, did some countries embark on a path of sustained economic growth, while others stagnated? This text looks at the kind of institutions that are required in order for change to take place, and Ringmar concludes that for sustained development to be possible, change must be institutionalized. Taking a global view, Ringmar investigates the implications of his conclusion on issues facing the developing world today.
Release

Making Sense of Tantric Buddhism

History, Semiology, and Transgression in the Indian Traditions

Author: Christian K. Wedemeyer

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN: 0231530951

Category: Religion

Page: 336

View: 621

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Making Sense of Tantric Buddhism fundamentally rethinks the nature of the transgressive theories and practices of the Buddhist Tantric traditions, challenging the notion that the Tantras were "marginal" or primitive and situating them instead—both ideologically and institutionally—within larger trends in mainstream Buddhist and Indian culture. Critically surveying prior scholarship, Wedemeyer exposes the fallacies of attributing Tantric transgression to either the passions of lusty monks, primitive tribal rites, or slavish imitation of Saiva traditions. Through comparative analysis of modern historical narratives—that depict Tantrism as a degenerate form of Buddhism, a primal religious undercurrent, or medieval ritualism—he likewise demonstrates these to be stock patterns in the European historical imagination. Through close analysis of primary sources, Wedemeyer reveals the lived world of Tantric Buddhism as largely continuous with the Indian religious mainstream and deploys contemporary methods of semiotic and structural analysis to make sense of its seemingly repellent and immoral injunctions. Innovative, semiological readings of the influential Guhyasamaja Tantra underscore the text's overriding concern with purity, pollution, and transcendent insight—issues shared by all Indic religions—and a large-scale, quantitative study of Tantric literature shows its radical antinomianism to be a highly managed ritual observance restricted to a sacerdotal elite. These insights into Tantric scripture and ritual clarify the continuities between South Asian Tantrism and broader currents in Indian religion, illustrating how thoroughly these "radical" communities were integrated into the intellectual, institutional, and social structures of South Asian Buddhism.
Release