Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant

Tony Cliff's Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant is a great pick for any reader looking for a smart and foolhardy heroine...and globetrotting adventures.

Author: Tony Cliff

Publisher: First Second

ISBN: 9781626726963

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 176

View: 897

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Lovable ne'er-do-well Delilah Dirk is an adventurer for the 19th century. She has traveled to Japan, Indonesia, France, and even the New World. Using the skills she's picked up on the way, Delilah's adventures continue as she plots to rob a rich and corrupt Sultan in Constantinople. With the aid of her flying boat and her newfound friend, Selim, she evades the Sultan's guards, leaves angry pirates in the dust, and fights her way through the countryside. For Delilah, one adventure leads to the next in this thrilling and funny installment in her exciting life. Tony Cliff's Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant is a great pick for any reader looking for a smart and foolhardy heroine...and globetrotting adventures. A Publishers Weekly Best Children's Book of 2013 A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of 2013
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant

Nineteenth-century adventurer Delilah Dirk plots to rob a rich and corrupt sultan in Constantinople with the aid of her flying boat and her newfound friend, Selim.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: 1480627216

Category: Adventure stories

Page:

View: 191

Nineteenth-century adventurer Delilah Dirk plots to rob a rich and corrupt sultan in Constantinople with the aid of her flying boat and her newfound friend, Selim.
Categories: Adventure stories

Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules

Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules

Nineteenth-century adventurer Delilah Dirk is a master swordswoman who uses her skills to aid those in trouble. Follow Delilah and her friend Selim on adventures all over the world.

Author: Tony Cliff

Publisher: First Second Books

ISBN: 9781626728042

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 256

View: 995

Having survived a close shave in England, where she was falsely accused of spying for the French, Delilah has set out with her companion Selim for more agreeable adventures in central Asia. But when she stumbles on an artifact that may be a clue about the location of the legendary third pillar of Hercules, Delilah and Selim are drawn back to Europe on an Indiana-Jones-style archeological caper that pits her against a ruthless enemy . . . and forces her to team up with the most unlikely partner of all time: her sworn enemy, Jason Merrick, the man who framed her for espionage! From vast forgotten underground cities to an elaborate and shocking double-cross, Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules brings all the drama and excitement that fans of the series crave.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Delilah Dirk and the King s Shilling

Delilah Dirk and the King s Shilling

Tony Cliff. Q_ From the New York Times bestselling author of Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant and the KING'S SHILLING Tony Cliff so s o s and the () KING'S SHILLING. Front Cover.

Author: Tony Cliff

Publisher: First Second

ISBN: 9781626726901

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 272

View: 214

Globetrotting troublemaker Delilah Dirk and her loyal friend Selim are just minding their own business, peacefully raiding castles and traipsing across enemy lines, when they attract the unwanted attention of the English Army. Before they know it, Delilah and Selim have gotten themselves accused of espionage against the British crown! Delilah will do whatever it takes to clear her good name, be it sneaking, skirmishing, or even sword fighting... But can she bring herself to wear a pretty dress and have a nice cup of tea with her mother? Delilah Dirk may be defeated at last. By tulle...in Tony Cliff's Delilah Dirk and the King's Shilling.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Graphic Novels A Guide to Comic Books Manga and More 2nd Edition

Graphic Novels  A Guide to Comic Books  Manga  and More  2nd Edition

2016 HopeLarsonandRebeccaMock Delilah Dirk. ... In her first adventure she rescues Turkish tea-master Erdemoglu Selim, and he becomes duty-bound to follow her across Turkey, struggling to ... 1: Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant.

Author: Michael Pawuk

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440851360

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 719

View: 985

Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels, describing and organizing titles as well as providing information that will help librarians to build and balance their graphic novel collections and direct patrons to read-alikes. • Introduces users to approximately 1,000 currently popular graphic novels and manga • Organizes titles by genre, subgenre, and theme to facilitate finding read-alikes • Helps librarians build and balance their graphic novel collections
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules

Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules

It should be obvious, however, that the great bulk of this book–more so than The King's Shilling and perhaps more so than The Turkish Lieutenant–is composed of fantastical ingredients. Where the hull of this story occasionally trades ...

Author: Tony Cliff

Publisher: First Second

ISBN: 9781250216953

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 256

View: 527

Having survived a close shave in England, where she was falsely accused of spying for the French, Delilah has set out with her companion Selim for more agreeable adventures in central Asia. But when she stumbles on an artifact that may be a clue about the location of the legendary third pillar of Hercules, Delilah and Selim are drawn back to Europe on an Indiana-Jones-style archeological caper that pits her against a ruthless enemy who is murderously intent on preventing Delilah from speaking out against him. From vast forgotten underground cities to an elaborate and shocking double-cross, Tony Cliff's Delilah Dirk and the Pillars of Hercules brings all the drama and excitement that fans of the series crave.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Rick Steves Istanbul

Rick Steves Istanbul

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant (Tony Cliff, 2011). The first book in the Delilah Dirk series of graphic novels finds the Indiana Jonesesque heroine causing trouble in Constantinople. Istanbul for Kids (Burçak Gürün Muraben, ...

Author: Lale Surmen Aran

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781631213069

Category: Travel

Page: 437

View: 234

You can count on Rick Steves to tell you what you really need to know when traveling in Istanbul. Following Rick's self-guided tours, you'll experience the wonders of East and West in this fascinating city—the capital of two great empires. Explore one of the world's largest domed churches, haggle with merchants in the exotic Grand Bazaar, and discover the secrets of the sultan's harem in Topkapi Palace. Wander through monumental mosques, shop along sophisticated avenues, and watch whirling dervishes in action. Cruise the Bosphorus for a quick trip to Asia, and end the day relaxing in a Turkish bath. Rick's candid, humorous advice will guide you to good-value hotels and restaurants in delightful neighborhoods. You'll learn how to get around on the city's trams and ferries, and which sights are worth your time and money. More than just reviews and directions, a Rick Steves guidebook is a tour guide in your pocket.
Categories: Travel

Using Graphic Novels in the English Language Arts Classroom

Using Graphic Novels in the English Language Arts Classroom

Cliff, Tony (2013) Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant. New York: First Second. Selim is sent to interrogate a recently caught female thief. She loves the tea he brews for her and tells him her whole story. When Delilah Dirk escapes ...

Author: William Boerman-Cornell

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781350112704

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 224

View: 647

There is an increasing trend in teachers using graphic novels to get their students excited about reading and writing, using both original stories and adaptations of classic works by authors such as Homer, Shakespeare, and the Brontes. However, there is surprisingly little research available about which pedagogies and classroom practices are proven to be effective. This book draws on cutting-edge research, surveys and classroom observations to provide a set of effective methods for teaching with graphic novels in the secondary English language arts classroom. These methods can be applied to a broad base of uses ranging from understanding literary criticism, critical reading, multimodal composition, to learning literary devices like foreshadowing and irony. The book begins by looking at what English language arts teachers hope to achieve in the classroom. It then considers the affordances and constraints of using graphic novels to achieve these specific goals, using some of the most successful graphic novels as examples, including Maus; Persepolis; The Nameless City; and American Born Chinese and series such as Manga Shakespeare. Finally, it helps the teacher navigate through the planning process to figure out how to best use graphic novels in their own classroom. Drawing on their extensive teaching experience, the authors offer examples from real classrooms, suggested lesson plans, and a list of teachable graphic novels organized by purpose of teaching.
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction

Booklist s 1000 Best Young Adult Books since 2000

Booklist   s 1000 Best Young Adult Books since 2000

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant. illus. by tony Cliff. 2013. 176p. First second (9781596438132). gr. 6–12. Selim is used to being an overlooked and underpaid member of the Turkish Janissary Corps ...

Author: Gillian Engberg

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN: 9780838911501

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 360

View: 440

With the explosion in YA publishing, it’s harder than ever to separate good books from the rest. Booklistmagazine’s editors’ deep and broad knowledge of the landscape offers indispensable guidance, and here they bring together the very best of the best books for young adults published since the start of the 21st century. Drawing on the careful judgment of expert YA librarians, this book Includes a foreword by best-selling YA lit authority Michael Cart, who demonstrates how we have entered a new golden age of books for young adults Collects reviews which showcase the most stimulating contemporary YA titles Features an essay in each section, grouped by genre, presenting an overview and examining relevant trends Indexes selections by author, title, and genre for handy reference The thoughtful professional review coverage for which ALA’s Booklist is known makes this volume an ideal tool for YA readers’ advisory and collection development.
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

Promoting Great Reads to Improve Teen Reading Core Connections with Booktalks and More

Promoting Great Reads to Improve Teen Reading  Core Connections with Booktalks and More

Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant. New York: First Second, 2013. 167p. $15.99pa. ISBN 978159643813 2. [graphic] Appropriateness/Appeal: JS, CG Lexile: unavailable. The fearless Delilah rescues a reluctant Turkish lieutenant who ...

Author: Lucy Schall

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440834936

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 259

View: 579

Support current educational initiatives with a ready-to-use tool that will help you with selection, motivation, and skill building relative to titles published within the last five years. • Helps librarians promote new fiction and nonfiction to teens and to build literacy • Supports the new national and state standards through learning extensions • Offers read-alikes for titles popular with teens • Features skill-building exercises • Includes selection criteria that speak to appropriateness and appeal
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

Webcomics

Webcomics

... Noelle Stevenon's Nimona, and Tony Cliff's Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant all started as webcomics that were subsequently removed from the internet at their eventual respective publishers' insistence.

Author: Sean Kleefeld

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781350028197

Category: Art

Page: 272

View: 947

The first critical guide to cover the history, form and key critical issues of the medium, Webcomics helps readers explore the diverse and increasingly popular worlds of online comics. In an accessible and easy-to-navigate format, the book covers such topics as: ·The history of webcomics and how developments in technology from the 1980s onwards presented new opportunities for comics creators and audiences ·Cultural contexts – from the new financial and business models allowed by digital media to social justice causes in contemporary webcomics ·Key texts – from early examples of the form such as Girl Genius and Penny Arcade to popular current titles such as Questionable Content and Dumbing of Age ·Important theoretical and critical approaches to studying webcomics Webcomics includes a glossary of crucial critical terms, annotated guides to further reading, and online resources and discussion questions to help students and readers develop their understanding of the genre and pursue independent study.
Categories: Art

Crossover Readers Advisory Maximize Your Collection to Meet Reader Satisfaction

Crossover Readers  Advisory  Maximize Your Collection to Meet Reader Satisfaction

Readalikes: Scott Westerfeld's Leviathan trilogy, Delilah Dirk and the Turkish Lieutenant, and Alan Moore's League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. (print) Kelly, Joe, illustrated by J. M. Ken Niimura. I Kill Giants. 2009.

Author: Jessica E. Moyer

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440838477

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 182

View: 105

Help maximize your existing collection with this browsable volume containing titles that serve double-duty with their appeal to both teens and adults and cover genres spanning crime novels, romance, horror, science fiction, and more. • Features annotations that focus on reader appeal factors • Provides lists of titles as well as tips for using them with readers • Considers the appeal of various genres to adults and young adults • Acknowledges format availability, including various digital formats
Categories: Language Arts & Disciplines

The Illustrated London News

   The    Illustrated London News

Delilah , 2 . Woolchurch Haw , at the corner of Lombard - street , where the civic retired from the Bengal army in 1851 , after ... Mr. daisical half - Turkish lady , of doubtful country and costume , is here plaeed to the credit of the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: ONB:+Z25561260X

Category:

Page:

View: 960

Categories: