Defective Construction Work

and the Project Team

Author: Kevin Barrett

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 144430237X

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 224

View: 573

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Defective construction work, whether the result of inadequatedesign, faulty workmanship or poor materials – or somecombination of these failings – is a frequent cause of legaldisputes. Someone is usually to blame, either the builder or one ormore of the professional consultants, or even the entire projectteam. It is important therefore that the project team shouldpossess a good working knowledge of their responsibilities andliabilities. Written by a solicitor with over twenty years of experience ofbuilding disputes, this book examines the responsibilities andliabilities of the project team when defects occur. It sets out thebackground role of the common law and statute and includes detaileddiscussion of important case law affecting the construction processfrom inception through to completion, together with a considerationof the impact of letters of intent, 'no contract' situations, andspecific provisions of model conditions of contract.
Release

The Defective Detective in the Pulps

Author: Gary Hoppenstand,Ray B. Browne

Publisher: Popular Press

ISBN: 9780879722364

Category: Fiction

Page: 128

View: 3895

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The world of the defective detective was a strange one. Continuing the motif of the mythological hero, this unique detective type emerged in the 1930s in a very imperfect and threatened society. The stories reprinted in this volume reveal just how widely the genre ranged during the Depression.
Release

The Defective Version of Mandeville's Travels

Author: John (Mandeville),Sir John Mandeville,John Mandeville

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780197223222

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 234

View: 5788

DOWNLOAD NOW »

An edition of the earliest and most important English translation of the French text of Mandeville's Travels, the widely influential collection of travellers' tales. This volume also contains a full commentary with new information about the sources. Its name derives from the loss of the second quire in the Insular manuscript, or its antecedent, from which it was translated. Despite this loss, the Defective Version established itself as the dominant form of the work in England, and was perpetuated in the printed editions of the text until 1725.
Release

More Tales of the Defective Detective in the Pulps

Author: Gary Hoppenstand,Garyn G. Roberts,Ray Broadus Browne

Publisher: Popular Press

ISBN: 9780879723361

Category: Fiction

Page: 172

View: 1102

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This second collection of defective detective stories features some of the best of the period, including Russell Gray’s gimpy hero Ben Bryn, Edith and Ejler Jacobson’s hemophiliac gum-shoe Nat Perry, John Kobler’s glaucomatous troubleshooter Peter Quest, and Leon Byrne’s deaf detective Dan Holden.
Release

Defective Bosses

Working for the ”Dysfunctional Dozen”

Author: William Winston,Kerry D Carson,Paula P Carson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1135024146

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 190

View: 7383

DOWNLOAD NOW »

If you're one of the billions of people in the world who work for someone else, you'll definitely want to see what's inside Defective Bosses: Working for the “Dysfunctional Dozen.” This how-to, how-not-to, why, and why-not tour guide is packed to the hilt with a bevy of tested and proven survival skills and coping techniques for those of you who are trapped in that daily labyrinth of mind games and self-defeating work rituals--and all because of that slightly off-center superior you have to answer to every day. You'll find twelve of the most common defects presented to you in clear and understandable terms so you can detect the defect, protect state of mind, and correct the problem before your life at the office becomes a complete wreck. Firmly grounded in psychiatric literature, Defective Bosses takes you to levels of workplace happiness that other similar publications fail to reach. In contrast to other books that lack a solid theoretical base, this comprehensive, systematic look at dysfunctional bosses takes an in-depth look at twelve of the most prevalent disorders managers and superiors inflict on their employees in the workplace, giving equal treatment to each category and providing you with equal strategies for each situation you might encounter. These and other areas will help you turn your dead-end job into a dream occupation: an overview of why we have defective bosses dealing with self-centered bosses (narcissistic, sociopathic, paranoid, and histrionic) handling controlling bosses (authoritarian, obsessive-compulsive, explosive, and passive-aggressive) living with neurotic bosses (masochistic, dependent, depressive, anxious) end-of-the-chapter quizzes to help you diagnose your own boss “I need it yesterday!” “Can you handle this for me? I've got the company lunch.” “If you don't get this in, it's your job!” If these are all-too-common phrases in your workplace, then you need to make a memo to yourself to order Defective Bosses. Its thorough psychological base and examples gleaned from real-life scenarios will give you so much guidance, advice, and direction for positive change, you'll find that you're the boss when it comes to good departmental relationships and a more mutually enjoyable work environment.
Release

The Defective Copy Theory of Movement

Evidence from wh-constructions in Cape Verdean Creole

Author: Nélia Alexandre

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

ISBN: 9027274894

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 249

View: 9843

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Within the framework of Chomsky’s Principles and Parameters Theory and the Minimalist Program, this work presents a detailed discussion of the different types of wh-question formation and relativization strategies in Cape Verdean Creole (Santiago variety), especially focusing on wh-movement of PPs. The book explores the Copy Theory of Movement, discussing a defective copy construction involving wh-movement of PPs which poses interesting theoretical questions as to how the defective copy is to be generated and form a chain with the relevant displaced wh-constituent. It is also shown that the defective copy strategy ([wh[PL] ... el[3SG]]) is distinct from resumption ([wh[PL] ... es[3PL]]) due to some properties of PPs in Cape Verdean Creole and to the nature of the pronominal element that occurs at the foot of the wh-chain. This book relates well with those on Cape Verdean Creole and highlights the need to look more closely at deeper syntactic issues in more creole languages, inspiring further comparative work amongst creole linguists.
Release

Girl Defective

Author: Simmone Howell

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442497629

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 8029

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the tradition of High Fidelity and Empire Records, this is the literary soundtrack to Skylark Martin’s strange, mysterious, and extraordinary summer. This is the story of a wild girl and a ghost girl; a boy who knew nothing and a boy who thought he knew everything. It’s a story about Skylark Martin, who lives with her father and brother in a vintage record shop and is trying to find her place in the world. It’s about ten-year-old Super Agent Gully and his case of a lifetime. And about beautiful, reckless, sharp-as-knives Nancy. It’s about tragi-hot Luke, and just-plain-tragic Mia Casey. It’s about the dark underbelly of a curious Australian neighborhood. It’s about summer, and weirdness, and mystery, and music. And it’s about life and death and grief and romance. All the good stuff.
Release

The Minimalist Syntax of Defective Domains

Gerunds and infinitives

Author: Acrisio Pires

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

ISBN: 9027293155

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 188

View: 5350

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book unifies the analysis of certain non-finite domains, focusing on subject licensing, agreement, and Case and control. It proposes a minimalist analysis of English gerunds which allows only a null subject PRO (TP-defective gerunds), a lexical subject (gerunds as complements of perception verbs), or both types of subjects (clausal gerunds). It then analyzes Portuguese infinitives, showing that the morphosyntactic properties of non-inflected and inflected infinitives correlate with distinct treatments of obligatory and non-obligatory control. It explores these and other phenomena to show that tense and event binding do not correlate with the contrast between control and raising/exceptional case marking (ECM), against null Case theories of control. A Probe-Goal approach to Case and agreement is adopted in combination with a movement analysis of control. The book then investigates diachronic morphosyntactic phenomena involving infinitives, verb movement and cliticization in Portuguese, exploring a cue-based theory of syntactic change grounded in language acquisition.
Release

Defective Writing

Short Paradoxist Prose

Author: Florentin Smarandache

Publisher: Infinite Study

ISBN: 8190219081

Category: Paradoxism (Arts)

Page: 110

View: 9196

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book is a collection of experimental short prose related to Paradoxism, an international movement in literature, arts, science, etc. based on excessive use of antitheses, antinomies, contradictions, oxymoron, paradoxes in creation, set up by the author in 1980.It is an upside-down writing of ?non-prose?, entangled grammatical rules, hybrid style, with rebus crosswords and mathematical or chemical formulas and graphs or pictures getting their place in the literary prose, with mixed classical fairy tales, invented children language, computer chart narration?where Smarandache is a great? story anti-teller.
Release