Dead Man Running

Dead Man Running

Alex McKnight--hero of Steve Hamilton's bestselling, award-winning, and beloved private eye series--is back in a high-stakes, nail-biting thriller, facing the most dangerous enemy he's ever encountered.

Author: Steve Hamilton

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780399574450

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 722

Alex McKnight--hero of Steve Hamilton's bestselling, award-winning, and beloved private eye series--is back in a high-stakes, nail-biting thriller, facing the most dangerous enemy he's ever encountered. On the Mediterranean Sea, a vacationer logs on to the security-camera feed from his home in Scottsdale, Arizona. Something about his living room seems not quite right--the room is bright, when he's certain he'd left the curtains closed. Rewinding through the feed, he sees an intruder. When he shifts to the bedroom camera, he sees the dead body. Martin T. Livermore is the key suspect in the abduction and murder of at least five women, but he's never been this sloppy before. When the FBI finally catches him in Scottsdale, he declares he'll only talk to one person: a retired police officer from Detroit, now a private investigator living in the tiny town of Paradise, Michigan. A man named Alex McKnight. Livermore means nothing to McKnight, but it soon becomes clear McKnight means something to Livermore...and that Livermore's capture was only the beginning of an elaborate, twisted plot with McKnight at the center. In a hunt that will take him across the country and to the edge of his limits, McKnight fights to stop a vicious killer before he can exact his ultimate revenge. And his grand finale will cut closer to home than he ever could have imagined.
Categories: Fiction

Words on Cassette 2002

Words on Cassette 2002

Author: R R Bowker Publishing

Publisher: R. R. Bowker

ISBN: 0835245160

Category: Reference

Page: 4891

View: 269

Categories: Reference

A Stolen Season

A Stolen Season

With Alex McKnight on the rescue mission, the passengers are brought safely to shore. Alex figures the story's over...but he's dead wrong.

Author: Steve Hamilton

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN: 9781429958660

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 169

Edgar Award–winner Steve Hamilton takes his acclaimed series to new heights in A Stolen Season. If you thought you knew Alex McKnight and how far he'll go for the people he cares about . . . think again. On a freezing night in Michigan's Upper Peninsula, a night that wouldn't feel so unusual if it weren't the Fourth of July, a boat plows full speed into a line of old railroad pilings in the shallow water of Waishkey Bay. After Alex helps rescue the passengers, he figures he'll never see them again. He couldn't be more wrong. The men he saved are connected to a deadly drug-smuggling syndicate and it's up to Alex to do damage control—and protect the woman he loves—before the cycle of violence comes around full circle.
Categories: Fiction

The Bounty

The Bounty

In the latest instant New York Times bestseller in the Fox O’Hare series, FBI agent Kate O’Hare and charming criminal Nick Fox race against time to uncover a buried train filled with Nazi gold—from the #1 New York Times bestselling ...

Author: Janet Evanovich

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982157142

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 579

In the latest instant New York Times bestseller in the Fox O’Hare series, FBI agent Kate O’Hare and charming criminal Nick Fox race against time to uncover a buried train filled with Nazi gold—from the #1 New York Times bestselling author Janet Evanovich. Straight as an arrow special agent Kate O’Hare and international criminal Nick Fox have brought down some of the biggest bad guys out there. But now they face their most dangerous foe yet—a vast, shadowy international organization known only as the Brotherhood. Directly descended from the Vatican Bank priests who served Hitler during World War II, the Brotherhood is on a frantic search for a lost train loaded with $30 billion in Nazi gold, untouched for over seventy-five years somewhere in the mountains of Eastern Europe. Kate and Nick know that there is only one man who can find the fortune and bring down the Brotherhood—the same man who taught Nick everything he knows—his father, Quentin. As the stakes get higher, they must also rely on Kate’s own father, Jake, who shares his daughter’s grit and stubbornness. Too bad they can never agree on anything. From a remote monastery in the Swiss Alps to the lawless desert of the Western Sahara, Kate, Nick, and the two men who made them who they are today must crisscross the world in a desperate scramble to stop their deadliest foe in the biggest adventure of their lives.
Categories: Fiction

Words on Cassette

Words on Cassette

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015046817022

Category: Audiobooks

Page: 2344

View: 657

Categories: Audiobooks

TV Gothic

TV Gothic

Adapted from a 1947 short story Night of the Storm by McKnight Malmar, Merwin Gerard's teleplay has everything ... when Kate attempts to make her escape using her sister's station wagon, only to discover that Susan's body has by now ...

Author: Howard Maxford

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9781476645537

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 417

View: 131

Most horror film fans are familiar with the movie classics, from the early Universal archetypes to the Hammer landmarks--all of which have been celebrated in countless books and magazines. But what about the parallel universe of television horror? The series, made-for-TV-movies and specials? With detailed coverage of shows from Britain, America and Europe, this book chronicles the small-screen appearances of Dracula and Frankenstein's monster, adaptations of stories by Edgar Allan Poe and M.R. James, performances of beloved stars like Boris Karloff and Vincent Price, groundbreaking series like The Television Ghost, Lights Out and Dark Shadows, and such memorable movies as The Night Stalker, The Norliss Tapes and Salem's Lot, along with unearthed gems like The Ghost of Sierra de Cobre and Mrs. Amworth. The work of such key directors as Dan Curtis and Lawrence Gordon Clark is also examined.
Categories: Performing Arts

Library Journal

Library Journal

Obituary writer Billy Povich is out to avenge his dead wife , but jury dury for a murder trial changes his plans . ... M Trouble seems to find Alex McKnight , exDetroit cop who has retreated to Paradise in Michigan's Upper Peninsula to ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015066122840

Category: Libraries

Page:

View: 944

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.
Categories: Libraries

Something to Die For

Something to Die For

Praise for the Ryan Drake series ‘It doesn’t let up for a moment’ Shots Magazine ‘This is a heart-stopper for anyone who likes plenty of action and explosions’ Daily Mail

Author: Will Jordan

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788637169

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 730

“This is how it ends. No more running. No second chances.” Time has run out for Ryan Drake. Most of his friends are dead or disappeared. Corrupt CIA Director Marcus Cain is poised to ascend to the highest levels of power, and the shadowy group known as the Circle is causing chaos across the globe. But one shred of hope remains. A message hidden by his mother shortly before her death launches Drake and his sister Jessica on a desperate race against time. But they aren’t the only ones tracking down the answers... Meanwhile Drake’s estranged ally, Anya, embarks on a mission of her own, driven by murderous vengeance. The trail of bodies left in her wake attracts powerful enemies, threatening the delicate balance that holds the world in check. A climactic showdown awaits, where Drake must question everything if he is to defeat the enemy within. The epic conclusion to Ryan Drake’s mission from a master of the action thriller, perfect for fans of Robert Ludlum and Vince Flynn. Praise for the Ryan Drake series ‘It doesn’t let up for a moment’ Shots Magazine ‘This is a heart-stopper for anyone who likes plenty of action and explosions’ Daily Mail
Categories: Fiction

The Bibliography of Crime Fiction 1749 1975

The Bibliography of Crime Fiction  1749 1975

Author: Allen J. Hubin

Publisher: [San Diego] : University Extension, University of California, San Diego

ISBN: UOM:39015004043702

Category: American fiction

Page: 697

View: 987

Categories: American fiction