Cooperation in Economy and Society

Author: Robert C. Marshall

Publisher: Rowman Altamira

ISBN: 075911983X

Category: Social Science

Page: 318

View: 5560

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book explores the burgeoning interest in human cooperation among anthropologists, political scientists, economists, evolutionary psychologists, and biologists. Though typically neglected, cooperation is a crucial part of the triangle of allocation, formed with competition and obedience.
Release

Cooperation and Community

Economy and Society in Oaxaca

Author: Jeffrey H. Cohen

Publisher: University of Texas Press

ISBN: 0292789785

Category: Social Science

Page: 224

View: 9263

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In the villages and small towns of Oaxaca, Mexico, as in much of rural Latin America, cooperation among neighbors is essential for personal and community survival. It can take many forms, from godparenting to sponsoring fiestas, holding civic offices, or exchanging agricultural or other kinds of labor. This book examines the ways in which the people of Santa Ana del Valle practice these traditional cooperative and reciprocal relationships and also invent new relationships to respond to global forces of social and economic change at work within their community. Based on fieldwork he conducted in this Zapotec-speaking community between 1992 and 1996, Jeffrey Cohen describes continuities in the Santañeros' practices of cooperation, as well as changes resulting from transnational migration, tourism, increasing educational opportunities, and improved communications. His nuanced portrayal of the benefits and burdens of cooperation is buttressed by the words of many villagers who explain why and how they participate-or not-in reciprocal family and community networks. This rich ethnographic material offers a working definition of community created in and through cooperative relationships.
Release

Social Regeneration and Local Development

Cooperation, Social Economy and Public Participation

Author: Silvia Sacchetti,Asimina Christoforou,Michele Mosca

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1315302454

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 308

View: 7121

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Social regeneration is about the transformative processes that, through institutional choices that embody cooperation and inclusion, develop opportunities and capabilities for weak categories, and transversally for society. The challenge of social regeneration can be addressed, in part, through organisational solutions increasingly identified with social economy organisations, since they are characterised by a social objective, cooperation and inclusive democratic governance. Besides the organisational element, Social Regeneration and Local Development provides a new perspective on interacting socio-economic factors, which can work in synergy with the social economy organisations model to promote and sustain social regeneration and well-being. Such elements include civic engagement and social capital, the nature of the welfare system, the use of physical assets in urban and rural areas, leadership, technology, and finance. By analysing organisational and contextual elements, this book offers an institutional perspective on how socio-economic systems can reply to challenges such as social and environmental degradation, financial crises, immigration, inequality, and marginalisation.
Release

Innovation and the Social Economy

The Quebec Experience

Author: Marie J. Bouchard

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 1442695102

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 296

View: 3962

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Social economy organizations such as cooperatives, non-profits, mutual benefit groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations are uniquely positioned to respond not only to emerging social and economic needs, but also to new collective aspirations. In Québec, for instance, a pioneering social economy system has been developed that is recognized worldwide for its ability to foster innovative solutions to economic disparity and sustainability issues. In the wake of a global crisis that has emphasized the growing gap between economic and social concerns, what can other regions gain from this model? Through robust theoretical and in-depth empirical studies, this book offers the first opportunity to English-language readers to learn about the Québec experience of a social economy system. It takes stock of recent developments in the province relating to policy planning, governance, financing, local development, and legal frameworks. Innovation and the Social Economy also emphasizes this system’s potential for exploring alternative practices of production, consumption, and distribution that can foster social transformation.
Release

Religion, Economy, and Cooperation

Author: Ilkka Pyysiäinen

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter

ISBN: 3110246333

Category: Social Science

Page: 247

View: 3918

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This volume addresses the issue of religion and economy in the evolution of human cooperation. Both religious practices and economic behaviour create and sustain intra-group cooperation by providing people with common goals and values. Even if individuals are selfish maximizers of utility, in the end everybody benefits from being part of a cooperative community, the market. The rules of the market are the invisible hand which turns selfishness into cooperation. In the same way, God beliefs constrain individual selfishness and ensure cooperation within the group.
Release

Economic Development

An Anthropological Approach

Author: Jeffrey Harris Cohen,Norbert Dannhaeuser

Publisher: Rowman Altamira

ISBN: 9780759102125

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 298

View: 5023

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Economic development is an important focus of anthropological work in rural and urban communities around the world, and in this volume the contributors offer expert analyses on the theory and practice of development. Chapters cover the key topics of market systems, agricultural knowledge, modernization, population growth, participatory development, conservation strategies, culturally sustainable development, globalization and privatization, tourism, urban development, and financial markets. The cross-cultural focus of the volume provides original data on development processes in many countries, including the Philippines, Bali, Costa Rica, Mexico, Honduras, Venezuela, Kazakstan, and the United States. The book will be a welcome source of comparative research for anthropologists, development specialists, agricultural researchers, environmentalists, and geographers. Published in cooperation with the Society for Economic Anthropology. Visit their web page.
Release

Soul, Self, and Society

The New Morality and the Modern State

Author: Edward L. Rubin

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199348677

Category: Political Science

Page: 336

View: 6929

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Political and social commentators regularly bemoan the decline of morality in the modern world. They claim that the norms and values that held society together in the past are rapidly eroding, to be replaced by permissiveness and empty hedonism. But as Edward Rubin demonstrates in this powerful account of moral transformations, these prophets of doom are missing the point. Morality is not diminishing; instead, a new morality, centered on an ethos of human self-fulfillment, is arising to replace the old one. As Rubin explains, changes in morality have gone hand in hand with changes in the prevailing mode of governance throughout the course of Western history. During the Early Middle Ages, a moral system based on honor gradually developed. In a dangerous world where state power was declining, people relied on bonds of personal loyalty that were secured by generosity to their followers and violence against their enemies. That moral order, exemplified in the early feudal system and in sagas like The Song of Roland, The Song of the Cid, and the Arthurian legends has faded, but its remnants exist today in criminal organizations like the Mafia and in the rap music of the urban ghettos. When state power began to revive in the High Middle Ages through the efforts of the European monarchies, and Christianity became more institutionally effective and more spiritually intense, a new morality emerged. Described by Rubin as the morality of higher purposes, it demanded that people devote their personal efforts to achieving salvation and their social efforts to serving the emerging nation-states. It insisted on social hierarchy, confined women to subordinate roles, restricted sex to procreation, centered child-rearing on moral inculcation, and countenanced slavery and the marriage of pre-teenage girls to older men. Our modern era, which began in the late 18th century, has seen the gradual erosion of this morality of higher purposes and the rise of a new morality of self-fulfillment, one that encourages individuals to pursue the most meaningful and rewarding life-path. Far from being permissive or a moral abdication, it demands that people respect each other's choices, that sex be mutually enjoyable, that public positions be allocated according to merit, and that society provide all its members with their minimum needs so that they have the opportunity to fulfill themselves. Where people once served the state, the state now functions to serve the people. The clash between this ascending morality and the declining morality of higher purposes is the primary driver of contemporary political and cultural conflict. A sweeping, big-idea book in the vein of Francis Fukuyama's The End of History, Charles Taylor's The Secular Age, and Richard Sennett's The Fall of Public Man, Edward Rubin's new volume promises to reshape our understanding of morality, its relationship to government, and its role in shaping the emerging world of High Modernity.
Release

Education and the Economy in a Changing Society

Author: Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (Paris),Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development,OECD Staff,Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Staff,Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, Paris (France).

Publisher: Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development ; Washington, D.C. : OECD Publications and Information Centre

ISBN: N.A

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 117

View: 3607

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Reports on the discussions and conclusions of an OECD conference on the need to adjust educational systems to reflect economic and social changes. A political consensus was reached internationally in identifying problems and approaches to their solutions.
Release

The Origins of David Hume's Economics

Author: Willie Henderson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136948406

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 20

View: 1589

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The author argues that analysis of the arguments of the Hume's Treatise throws light on Hume’s later economic, political and historical work.
Release