Complex Litigation

Problems in Advanced Civil Procedure

Author: Jay Tidmarsh,Roger H. Trangsrud

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781566628853

Category: Law

Page: 304

View: 1731

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Offers concepts of and insights into the forms and functions of complex litigation issues, including their implications. Helps students in such courses to review and study, as well as serves as a reference book for students once they are in practice.
Release

A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court

Author: Brandt Goldstein,Rodger Citron,Molly Beutz Land

Publisher: Aspen Publishers

ISBN: N.A

Category: Law

Page: 273

View: 8301

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court, using key litigation documents, leads the reader through the high-profile lawsuit chronicled in Storming the Court, a nonfiction title by Brandt Goldstein that tracks the lawsuit filed by human rights lawyers and Yale law students on behalf of Haitian refugees detained at the American Navy base in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba. Following in the tradition of books such as The Buffalo Creek Disaster and A Civil Action, Storming the Court is an engaging, easy-to-read account of a complex civil trial in which law students play many of the key roles. Meticulously documented to make moving between the original book and the companion trouble-free, this lively, accessible book will provoke energetic discussion and debate among your students. Suitable for use in any civil procedure course, the documentary companion: Uses the real case to illustrate a wide array of important legal concepts , particularly those taught in first-year civil procedure Includes key litigation documents and other original materials from the case along with notes, comments, hypotheticals, and questions that serve as excellent teaching tools Features photos of the key characters in the lawsuit and of the naval base at Guantanamo Bay, which further enhances the realism for students What better way to bring litigation to life for your students and help them understand what the concepts and rules look like in practice than to follow a complex trial step-by-step. A Documentary Companion to Storming the Court takes a gripping and extremely readable book and turns it into a powerful teaching tool.
Release

Life Care Planning and Case Management Handbook, Third Edition

Author: Roger O. Weed

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN: 1439828458

Category: Medical

Page: 872

View: 9267

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Life Care Planning and Case Management Handbook, Second Edition brings together the many concepts, beliefs, and procedures regarding life care plans into one state-of-the-art publication. This second edition of a bestseller is focused on prioritizing and managing the spectrum of services for people with serious medical problems and their families. Keeping up with advances in the field, this is the most comprehensive reference for everyone concerned with coordinating, evaluating, assessing, and monitoring care.
Release

Tort Law and the Legislature

Common Law, Statute and the Dynamics of Legal Change

Author: T.T. Arvind,Jenny Steele

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 1782250557

Category: Law

Page: 546

View: 5361

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The study of the law of tort is generally preoccupied by case law, while the fundamental impact of legislation is often overlooked. At a jurisprudential level there is an unspoken view that legislation is generally piecemeal and at best self-contained and specific; at worst dependent on the whim of political views at a particular time. With a different starting point, this volume seeks to test such notions, illustrating, among other things, the widespread and lasting influence of legislation on the shape and principles of the law of tort; the variety of forms of legislation and the complex nature of political and policy concerns that may lie behind their enactment; the sometimes unexpected consequences of statutory reform; and the integration not only of statutory rules but also of legislative policy into the operation of tort law today. The apparently sharp distinction between judicially created private law principles, and democratically enacted legislative rules and policies, is therefore questioned, and it is argued that to describe the principles of the law of tort without referring to statute is potentially highly misleading. This book shows that legislation is important not only because of the way it varies or replaces case law, but because it also deeply influences the intrinsic character of that law, providing some of its most familiar characteristics. The book provides the first extended interpretation of legislative intervention in the law of tort. Each of the chapters, by leading tort scholars, deals with an aspect of the influence of legislation on the law of tort. While the nature, sources and extent of legislative influence in personal injury law is an essential feature of the collection, other significant areas of tort law are explored, including tort in the context of commercial law, labour law, regulation and the welfare state. Essays on the Compensation Act 2006 and Human Rights Act 1998 bring the current state of the interplay between tort, politics and legislation to the forefront. In all of these contexts, contributors explore the deeper lessons that can be learned about the nature of the law of tort and its changing role and functions over time. Cited with approval in the Singapore Court of Appeal by VK Rajah JA in See Toh Siew Kee vs Ho Ah Lam Ferrocement (Pte) Ltd and others, [2013] SGCA 29
Release

Law, Hermeneutics and Rhetoric

Author: Professor Francis J Mootz III

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 1409481921

Category: Law

Page: 492

View: 4875

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mootz offers an antidote to the fragmentation of contemporary legal theory with a collection of essays arguing that legal practice is a hermeneutical and rhetorical event that can best be understood and theorized in those terms. This is not a modern insight that wipes away centuries of dogmatic confusion; rather, Mootz draws on insights as old as the Western tradition itself. However, the essays are not antiquarian or merely descriptive, because hermeneutical and rhetorical philosophy have undergone important changes over the millennia. To "return" to hermeneutics and rhetoric as touchstones for law is to embrace dynamic traditions that provide the resources for theorists who seek to foster persuasion and understanding as an antidote to the emerging global order and the trend toward bureaucratization in accordance with expert administration, violent suppression, or both.
Release