Complex Analysis

Author: Elias M. Stein,Rami Shakarchi

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400831156

Category: Mathematics

Page: 400

View: 4247

DOWNLOAD NOW »

With this second volume, we enter the intriguing world of complex analysis. From the first theorems on, the elegance and sweep of the results is evident. The starting point is the simple idea of extending a function initially given for real values of the argument to one that is defined when the argument is complex. From there, one proceeds to the main properties of holomorphic functions, whose proofs are generally short and quite illuminating: the Cauchy theorems, residues, analytic continuation, the argument principle. With this background, the reader is ready to learn a wealth of additional material connecting the subject with other areas of mathematics: the Fourier transform treated by contour integration, the zeta function and the prime number theorem, and an introduction to elliptic functions culminating in their application to combinatorics and number theory. Thoroughly developing a subject with many ramifications, while striking a careful balance between conceptual insights and the technical underpinnings of rigorous analysis, Complex Analysis will be welcomed by students of mathematics, physics, engineering and other sciences. The Princeton Lectures in Analysis represents a sustained effort to introduce the core areas of mathematical analysis while also illustrating the organic unity between them. Numerous examples and applications throughout its four planned volumes, of which Complex Analysis is the second, highlight the far-reaching consequences of certain ideas in analysis to other fields of mathematics and a variety of sciences. Stein and Shakarchi move from an introduction addressing Fourier series and integrals to in-depth considerations of complex analysis; measure and integration theory, and Hilbert spaces; and, finally, further topics such as functional analysis, distributions and elements of probability theory.
Release

Functional Analysis

Introduction to Further Topics in Analysis

Author: Elias M. Stein,Rami Shakarchi

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 0691113874

Category: Mathematics

Page: 423

View: 1391

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"This book covers such topics as Lp̂ spaces, distributions, Baire category, probability theory and Brownian motion, several complex variables and oscillatory integrals in Fourier analysis. The authors focus on key results in each area, highlighting their importance and the organic unity of the subject"--Provided by publisher.
Release

Fourier Analysis

An Introduction

Author: Elias M. Stein,Rami Shakarchi

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400831237

Category: Mathematics

Page: 328

View: 9553

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This first volume, a three-part introduction to the subject, is intended for students with a beginning knowledge of mathematical analysis who are motivated to discover the ideas that shape Fourier analysis. It begins with the simple conviction that Fourier arrived at in the early nineteenth century when studying problems in the physical sciences--that an arbitrary function can be written as an infinite sum of the most basic trigonometric functions. The first part implements this idea in terms of notions of convergence and summability of Fourier series, while highlighting applications such as the isoperimetric inequality and equidistribution. The second part deals with the Fourier transform and its applications to classical partial differential equations and the Radon transform; a clear introduction to the subject serves to avoid technical difficulties. The book closes with Fourier theory for finite abelian groups, which is applied to prime numbers in arithmetic progression. In organizing their exposition, the authors have carefully balanced an emphasis on key conceptual insights against the need to provide the technical underpinnings of rigorous analysis. Students of mathematics, physics, engineering and other sciences will find the theory and applications covered in this volume to be of real interest. The Princeton Lectures in Analysis represents a sustained effort to introduce the core areas of mathematical analysis while also illustrating the organic unity between them. Numerous examples and applications throughout its four planned volumes, of which Fourier Analysis is the first, highlight the far-reaching consequences of certain ideas in analysis to other fields of mathematics and a variety of sciences. Stein and Shakarchi move from an introduction addressing Fourier series and integrals to in-depth considerations of complex analysis; measure and integration theory, and Hilbert spaces; and, finally, further topics such as functional analysis, distributions and elements of probability theory.
Release

Real Analysis

Measure Theory, Integration, and Hilbert Spaces

Author: Elias M. Stein,Rami Shakarchi

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 1400835569

Category: Mathematics

Page: 424

View: 3477

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Real Analysis is the third volume in the Princeton Lectures in Analysis, a series of four textbooks that aim to present, in an integrated manner, the core areas of analysis. Here the focus is on the development of measure and integration theory, differentiation and integration, Hilbert spaces, and Hausdorff measure and fractals. This book reflects the objective of the series as a whole: to make plain the organic unity that exists between the various parts of the subject, and to illustrate the wide applicability of ideas of analysis to other fields of mathematics and science. After setting forth the basic facts of measure theory, Lebesgue integration, and differentiation on Euclidian spaces, the authors move to the elements of Hilbert space, via the L2 theory. They next present basic illustrations of these concepts from Fourier analysis, partial differential equations, and complex analysis. The final part of the book introduces the reader to the fascinating subject of fractional-dimensional sets, including Hausdorff measure, self-replicating sets, space-filling curves, and Besicovitch sets. Each chapter has a series of exercises, from the relatively easy to the more complex, that are tied directly to the text. A substantial number of hints encourage the reader to take on even the more challenging exercises. As with the other volumes in the series, Real Analysis is accessible to students interested in such diverse disciplines as mathematics, physics, engineering, and finance, at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. Also available, the first two volumes in the Princeton Lectures in Analysis:
Release

A Course in Complex Analysis and Riemann Surfaces

Author: Wilhelm Schlag

Publisher: American Mathematical Society

ISBN: 0821898477

Category: Mathematics

Page: 384

View: 7858

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Complex analysis is a cornerstone of mathematics, making it an essential element of any area of study in graduate mathematics. Schlag's treatment of the subject emphasizes the intuitive geometric underpinnings of elementary complex analysis that naturally lead to the theory of Riemann surfaces. The book begins with an exposition of the basic theory of holomorphic functions of one complex variable. The first two chapters constitute a fairly rapid, but comprehensive course in complex analysis. The third chapter is devoted to the study of harmonic functions on the disk and the half-plane, with an emphasis on the Dirichlet problem. Starting with the fourth chapter, the theory of Riemann surfaces is developed in some detail and with complete rigor. From the beginning, the geometric aspects are emphasized and classical topics such as elliptic functions and elliptic integrals are presented as illustrations of the abstract theory. The special role of compact Riemann surfaces is explained, and their connection with algebraic equations is established. The book concludes with three chapters devoted to three major results: the Hodge decomposition theorem, the Riemann-Roch theorem, and the uniformization theorem. These chapters present the core technical apparatus of Riemann surface theory at this level. This text is intended as a detailed, yet fast-paced intermediate introduction to those parts of the theory of one complex variable that seem most useful in other areas of mathematics, including geometric group theory, dynamics, algebraic geometry, number theory, and functional analysis. More than seventy figures serve to illustrate concepts and ideas, and the many problems at the end of each chapter give the reader ample opportunity for practice and independent study.
Release

Complex Analysis

In the Spirit of Lipman Bers

Author: Rubí E. Rodríguez,Irwin Kra,Jane P. Gilman

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 1441973230

Category: Mathematics

Page: 306

View: 8036

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The authors’ aim here is to present a precise and concise treatment of those parts of complex analysis that should be familiar to every research mathematician. They follow a path in the tradition of Ahlfors and Bers by dedicating the book to a very precise goal: the statement and proof of the Fundamental Theorem for functions of one complex variable. They discuss the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity, and offer a leisure exploration of interesting consequences and applications. Readers should have had undergraduate courses in advanced calculus, linear algebra, and some abstract algebra. No background in complex analysis is required.
Release

Linear and Complex Analysis

Dedicated to V.P. Havin on the Occasion of His 75th Birthday

Author: Alexei Alexandrov,Anton Baranov,Sergey Kislyakov

Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.

ISBN: 0821890786

Category: Mathematics

Page: 254

View: 2343

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

A Complex Analysis Problem Book

Author: Daniel Alpay

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN: 3034800789

Category: Mathematics

Page: 526

View: 5653

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This is a collection of exercises in the theory of analytic functions, with completed and detailed solutions. We wish to introduce the student to applications and aspects of the theory of analytic functions not always touched upon in a first course. Using appropriate exercises we wish to show to the students some aspects of what lies beyond a first course in complex variables. We also discuss topics of interest for electrical engineering students (for instance, the realization of rational functions and its connections to the theory of linear systems and state space representations of such systems). Examples of important Hilbert spaces of analytic functions (in particular the Hardy space and the Fock space) are given. The book also includes a part where relevant facts from topology, functional analysis and Lebesgue integration are reviewed.
Release

Harmonic Analysis

Real-variable Methods, Orthogonality, and Oscillatory Integrals

Author: Elias M. Stein,Timothy S. Murphy

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN: 9780691032160

Category: Mathematics

Page: 695

View: 6717

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book contains an exposition of some of the main developments of the last twenty years in the following areas of harmonic analysis: singular integral and pseudo-differential operators, the theory of Hardy spaces, L\sup\ estimates involving oscillatory integrals and Fourier integral operators, relations of curvature to maximal inequalities, and connections with analysis on the Heisenberg group.
Release