Cocaine and Surfing

Cocaine and Surfing

But there has always been a darker side to surf culture. Chas Smith, ex-war correspondent and surf enthusiast, tells the no-holds-barred love affair of cocaine and surfing, and it makes for one hell of a story.

Author: Chas Smith

Publisher:

ISBN: 0733638694

Category:

Page: 304

View: 694

For readers of SCAR TISSUE by Anthony Kiedis, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET by Jordan Belfort, MP: THE LIFE OF MICHAEL PETERSON by Sean Doherty and OCCY: THE RISE AND FALL OF MARK OCCHILUPO by Tim Baker There is an allure about surfers - they look like clean, bronzed athletes who love nature and tread lightly on the earth. But there has always been a darker side of surf culture. Chas Smith, ex-war correspondent and surf enthusiast, tells the no-holds-barred love affair of cocaine and surfing and it makes for one hell of a story.Surf trade shows in the 1980s were flooded in cocaine. The surf tour of the 1990s had every virtually every competitor racking rails with the judges and the media before paddling out for heats. And in the new 21st century it has become completely untethered. There have been overdoses, bar fights, surf contests and murders and cover-ups all within the last three years and all fuelled almost purely by cocaine.Cocaine's place in surfing's past is storied. Its place in surfing's present is undeniable. Its place in surfing's future is certain. There is something all too similar in riding a wave and smashing a bump. The rush is intense and beautiful and all too short. Altogether, it is a great untold story and Smith has interviewed everyone who matters, dug into the vibrant history, and exposed the inherent hypocrisy/cover-ups to create a rip-roaring ride through surf culture that is enthralling, hilarious and utterly fascinating.
Categories:

Teen Mental Health An Encyclopedia of Issues and Solutions

Teen Mental Health  An Encyclopedia of Issues and Solutions

Further Reading DiClemente, Carlo C. Addiction and Change: How Addictions Develop and Addicted People Recover, 2nd ed. New York: Guilford Press, 2018. Smith, Chas. Cocaine + Surfing: A Sordid History of Surfing's Greatest Love Affair.

Author: Len Sperry

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440876882

Category: Psychology

Page: 413

View: 165

This encyclopedia provides a concise introduction to the mental health topics of greatest concern to adolescents. If offers young readers the information they need to better understand mental disorders and the importance of psychological well-being.
Categories: Psychology

Reports from Hell

Reports from Hell

From the author of Welcome to Paradise, Now Go To Hell, a finalist for the PEN Center USA Award for Nonfiction and Cocaine + Surfing A gonzo ride through the Middle East as only Chas Smith, the award-winning author of Welcome to Paradise, ...

Author: Chas Smith

Publisher:

ISBN: 1644280752

Category: Travel

Page: 192

View: 172

A gonzo ride through war-torn Yemen as only Chas Smith, the award-winning author of Welcome to Paradise, Now Go to Hell and Cocaine + Surfing: A Sordid History of Surfing's Greatest Love Affair, could provide. Follow Smith and his misfit band of merrymakers as they search for the true origins of Al Qaeda and endeavor to ride the unsurfed waves of Yemen all while exploring the slim opportunities for fun in the margins of our global war on terror and at what cost--even if it means eventual kidnapping by Hezbollah.
Categories: Travel

Tales from the Cult Film Trenches

Tales from the Cult Film Trenches

It was a great time in my life but it was a bad time in my life....” He received some of the best critical notices of his career for his portrayal of the title character in Murph the Surf, a film based on the true-life exploits of Jack ...

Author: Louis Paul

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN: 9780786484027

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 336

View: 108

From movie villains to scream queens, here are interviews with 36 actors and actresses familiar to fans of sixties and seventies cult cinema. Interviewees include the well-known (David Carradine, Christopher Lee), the relatively obscure (Marrie Lee), sex symbols (Valerie Leon), surfers who became movie stars (Don Stroud), and action heroes (Fred Williamson), among many others. Each interview is accompanied by a biography and filmography.
Categories: Performing Arts

New York Magazine

New York Magazine

In New York City, where an estimated 200,000 people regularly use cocaine, the drug is a multi-billion-dollar industry. Other drugs, particularly heroin, ... It's the same story at rehabs and twelve-step groups across the city.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 88

View: 155

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.
Categories:

Introduction to Criminology

Introduction to Criminology

Hacker's ethic: That there should be no restrictions on their right to surf the Internet and test systems. ... Hamas: Harrison Act: An antidrug act passed in 1914 that required a doctor's prescription for narcotics and cocaine.

Author: Frank E. Hagan

Publisher: SAGE Publications

ISBN: 9781544339054

Category: Social Science

Page: 581

View: 318

Introduction to Criminology, Tenth Edition, is a comprehensive introduction to the study of criminology, focusing on the vital core areas of the field—theory, method, and criminal behavior. With more attention to crime typologies than most introductory texts, authors Frank E. Hagan and Leah Elizabeth Daigle investigate all forms of criminal activity, such as organized crime, white collar crime, political crime, and environmental crime. The methods of operation, the effects on society and policy decisions, and the connection between theory and criminal behavior are all explained in a clear, accessible manner. New to the Tenth Edition: New “Applying Theory” scenarios are included with the theory chapters in Part II. These application exercises encourage critical thinking by asking you to use criminological theory to explain the criminal behavior of Aileen Wuornos. Updated “Crime and the Media” boxes highlight the effect that the media has on public perception of crime. New topics include the #MeToo movement, media coverage of the opioid crisis, popular shows like Breaking Bad and The Wire, online dating fraud, and cyberbullying. Over 170 new “Learning Check” questions and answers have been added throughout the book to help you review your understanding of key concepts and increase reading comprehension. Examination of important new topics, like what works in criminology, the relationship between immigration and crime, the impact of neuroscience and genetic studies on criminology, recent shootings and terrorist attacks, and the continuing battle between over-criminalization and under-criminalization, deepens your understanding of the field. Updated figures, tables, and statistics throughout the book ensure that you have access to the most current information available.
Categories: Social Science

Los Angeles Magazine

Los Angeles Magazine

As for the dark times, he was appalled: "I was an alcoholic of the worst kind, not only dangerous to myself but to my loved ones and friends— and they fled ... Bo Belinsky, not Dodger great Sandy Koufax, would forever hold the record.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 154

View: 965

Los Angeles magazine is a regional magazine of national stature. Our combination of award-winning feature writing, investigative reporting, service journalism, and design covers the people, lifestyle, culture, entertainment, fashion, art and architecture, and news that define Southern California. Started in the spring of 1961, Los Angeles magazine has been addressing the needs and interests of our region for 48 years. The magazine continues to be the definitive resource for an affluent population that is intensely interested in a lifestyle that is uniquely Southern Californian.
Categories:

Los Angeles Magazine

Los Angeles Magazine

His imagination was so powerful that he would go to that location in the story we would be discussing— to the extent ... aka "dead stock," housedresses from the 1940s and scoop neck women's tops from the disco era do battle with surf, ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 212

View: 472

Los Angeles magazine is a regional magazine of national stature. Our combination of award-winning feature writing, investigative reporting, service journalism, and design covers the people, lifestyle, culture, entertainment, fashion, art and architecture, and news that define Southern California. Started in the spring of 1961, Los Angeles magazine has been addressing the needs and interests of our region for 48 years. The magazine continues to be the definitive resource for an affluent population that is intensely interested in a lifestyle that is uniquely Southern Californian.
Categories:

Videohound s Golden Movie Retriever 1995

Videohound s Golden Movie Retriever  1995

Author: Martin Connors

Publisher:

ISBN: 081039135X

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 1588

View: 499

Describes and rates more than twenty thousand videos, and provides indexes by theme, awards, actors, actresses, and directors
Categories: Motion pictures

Billboard

Billboard

LOVE THAT GIRL FOREVER: In this soft week, every title on Hot 100 Singles Sales that shows any sort of sales ... Lewis won her fifth consecutive Greatest Gainer/Airplay award last week, she became the first artist in the 10-year history ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 112

View: 996

In its 114th year, Billboard remains the world's premier weekly music publication and a diverse digital, events, brand, content and data licensing platform. Billboard publishes the most trusted charts and offers unrivaled reporting about the latest music, video, gaming, media, digital and mobile entertainment issues and trends.
Categories: