Christian Dior

Designer of Dreams

Author: Florence Müller

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780500021545

Category: Design

Page: 368

View: 6983

DOWNLOAD NOW »

2017 marks the 70th anniversary of the House of Dior. It was in 1947 that Christian Dior presented his first collection and heralded the birth of a new fashion silhouette for women. After the austerity of the war years, the cinched waistlines, full skirts and soft shoulders of the New Look came to embody a revival of Parisian luxury. Paris regained its place as the global capital of fashion and the name of Dior became a synonym for haute couture. For this book, seventy of the most memorable looks created Christian Dior and his successors - Yves Saint Laurent, Marc Bohan, Gianfranco Ferr�, John Galliano, Raf Simons and Maria Grazia Chiuri - have been specially selected and photographed in fascinating detail. These wonderful designs are also featured in sketches, runway shots and fashion shoots by the world's greatest fashion photographers, including Irving Penn, Richard Avedon, Cecil Beaton, William Klein, Helmut Newton, Patrick Demarchelier, Paolo Roversi, Peter Lindbergh, Mario Testino and Nick Knight. Recurring themes from the history of Dior are discussed in depth: the concept of line and architecture in fashion; the influence of history and art (the Palace of Versailles, the Empire style, Impressionism, the Belle �poque, the Ballets Russes, Picasso, Dal�, Pollock); the use of colour; the influence of gardens and landscapes as sources of inspiration; and, of course, the brand's muses and famous clients: the Duchess of Windsor, Marlene Dietrich, Princess Grace of Monaco, Marilyn Monroe, Elizabeth Taylor, Isabelle Adjani, Princess Diana, Marion Cotillard, Charlize Theron, Natalie Portman, Jennifer Lawrence and more.
Release

Communicating Fashion Brands

Theoretical and Practical Perspectives

Author: Emily Huggard,Jon Cope

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 0429875584

Category: Social Science

Page: 172

View: 728

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This book demonstrates how fashion brands communicate, why the practice is significant within wider society and how it can be perceived as culturally meaningful. Enabling readers to connect the tools and techniques of communication with their theoretical underpinnings and historical antecedents, the book shows how these methods can be applied in practice. The authors utilise social, consumer and cultural theory, and frameworks rooted in psychology, sociology and economics, as mechanisms to analyse and deconstruct current communication strategies used by fashion brands. The book presents insights and strategies for communicating authentic values, conveying a clearly defined aesthetic and visual language and generating shareable content that resonates with audiences. With insights into strategies used by brands including Burberry, Gucci, Dior, COS, Rapha, Warby Parker and Maryam Nassir Zadeh, each chapter outlines ways of maintaining relevant and consistent brand narratives in the 21st century. From how to sustain a dialogue with a brand’s community, to the use of brand collaboration, co-creative storytelling and fashion spaces, the book aims to develop reflective communication practitioners who have a deep understanding of the cultural landscape, brand strategy and industry innovation. Written for scholars and practitioners, this book is a valuable blend of theory and practice across the fields of fashion, communication and branding.
Release

The Art of Successful Brand Collaborations

Partnerships with Artists, Designers, Museums, Territories, Sports, Celebrities, Science, Good Cause...and More

Author: Géraldine Michel,Reine Willing

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1351014455

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 286

View: 7993

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Brand collaborations are widely considered the art of the perfect match. This book is a guide to understanding the process of brand collaborations and explains the key factors of success to build specific forms of collaborations between diverse partners. The Art of Successful Brand Collaborations gives tangible examples of partnerships between various kinds of internationally renowned artists, celebrities, brands and companies such as Coca-Cola, Louis Vuitton, Puma, David Beckham and Pharrell Williams. In this vivid study, the academic and practitioner author team outline deep knowledge about the advantages and economic benefits of this marketing strategy. This includes additional meaning, improvement of the brand image, attracting new customers within different target groups and the development of the brand in new markets. Filled with interviews from practitioners and vital academic and professional insights, this book is an essential guide for brand managers, professors and students to better understand and successfully implement the process of brand collaborations.
Release

Back in Fashion

Western Fashion from the Middle Ages to the Present

Author: Giorgio Riello

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 0300218842

Category: Design

Page: 289

View: 5781

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This engaging analysis of Western fashion explores the influence of fashion, taste, and style on people's actions and beliefs since the Middle Ages.
Release

The Paris Secret

Author: Natasha Lester

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075157645X

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 1892

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A wardrobe of Dior gowns. A decades-old secret. Three women bound forever by war. An unspeakable betrayal will entwine all of their fates. From New York Times bestselling author of The French Photographer. ***** England, 1939 Talented pilot Skye Penrose joins the British war effort where she encounters her estranged sister, Liberty, and childhood soulmate Nicholas Crawford, now engaged to enigmatic Frenchwoman Margaux Jourdan. Paris, 1947 Designer Christian Dior unveils his extravagant first collection to a world weary of war and grief. He names his debut fragrance, Miss Dior, in tribute to his sister, Catherine, who worked for the French Resistance. Present day Australian fashion conservator Kat Jourdan discovers a secret wardrobe filled with priceless Dior gowns in her grandmother's vacant cottage. As she delves into the mystery, Kat begins to doubt everything she thought she knew about her beloved grandmother. An unspeakable betrayal will entwine all of their fates. The Pairs Secret is an unforgettable story about the lengths people go to protect one another, and a love that, despite everything, lasts a lifetime. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton. Praise for Natasha Lester: 'Divine' GILL PAUL, bestselling author of The Secret Wife 'An emotional and sweeping tale' CHANEL CLEETON, bestselling author of Next Year in Havana 'A splendid, breathtaking novel, full of mystery and passion...a must read!' JEANNE MACKIN, author of The Last Collection
Release

John Galliano for Dior

Author: Robert Fairer,Hamish Bowles

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9780500022405

Category: Design

Page: 432

View: 4160

DOWNLOAD NOW »

John Galliano's extraordinary fashion creations for the House of Dior, captured in inspiring and never-before-seen images by celebrated Vogue photographer Robert Fairer.
Release

Christian Dior

The Man who Made the World Look New

Author: Marie France Pochna

Publisher: Arcade Publishing

ISBN: 9781559703406

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 314

View: 2431

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Chronicles Dior's rise to fame beginning in 1947 with the introduction of his "New Look," the reestablishment of Paris as the center of the fashion world, and his influence on fashion today
Release

Christian Dior

Author: Richard Harrison Martin,Harold Koda,Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.)

Publisher: Metropolitan Museum of Art

ISBN: 0870998234

Category: Art

Page: 207

View: 3912

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A study of Christian Dior as an artist, focusing on his achievements through his works rather than through biography.
Release

Fashions of a Decade

Author: Patricia Baker

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 1438118910

Category: Civilization, Modern

Page: 65

View: 2979

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Clothing has been a consistent recorder of history through the years, documenting the heights of fashion as it threaded its way through post-war society. This work traces this intricate history, from nylon stockings and stiletto heels to full skirts and slim-fitting bodices to Baby Doll nightwear and textured leisure suits.
Release