Carrie of Culver Road

Carrie of Culver Road

And it is in Culver Road that Carrie meets Jim, the enigmatic sailor who is to change her life... What readers are saying about Carrie of Culver Road: 'Really enjoyed this book.

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755373000

Category: Fiction

Page: 322

View: 136

When tragedy strikes, a young mother sets out to find a place she can call home... Carrie of Culver Road by Dee Williams is a touching story of a young woman's struggle to create a home for her young family in the heart of the East End. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Pam Evans. As a little girl, brought up in an orphanage, Caroline Parker had always been told that 'Dept Ford' was the place her disgraced mother had come from. So when years later her husband dies, leaving her penniless and with three young children to support, Caroline's first thought is to head for the place she has envisaged as home: Dept Ford. But to her horror, she finds that Deptford is not the country village she'd imagined, but in the middle of London, a huge, teeming city the likes of which she's never seen. Luckily a kindly passer-by takes pity on her weary children and puts them on the tram to a place where she might find lodgings which, as it turns out, is in Rotherhithe, not Deptford. And so it is Culver Road that becomes her true home, where Carrie - as her neighbours call her - and her family, helped out by the irrepressible Flo and her soft-hearted docker husband Alf, find themselves battling through times both good and bad. And it is in Culver Road that Carrie meets Jim, the enigmatic sailor who is to change her life... What readers are saying about Carrie of Culver Road: 'Really enjoyed this book. Moves very quickly and keeps the reader wanting to know what is going to occur next' 'Brilliant read, was sad when it finished' 'I am running out of praise for Dee Williams books because I enjoy them so much'
Categories: Fiction

Hannah of Hope Street

Hannah of Hope Street

Also by Dee Williams Carrie of Culver Road Polly of Penn's Place Annie of Albert
Mews Hannah of Hope Street Sally of Sefton Grove Ellie of Elmleigh Square
Maggie's Market Katie's Kitchen Wishes and Tears Sorrows and Smiles Forgive
and ...

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755382002

Category: Fiction

Page: 261

View: 644

A young girl dreams of a better tomorrow... Dee Williams' Hannah of Hope Street is a poignant saga of a young girl's fight to look after her little sister, once they are left to fend for themselves in the poverty-stricken streets of East London. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Lindsey Hutchinson. Hannah Miller is a young girl who has had to grow up fast. Since the death of her parents she has taken responsibility for her sister Alice, determined to provide her with the love and stability they've both been denied. But when a violent incident with their bullying guardian finds the girls cold and hungry on the teeming streets of East London, Hannah realises she is out of her depth. She has little option but to accept the help of the strange old woman, Maudie, whose ramshackle home at the end of Rotherhithe's bustling Hope Street, Hannah soon realises, is a den of young thieves. Alice loves their new life, the companionship of the lively household and the gruff affection of the enigmatic, warm-hearted Maudie. But despite the fact that she is growing increasingly fond of Jack, one of the most long-standing of Maudie's brood, Hannah can never be happy living outside the law. As she battles for respectability, Hannah begins to see she is creating an ever-widening rift between herself and those she loves most dearly - one of whom, as the Great War approaches, might be taken from her for good... What readers are saying about Hannah of Hope Street: 'Lovely story - five stars' 'Dee Williams never lets me down'
Categories: Fiction

Departments of State Justice Commerce the Judiciary and Related Agencies Appropriations for 1967

Departments of State  Justice  Commerce  the Judiciary  and Related Agencies Appropriations for 1967

1040 Lake Rd . , Webster , N.Y. 10,000.00 J. Henry Engel Brockport , NY 4.371.
80 Carrie É . Gridley 750 Main St. , Niagara Falls , N.Y 7,767.59 ... 48 George W.
Wambach 4961 Culver Rd . , Rochester , N.Y 1 , 570.00 Florence A. Wegman .

Author: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Appropriations

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951D03590870X

Category:

Page: 944

View: 984

Categories:

Report

Report

line continued to Norton street ; thence easterly along the center of Nortona street
to Waring street ; thence along the center of Waring street to the Culver • road ;
thence southerly along the Culver road to Schanck avenue ; thencewesterly
along Schanck avenue , excluding both sides of the same , to the ... Carrie B.
Millard .

Author: Rochester (N.Y.). Board of Education

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112051015631

Category:

Page:

View: 457

Categories:

The Rochester Directory

The Rochester Directory

... variety store 76 Main W h 314 Carrie Mrs h 234 West av Madison Carrie E
widow David bds 246 Pierpont John B barnman h 424 Austin Charles F A
chainman 55 City Hall bds John D engineer Convention Hall h 43 379 Park av
Culver road ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HXNWYU

Category: Rochester (N.Y.)

Page:

View: 566

Categories: Rochester (N.Y.)

The National Jewish Blue Book

The National Jewish Blue Book

Richard S . Weil , Junior , 87 Clinton Ave . N . , City . S . M . Weil , Arnold Park ,
City . Samuel Weill , 249 Culver Rd . , Rochester , N . Y . Mrs . Carrie Wile ,
Associate , 955 Harvard St . , Rochester , N . Y . E . J . Wile , Honorary , 117 Gibbs
St .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015004131283

Category: Greek letter societies

Page:

View: 584

Categories: Greek letter societies

Publications of the Rochester Historical Society

Publications of the Rochester Historical Society

RAYMOND F . LEINEN 430 Yarmouth Road MISS EDNA K . MANDEVILLE 1896
Highland Avenue MR . JAMES MANN 12 ... JOHN P . MCDONALD 821 Culver
Road REV . OSGOOD H ... CARRIE E . MILLER 325 Oxford Street MR . JAMES G
 ...

Author: Rochester Historical Society (Rochester, N.Y.)

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000052911576

Category: Rochester (N.Y.)

Page:

View: 479

Categories: Rochester (N.Y.)

Publication Fund Series

Publication Fund Series

WILLIAM B. LEE 261 Culver Road MR . ARDEAN RANSON MILLER , JR . 125
Plymouth Avenue MR . JAMES G. LENNOX 1333 Lake Avenue MRS . CARRIE E
, MILLER 325 Oxford Street DR . RICHARD A. LEONARDO 1283 Culver Road ...

Author: Rochester Historical Society

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112049415562

Category: History

Page:

View: 427

Categories: History

Proceedings of the Common Council for the City of Rochester for

Proceedings of the Common Council  for the City of Rochester  for

Referred to Committee on Law . cepted Harwick Street , as offered for dedication
by James R. Waring , under date of February 9 , 1922 ... to wit : Commencing at a
point in the east line of Culver Road , which point is also the south line of
premises owned by said James R. ... the Rules and Regulations of the City
Planning Bureau , I have accepted Merrill Place , as offered for dedication by
Carrie E. Merrell ...

Author: Rochester (N.Y.). Common Council

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112107047604

Category: Rochester (N.Y.)

Page:

View: 351

Categories: Rochester (N.Y.)

Proceedings

Proceedings

518 CURTICE STREET -rel . to water mains , 341 ; assessment roll , pavement
presented and confirmed 512 CURTIN , FRANK T.-ex . rel ... 255 -rel . to claim of
Carrie Beers . ... 499 CULVER ROAD-pavement ' ( first ord , see 1914 ) final ord .

Author: Rochester (N.Y.). Council

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:097360093

Category:

Page:

View: 479

Categories:

The London Gazette

The London Gazette

Raneleigh - road , New - road , Alfred - road , Heathroad , Stag - road , Carrie -
road . In Parliament - Session 1899 . As to Shanklin : Firs Hill - road , Culver -
road , London United Tramways . Popham - road , Mount - road . ( Power to
Company ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:C2553959

Category: Great Britain

Page:

View: 977

Categories: Great Britain

Books in Print

Books in Print

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105002106081

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 597

Categories: American literature

Publication Fund Series

Publication Fund Series

MISS LOUISE M. KELLY MISS EDNA K. MANDEVILLE 90 Oxford Street 1895
Highland Avenue REV . GEORGE KETTELL MR . ... JOHN P. MCDONALD 821
Culver Road HON . WM . ... Park Avenue MRS . CARRIE E. MILLER MR . and
MRS .

Author: Rochester Historical Society (Rochester, N.Y.)

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3494808

Category: Rochester (N.Y.)

Page:

View: 533

Categories: Rochester (N.Y.)

McKinney s Session Laws of New York

McKinney s Session Laws of New York

Ch . 38 , § 1 westerly along said street to North Center Street , thence northerly
along said street to Pine Street , thence along said street ... thence northerly
along said boulevard to Nott Street , thence easterly along said street to Carrie
Street , thence northerly along said ... avenue to Brunswick Street , thence
southerly along said street to Canterbury Road , thence easterly along said road
to Culver Road ...

Author: New York (State)

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105060319618

Category: Law

Page:

View: 654

Vols. for 1951 session-199th session (1976) have note: "Comprising authentic text of the laws, together with other valuable legislative and executive material"; vols. for 200th session (1977)- have note: "Comprising authentic text of the laws together with other valuable materials from the legislature, the executive and the judiciary."
Categories: Law

Laws of the State of New York

Laws of the State of New York

... northerly along said boulevard to Nott Street , thence easterly along said street
to Carrie Street , thence northerly along ... thence easterly along said road to
Culver Road , thence southerly along said road to Monroe Avenue , thence
easterly ...

Author: New York (State)

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433057184636

Category: Session laws

Page:

View: 992

Categories: Session laws

The Christian Science Journal

The Christian Science Journal

Robinson , Mrs Carrie Martin CS 10 AM to 4 PM 622 , 42 Woodruff , Mrs Laura C.
CS In Camp Welfare Work . ... Thompson , Mrs Ione Revenaugh CSB ( teacher )
Hotel Somer Husted , Mrs Ruth T. CS 2 to 5 PM 914 Culver rd . set , 150 W 47th ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105013866806

Category: Christian Science

Page:

View: 919

Categories: Christian Science

Bulletin

Bulletin

Irving E . , 2701 Avenue I , Brooklyn Bover , Rose C . , 16 W . 77th st . , New York
Boyes , Truman L . , 654 Madison av . , New York Boylan . ... New York Bradstreet
, Samuel W . , 80 East av . , Rochester Bradstreet , Willis W . , 4242 Culver rd ,
Irondequoit Brady , Arthur ... Second av . , Mount Vernon lyn Brandenburg ,
Carrie , Hotel Bryant , 545 Broadway , THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF
NEW YORK.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: CORNELL:31924069157646

Category: Education

Page:

View: 568

Categories: Education