Call the Midwife

A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101614404

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 352

View: 3832

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The highest-rated drama in BBC history, Call the Midwife will delight fans of Downton Abbey Viewers everywhere have fallen in love with this candid look at post-war London. In the 1950s, twenty-two-year-old Jenny Lee leaves her comfortable home to move into a convent and become a midwife in London's East End slums. While delivering babies all over the city, Jenny encounters a colorful cast of women—from the plucky, warm-hearted nuns with whom she lives, to the woman with twenty-four children who can't speak English, to the prostitutes of the city's seedier side. An unfortgettable story of motherhood, the bravery of a community, and the strength of remarkable and inspiring women, Call the Midwife is the true story behind the beloved PBS series, which will soon return for its sixth season. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Release

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062270079

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 336

View: 1957

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances. Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community. A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.
Release

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories

True Stories of the East End in the 1950s

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1780225105

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 800

View: 1141

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The East-End stories that inspired the BBC TV series, CALL THE MIDWIFE, in a gorgeous gift box. London's East End in the 1950s was a tough place: the struggles of post-war life - bombsites, overcrowded tenements, crime, brothels - bred a culture of tight-knit family communities, larger-than-life characters and a lively social scene. It was into this world that Jennifer Worth entered as a trainee midwife. But docklands life was tough, and babies were often born in slum conditions. In funny, disturbing and heartbreaking stories, Jennifer Worth recounts her time among nuns, prostitutes, abortionists, bigamists, gangsters and expectant mothers, portraying East Enders' amazing resilience - and their warmth and humour in the face of hardship. Written with affection and nostalgia, her midwife stories chronicle the lives, traditions and tales of a bygone era.
Release

Call the Midwife: Illustrated Edition

Author: Jennifer Worth

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0297869736

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 9072

DOWNLOAD NOW »

This is a large beautifully illustrated edition of CALL THE MIDWIFE with never-before-seen photographs which bring the real London and real lives to life. Pictures of the docklands, photos of how life was lived at the time, the families, housing, health service, food and of course the nuns and the midwives who brought so many babies into the world will be a beautiful addition to Jennifer Worth's bestselling memoir.
Release

The Midwife's Sister

The Story of Call The Midwife's Jennifer Worth by her sister Christine

Author: Christine Lee

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447282639

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: N.A

View: 567

DOWNLOAD NOW »

'Our childhood came to an end when our parents parted and from then on Jennifer was placed in the impossible position of having to be a parent to me, her sister. I shall always be grateful for her protection . . .' Millions have fallen in love with Jennifer Worth and her experiences in the East End as chronicled in Call the Midwife but little is known about her life outside this period. Now, in this moving and evocative memoir, Jennifer's sister, Christine, takes us from their early idyllic years to the cruelty and neglect they suffered after their parents divorced, from Jennifer being forced to leave home at fourteen to their training as nurses. After leaving nursing Jennifer took up a career in music, her first love, and Christine became a sculptor, but through marriages and children, joy and heartbreak, their lives remained intertwined. Absorbing and emotional, The Midwife's Sister by Christine Lee is testimony to an enduring bond between two extraordinary women.
Release

Keep Calm and Call the Midwife

Midwife Or Doula Gift for Women, Flowered Notebook Cover with 120 Blank, Lined Pages.

Author: Beautiful Useful Journal

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781070140001

Category:

Page: 122

View: 7483

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ideal for a midwife, doula or labor and delivery nurse Perfect to write notes, thoughts, lists, ideas Perfect size to carry easily in a purse or a bag for work, home, school or all places on the go Can also be the perfect gift for a mom, sister, daughter, coworker, aunt, wife or student.
Release