Caca Dolce

Caca Dolce

Title: Caca dolce : essays from a lowbrow life / Chelsea Martin. Description: New York : Soft Skull Press, [2017] Identifiers: LCCN 2017009907 (print) | LCCN 2017019518 (ebook) | ISBN 9781593766825 (ebook) | ISBN 9781593766771 (pbk.) ...

Author: Chelsea Martin

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 9781593766825

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 210

View: 884

An “enchanting” memoir of an artist in search of herself: “A sure hit for fans of Sara Benincasa’s Agorafabulous! and Lena Dunham’s Not That Kind of Girl” (Booklist, starred review).Caca Dolce is the “funny, candid, and bracingly self-aware” story of Chelsea Martin’s coming of age as an artist (The Rumpus). We’re with the author of cult novels Mickey and Even Though I Don’t Miss You as an eleven-year-old atheist, trying to will an alien visitation to her neighborhood; fighting with her stepfather and grappling with a Tourette’s diagnosis as she becomes a teenager; falling under the sway of frenemies and crushes in high school; going into debt to afford what might be a meaningless education at an expensive art college; navigating the messy process of falling in love with a close friend; and struggling for independence from her emotionally manipulative father and from the family and friends in the dead-end California town that has defined her upbringing. A book about relationships, class, art, sex, money, family, and growing up weird and poor in the late 1990s and early 2000s, Casa Dolce is “a wild ride of a memoir, and a true glimpse into the mind of an artist as she’s figuring out what life is all about” (Kristin Iversen, Nylon).
Categories: Literary Collections

Tell Me I m An Artist

Tell Me I m An Artist

Clarin J CHELSEA MARTIN is the author of the essay collection Caca Dolce and the novella Mickey, among other books. She lives in Spokane, Washington, with her husband and child. Find out more at www.cacadolce.com.

Author: Chelsea Martin

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 9781593767228

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 374

"A portrait of the artist as a work-in-progress" (Sharma Shields), this hilarious and incisive coming-of-age novel about an art student from a poor family struggling to find her place in a new social class of rich, well-connected peers is perfect for fans of Elif Batuman’s The Idiot and Weike Wang’s Chemistry At her San Francisco art school, Joey enrolls in a film elective that requires her to complete what seems like a straightforward assignment: create a self-portrait. Joey inexplicably decides to remake Wes Anderson’s Rushmore despite having never seen the movie. As Tell Me I’m An Artist unfolds over the course of the semester, the assignment hangs over her as she struggles to exist in a well-heeled world that is hugely different from any she has known. Miles away, Joey’s sister goes missing, leaving her toddler with their mother, who in turn suggests that Joey might be the selfish one for pursuing her dreams. Meanwhile, her only friend at school, the enigmatic Suz, makes meaningful, appealing art, a product of Suz's own singular drive and talent as well as decades of careful nurturing by wealthy, sophisticated parents. A masterful novel from an author known for her candid and searching prose, Tell Me I’m An Artist examines the invisible divide created by class and privilege, ruminates on the shame that follows choosing a path that has not been laid out for you, and interrogates what makes someone an artist at all.
Categories: Fiction

King of Joy

King of Joy

—CHELSEA MARTIN , author of Caca Dolce “Richard Chiem writes like someone whispering in your ear. He's insistent and methodical, and you want to hear every word he has to say. King of Joy takes Chiem's unparalleled voice and carefully ...

Author: Richard Chiem

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 9781593763107

Category: Fiction

Page: 189

View: 915

Named a Writer to Watch by the Los Angeles Times, Richard Chiem brings readers a novel that is equal parts sledgehammer and sweet song--a neon, pulsing portrait of grief, and an electrifying story of one woman's survival against all odds. Corvus has always had an overactive imagination. Growing up, she develops a unique coping mechanism: she can imagine herself out of any situation, no matter how terrible. To get through each day, Corvus escapes into scenes from fantasy novels, pop songs, and action/adventure movies, and survives by turning the everyday into just another role to play in the movie of her life. After a tragic loss, Corvus finds a sadness so great she cannot imagine it away. Instead, she finds Tim, a pornographer with unconventional methods, who offers her a new way to escape into movies. But when a sinister plot of greed and betrayal is revealed, Corvus must fight to reclaim her independence, and discovers she is stronger than even she could have imagined.
Categories: Fiction

The Red Zone

The Red Zone

—Chelsea Martin, author of Caca Dolce: Essays from a Lowbrow Life “Not since Elizabeth Wurtzel's More, Now, Again have I been so obsessed with a book of nonfiction. I read The Red Zone in one day, in one chair, four cups of coffee, ...

Author: Chloe Caldwell

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 9781593767006

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 114

A searching, galvanizing memoir about blood and love: how learning more about her period, PMS, PMDD, and the effects of hormones on moods transformed her relationships—to a new partner, to family, to non-blood kin, and to her own body—from the beloved essayist and author of Women Chloe Caldwell’s period has often felt inconvenient, uncomfortable, or even painful. It’s only once she’s in her thirties, as she’s falling in love with Tony, a musician and single dad, that its effects on her mood start to dominate her life. Spurred by the intensity and seriousness of her new relationship, it strikes her: her outbursts of anxiety and rage match her hormonal cycle. Compelled to understand the truth of what’s happening to her, Chloe documents attitudes toward menstruation among her peers and family, reads Reddit threads about PMS, attends a conference called Break the Cycle, and learns about premenstrual dysphoric disorder, PMDD, which helps her name what she’s been going through. For Chloe, healing isn’t about finding a single cure. It means reflecting on underlying patterns in her life: her feelings about her queer identity and writing persona in the context of a heterosexual relationship; how her parents’ divorce contributed to her issues with trust; and what it means to blend a family. The Red Zone is a candid, revelatory memoir for anyone grappling with controversial medical diagnoses and labels of all kinds. It’s about coming to terms with the fact that—along with proper treatment—self-acceptance, self-compassion, and transcending shame are the ultimate keys to relief. It’s also about love: how challenging it can be, how it reveals your weaknesses and wounds, and how, if you allow it, it will push you to grow and change.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

Margherita Dolce Vita Ediz Inglese

Margherita Dolce Vita  Ediz  Inglese

A return to mindless babbling , nursery rhymes , and sudden bursts of weeping , dribbling spoonfuls of pablum , endless chants of caca - caca - caca , unexpected gusts of enthusiasm and hopeless abysses of terror .

Author: Stefano Benni

Publisher: Europa Editions Incorporated

ISBN: UVA:X030196847

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 949

Fourteen-year-old Margherita tries to break her family's new love of modern technology and high-tech excesses and go back to their simpler, more frugal ways.
Categories: Fiction

Language Mixing Italian Adjectives

Language Mixing Italian  Adjectives

spot dolce Humans naturally seek out foods dolci, starchy, or salati. One food that hits the – at least ... And how did this treat dolce become popular? ... Unfortunately, in Spanish, it sounds like “caca”, a vulgar term meaning “poo”.

Author: Alfred Schneider

Publisher: LanguageMixing.com

ISBN:

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page:

View: 875

Welcome to a new language-learning technique. Trick your brain into accepting Italian words as "English". We pretend that Italian words are actually newly-coined English words. It's technique is called "Diglot Weave". One University in Iran experimented with the method on some high schoolers learning English. Half the kids learned using standard methods, and the other half used the Diglot Weave method. Afterwards, they all sat a test. What were the results? The kids taught the usual way scored 12 out of 25, but the kids taught with the Diglot Weave method scored nearly double - 23 out of 25! Want to try it? This book includes over 100 Italian adjectives (describing words). We mix them into fully English article on 50 different interesting topics. By the end of the book, your brain should be tricked into thinking that these words are "English".
Categories: Foreign Language Study

Jardin De Eve Garden of Eve Spanish

Jardin De Eve   Garden of Eve Spanish

Ganando mucho dinero, saliendo con chicas caras, paseando en mi Lambo colgando de mi Rolex, salí con mis dos mil Dolce's y luego caca. Allí estoy casi muerto, temiendo por mi eternidad e Ian aparece, rezando por mí.

Author: Brian Stewart

Publisher: Boat Angel Outreach Center

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page:

View: 158

Esta es una maravillosa historia de amor sobre un productor de cine que se enamora mientras hace una película sobre Adán y Eva. Se enfrenta a una batalla de vida o muerte mientras busca ver sus sueños realidad.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Zeitschrift f r romanische Philologie

Zeitschrift f  r romanische Philologie

La chason che li fonti d inuerno sonno callidi , et d istate frigidi , si se che la ystate lo calor de l aqua caça 1 fredo in terra , e percio l aqua uene callida . E cun cio sia chosa che 5 one aqua sia o dolce o amara , cio se salsa ...

Author: Gustav Grhober

Publisher:

ISBN: PRNC:32101075671360

Category: Philology, Modern

Page:

View: 830

"Verzeichnis der Mitarbeiter an Band i-x" : v. 10, p. [622]-625.
Categories: Philology, Modern