Born to Trouble

All she wanted was a better life...

Author: Rita Bradshaw

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755375963

Category: Fiction

Page: 297

View: 2095

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A young woman struggles to escape her past, in order to find the happiness she so desperately craves... Born to Trouble by Rita Bradshaw is a compelling saga guaranteed to tug at the heartstrings. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale. Born into the worst of families in Sunderland's filthy, crime-ridden East End, Pearl Croft's childhood is miserable. Shortly after her violent, drunken father is killed in a fight, Pearl's elder brothers are sent to prison leaving her, still a child herself, to care for her baby brothers. Pearl's mother brings her 'clients' to the house, one of whom has a penchant for little girls... Terrified and hurt, Pearl runs away from home and is found, feverish and near death, by Romany gypsies. But this is far from the end of Pearl's struggles. Years pass, and as Pearl reaches womanhood she begins to wonder if she is simply born to trouble or will she find happiness one day? What readers are saying about Born to Trouble: 'Love, loss, poverty, family and success - even touched on WW1' 'Loved it from beginning to end. Lovely, romantic story of rags to riches' 'I loved this book, it kept me enthralled right to the end. I couldn't put it down'
Release

Cold Cruel Winter

Author: Chris Nickson

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN: 1780100817

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 1514

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Second in the highly-acclaimed Richard Nottingham historical mystery series 1732. Richard Nottingham, Constable of the City of Leeds, is grieving the death of his daughter, but he must rouse himself from his lethargy when the body of wealthy wool merchant Samuel Graves is discovered, his throat slit, the skin razed from his back. Why would the killer want Graves' skin? When Nottingham receives a slim, bound volume entitled The Journal of a Wronged Man he discovers the shocking answer - and it hurls him into a desperate battle for survival against a ruthless killer with old scores to settle.
Release

Born to Run

A Novel of the Serrated Edge

Author: Mercedes Lackey,Larry Dixon

Publisher: Baen Books

ISBN: 0671721100

Category: Fiction

Page: 317

View: 5879

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Three runaways become unwitting pawns in a deadly war between the good elves, whose interests lie in stock car racing, and the bad elves, who have gotten into kiddie porno rings and snuff films
Release

Riches of the Heart

A gritty and utterly compelling 1920s docklands saga

Author: June Tate

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755389395

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 6108

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Abandoned and alone, this is the unforgettable tale of one woman's search for happiness. Riches of the Heart by June Tate is a moving saga of one woman's encounters with poverty, tragedy and her chance for happiness. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale. '[Lily's] struggle to find happiness again makes this gritty saga compulsive reading' - Woman's Weekly Lily Pickford is just sixteen when her violent father throws her out of the house. Her first few nights are spent sleeping rough in Southampton's sleazy docklands, but her luck turns when stallholder Rachel Cohen gives her work and a place to stay where she regularly encounters Vittorio Teglia, a local villain who desires her. Her happiness is complete when she meets Tom McCann, a wild Irishman who only has eyes for Lily. When Lily is tragically forced to walk away from her new life, she is driven to the streets and prostitution, dreading the day that Tom discovers what she's become. A day that dawns all too soon... What readers are saying about Riches of the Heart: 'I love this storyline, the details of the old days, and the interesting characters' 'One of the best books l have ever read' 'Absolutely wonderful - five stars' Don't miss the heart-stopping sequel: No One Promised Me Tomorrow
Release

Panning for Gold

Author: Doneareum S. Winston

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1467059714

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 268

View: 7870

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Panning for Gold isthe remarkable and memorable journey of a youngman who has to come to terms with the adversities he had tostruggle againstas a child and teenager growing up in foster care from the ages of 6-19 years. His mother was a paranoid schizophrenic and he never knew his real father. All he had was his two younger brothers and his belief in a higher power to help him endure and overcome the pain. As his faith was constantly tested, he observed howmany people feel that the past should be left behind but his past constantly resurfaces as he bounces from home to home and shelter to shelter. The young childwas gifted in the literary arts but never accepted his talent because he wasalways too busy tryingto fit in with his surroundings to maintain a placement.It is a heartwrenching, yet funnytale of what many children today have toendurewhile coming from a broken home, but gives insight to what you can attain and achieve if only youstop to sift through the dirt of lifeand learn tobelieve in yourself; for who knows what you may find when you finally begin to look within.
Release

Harlequin Nocturne April 2015 Box Set

Moonlight and Diamonds\Possessing the Witch

Author: Michele Hauf,Elle James

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1460390636

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 5684

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Do you harbor passionate otherworldly desires where the normal and paranormal collide? Let Harlequin® Nocturne bring you into dark and dangerous territory where your senses will be awakened. This Nocturne box set includes Moonlight and Diamonds by NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Michele Hauf and Possessing the Witch by Elle James. Harlequin® Nocturne features 2 new full-length paranormal romances for one great price every month!
Release

The Bells of Bournville Green

Author: Annie Murray

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 0330527002

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 5608

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Pretty seventeen-year-old Greta has never known a stable family life. With no father, and loathing her mother Ruby's latest boyfriend, Greta finds life hard at home and is happiest at work with her friends at the Cadbury factory in Birmingham where she is popular with the boys. Life takes a turn for the worse when her missing vixen of a sister Marleen turns up during the freezing winter of 1962. Greta soon decides that her only way out is marriage, but all too soon she discovers that life with her old class mate Trevor is not a ticket to freedom and happiness. She finds herself on the streets, pregnant and homeless . . . She is taken in by her mother's old friends, Edie and Anatoli Gruschov. In Anatoli, Greta finds the father she has never had. Kindly Edie loves to mother people and is desperately missing her son David and his family who have settled in Israel. But the love and security of this haven is soon shattered by appalling tragedy, which affects all the chocolate girls and their children and changes life forever . . . Continuing the saga begun in Annie Murray's Chocolate Girls, and set in 1960s Birmingham, The Bells of Bournville Green is a story of families whose lives are entwined, of belonging and loss . . . and of a young woman's search for transforming love.
Release

The Evil Legacy of Dr. Jürgen

Author: A.E Garcia ,Nico Sanchez

Publisher: First Edition Design Pub.

ISBN: 1622878191

Category: Fiction

Page: 144

View: 5673

DOWNLOAD NOW »

It is 2007. The real estate bubble has burst and there are massive lay-offs across the country. Families are losing their homes. A California family dealing with layoffs and the impending repossession of their home has to depend on their faith in God to help them. In an answer to their prayers, the mother, Anne finds that she has inherited some acreage and a farm house from a mysterious Great-Uncle Carl. The family, which includes their three grown children and their families, leave behind their home in Los Angeles and move into this rural one. Their Grandfather, Tony, who is suffering from Alzheimer's disease, must come live with them. Surprisingly, he informs the family that he had once lived at the house, when it had been a Juvenile work-farm run by Anne's Great Uncle, Dr. Carl. He tells them his long-hid secret of being arrested and sent there. Upon their moving in, unusual things start happening. Family members feel uneasy. Items move by themselves. Shadows are seen moving about. Scratching noises are heard coming from a particular closet. With the help of a local photographer, who also dabbles in a 'Ghost Finders Club' they find evidence of a haunting. A psychic comes to investigate and identifies numerous spirits that are present, including a stronger, evil spirit. By reading hidden journals that were found in the barn, they discover that Great-Uncle Carl was a psychiatrist who ran the work farm for juvenile delinquents in the late 30's and early 40's. The doctor was friends with a powerful Los Angeles County judge. A deal was arranged between them for Dr. Carl to take in teens to treat them for various perceived mental illnesses. The doctor tries to perfect his new methods of orbital lobotomy and electro-shock therapy by using the boys as guinea pigs. With the help of a priest and a psychic the family attempts to remove the spirit of the dead doctor from the house. The culmination of the thrills occurs when a huge storm hits, leaving the occupants at the mercy of what remains in the house with them with nothing but each other. Keywords: Evil, Haunting, Lobotomy, Electro-Shock Therapy, Work Farms, Inheritance, Nuevo, California, Westchester, Los Angeles, Psychiatrist, Mental Hospital, Committed, Orbital Lobotomy, Mental Illness, Alzheimer's Disease, God, Faith, Courage, Belief, Abortion, Ghosts, Spirits, Religion, Priest, Séance, Psychic, Poltergeist, Legacy, Juvenile Delinquent.
Release

Acceptance

A Novel

Author: Susan Coll

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 1429933585

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 3773

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A comic chronicle of a year in the life in the college admissions cycle. It's spring break of junior year and the college admissions hysteria is setting in. "AP" Harry (so named for the unprecedented number of advanced placement courses he has taken) and his mother take a detour from his first choice, Harvard, to visit Yates, a liberal arts school in the Northeast that is enjoying a surge in popularity as a result of a statistical error that landed it on the top-fifty list of the U.S. News & World Report rankings. There, on Yates's dilapidated grounds, Harry runs into two of his classmates from Verona High, an elite public school in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. There's Maya Kaluantharana, a gifted athlete whose mediocre SAT scores so alarm her family that they declare her learning disabled, and Taylor Rockefeller, Harry's brooding neighbor, who just wants a good look at the dormitory bathrooms. With the human spirit of Tom Perrotta and the engaging honesty of Curtis Sittenfeld's Prep, Susan Coll reveals the frantic world of college admissions, where kids recalibrate their GPAs based on daily quizzes, families relocate to enhance the chance for Ivy League slots, and everyone is looking for the formula for admittance. Meanwhile, Yates admissions officer Olivia Sheraton sifts through applications looking for something-anything-to distinguish one applicant from the next. For all, the price of admission requires compromise; for a few, the ordeal blossoms into an unexpected journey of discovery.
Release