Bloodmagic

Author: Helen Harper

Publisher: Kerry Harper

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 228

View: 4475

DOWNLOAD NOW »

After escaping the claws of Corrigan, the Lord Alpha of the Brethren, Mack is trying to lead a quiet lonely life in Inverness in rural Scotland, away from anyone who might happen to be a shapeshifter. However, when she lands a job at an old bookstore owned by a mysterious elderly woman who not only has a familiar passion for herbal lore but also seems to know more than she should, Mack ends up caught in a maelstrom between the Ministry of Mages, the Fae and the Brethren. Now she has to decide between staying hidden and facing the music, as well as confronting her real feelings for the green eyed power of Corrigan himself. This is the second book in the popular urban fantasy series, Blood Destiny.
Release

Blood Shards of a Shattered Destiny

Author: Austin Smith

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1468500783

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 4176

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Jace had the prince in his hand and was seconds away from slaughtering the last member of the royal bloodline who had for so long oppressed or killed people like Jace. Now he had the power to stop it. Jace wanted to see the eyes of the prince as his soul was drained, but that's when he saw something—something different. In this boy's eyes he saw something that he used to see in himself. Jace dropped the prince, turned on his heel, and started to walk away. As he walked, the remaining blood of the slain swirled around him as its power entered him. He had to think. Something was wrong. He created a portal from the remaining blood that he didn't suck power from, and before he entered, he turned to the prince. "I am Jace. I am no god, but a mortal," and with that he stepped into the portal.
Release

Her Blood is Gold

Celebrating the Power of Menstruation

Author: Lara Owen

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 187

View: 3552

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ancient reverence for the mystery and magic of menstruation has been replaced by silence, ignorance, and PMS jokes. Breaking the silence of the menstruation taboo, here is a pioneering and liberating exploration of the "M" in PMS. The powerful stories of three very different women help women recognize the power of their periods.
Release

A Tremor in the Bitter Earth

Book 2 of the Tielmaran Chronicles

Author: Katya Reimann

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1429979720

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 2520

DOWNLOAD NOW »

It is a time for celebration in Tielmark, at long last free from the age-old rule of the decadent but powerful Bissanty empire. Yet as the young glamour witch Gaultry Blas travels to witness the sacred rites which will renew her prince's magical bond to the land and its twin goddesses, she had no idea of the trials that await her and all Tielmark. Foiling an attempt by Bissanty assassins to taint the prince with dark, poisonous magic, she finds herself thrown into the midst of a sinister and dangerous plot. With one of the assassins as her unlikely ally, she must journey deep into the heart of Bissanty-where it will take all her skill and magic to uncover the last hidden ties that bind Tielmark's destiny to that of its depraved former masters... At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.
Release

Destiny's Conflict

Author: Janny Wurts

Publisher: Voyager

ISBN: 9780008230029

Category:

Page: 512

View: 6939

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The long-awaited second book of the fourth story arc - Sword of the Canon - in the epic fantasy series, the Wars of Light and Shadow. Sweeping defeat True Sect warhost resets the stage of an epic conflict: Divine avatar, Lysaer's unstable integrity lies under threat of total downfall, and as his determined protector, Daliana will face the most frightening decision of her young life. Master of Shadow, marked for death and still hunted, Arithon's critical quest to recover his obscured past entangles him in a web of deep intrigue and ancient perils beyond his imagining. Condemned initiate of the Koriathain, Elaira's urgent pursuit of the Biedar Tribes' secret embroils her in the terrible directive of the Fellowship Sorcerers, while Dakar the Mad Prophet confronts the hard reckoning for his misspent past, and Tarens is steered by a destiny far from his crofter's origins. The penultimate volume of the Wars of Light and Shadows will touch the grand depths of Athera's endowment, and deliver the thrilling finale of arc IV, the Sword of the Canon. War, blood, magic, mystery - and the most hidden powers of all will stand or fall on their hour of unveiling.
Release

The Curse of Eve, the Wound of the Hero

Blood, Gender, and Medieval Literature

Author: Peggy McCracken

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 0812202759

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 200

View: 809

DOWNLOAD NOW »

In The Curse of Eve, the Wound of the Hero, Peggy McCracken explores the role of blood symbolism in establishing and maintaining the sex-gender systems of medieval culture. Reading a variety of literary texts in relation to historical, medical, and religious discourses about blood, and in the context of anthropological and religious studies, McCracken offers a provocative examination of the ways gendered cultural values were mapped onto blood in the Middle Ages. As McCracken demonstrates, blood is gendered when that of men is prized in stories about battle and that of women is excluded from the public arena in which social and political hierarchies are contested and defined through chivalric contest. In her examination of the conceptualization of familial relationships, she uncovers the privileges that are grounded in gendered definitions of blood relationships. She shows that in narratives about sacrifice a father's relationship to his son is described as a shared blood, whereas texts about women accused of giving birth to monstrous children define the mother's contribution to conception in terms of corrupted, often menstrual blood. Turning to fictional representations of bloody martyrdom and of eucharistic ritual, McCracken juxtaposes the blood of the wounded guardian of the grail with that of Christ and suggests that the blood from the grail king's wound is characterized in opposition to that of women and Jewish men. Drawing on a range of French and other literary texts, McCracken shows how the dominant ideas about blood in medieval culture point to ways of seeing modern values associated with blood in a new light, and how modern representations in turn suggest new perspectives on medieval perceptions.
Release

Destiny's Conflict: Book Two of Sword of the Canon (the Wars of Light and Shadow, Book 10)

Author: Janny Wurts

Publisher: Harper Voyager

ISBN: 9780008260293

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 6734

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The long-awaited second book of the fourth story arc - Sword of the Canon - in the epic fantasy series, the Wars of Light and Shadow. Lysaer's unstable integrity lies under threat of total downfall, and as his determined protector, Daliana will face the most frightening decision of her young life. Arithon, Master of Shadow, is marked for death and still hunted, when his critical quest to recover his obscured past entangles him in a web of deep intrigue and ancient perils beyond his imagining. Elaira's urgent pursuit of the Biedar Tribes' secret embroils her in the terrible directive of the Fellowship Sorcerers, while Dakar -- the Mad Prophet -- confronts the hard reckoning for the colossal mistake of his misspent past, and Tarens is steered by a destiny far from his crofter's origins. The penultimate volume of The Wars of Light and Shadow will touch the grand depths of Athera's endowment, and deliver the thrilling finale of arc IV, the Sword of the Canon. War, blood, magic, mystery - and the most hidden powers of all - will stand or fall on their hour of unveiling.
Release

The Consort

Author: K.A. Linde

Publisher: K.A. Linde Inc.

ISBN: N.A

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 450

View: 4181

DOWNLOAD NOW »

After the loss of a friend and a false imprisonment in an Eleysian dungeon, Cyrene has no interest in destiny. Her heart was shattered, friends scattered, and her home is nothing but a pretty illusion. Even her magic won’t cooperate. Only desperation can turn her to the last person she should trust: Prince Kael. His darkness mirrors a growing force lurking within her. A struggle she never imagined threatens to consume her. And as friends and foes begin to show their true colors, she starts questioning whether anyone is who they seem. Even herself. p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Helvetica; color: #454545} Find out in the third book in this epic fantasy tale that Susan Dennard called "perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.”
Release

The Bone Doll's Twin

Author: Lynn Flewelling

Publisher: Spectra

ISBN: 0307572463

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 2656

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Sometimes the price of destiny is higher than anyone imagined.... Dark Magic, Hidden Destiny For three centuries a divine prophecy and a line of warrior queens protected Skala. But the people grew complacent and Erius, a usurper king, claimed his young half sister’s throne. Now plague and drought stalk the land, war with Skala’s ancient rival Plenimar drains the country’s lifeblood, and to be born female into the royal line has become a death sentence as the king fights to ensure the succession of his only heir, a son. For King Erius the greatest threat comes from his own line — and from Illior’s faithful, who spread the Oracle’s words to a doubting populace. As noblewomen young and old perish mysteriously, the king’s nephew — his sister’s only child — grows toward manhood. But unbeknownst to the king or the boy, strange, haunted Tobin is the princess’s daughter, given male form by a dark magic to protect her until she can claim her rightful destiny. Only Tobin’s noble father, two wizards of Illior, and an outlawed forest witch know the truth. Only they can protect young Tobin from a king’s wrath, a mother’s madness, and the terrifying rage of her brother’s demon spirit, determined to avenge his brutal murder.... From the Paperback edition.
Release