Behind Closed Doors

A Novel

Author: B. A. Paris

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1250121019

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 8049

DOWNLOAD NOW »

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING DEBUT PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER YOU CAN'T MISS! The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie? “A hair-raising debut, both unsettling and addictive...A chilling thriller that will keep you reading long into the night.” —Mary Kubica, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of The Good Girl “This is one readers won’t be able to put down.” —Booklist (starred review) "A can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” —Library Journal (starred review) “This debut is guaranteed to haunt you...Warning: brace yourself.” —Bustle (10 New Thrillers to Read This Summer) “The sense of believably and terror that engulfs Behind Closed Doors doesn't waver.” —The Associated Press, picked up by The Washington Post “This was one of the best and most terrifying psychological thrillers I have ever read.” —San Francisco Book Review Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace. He has looks and wealth; she has charm and elegance. He’s a dedicated attorney who has never lost a case; she is a flawless homemaker, a masterful gardener and cook, and dotes on her disabled younger sister. Though they are still newlyweds, they seem to have it all. You might not want to like them, but you do. You’re hopelessly charmed by the ease and comfort of their home, by the graciousness of the dinner parties they throw. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are inseparable. Some might call this true love. Others might wonder why Grace never answers the phone. Or why she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. Or why she never seems to take anything with her when she leaves the house, not even a pen. Or why there are such high-security metal shutters on all the downstairs windows. Some might wonder what’s really going on once the dinner party is over, and the front door has closed. From bestselling author B. A. Paris comes the gripping thriller and international phenomenon Behind Closed Doors.
Release

Deliberation Behind Closed Doors

Transparency and Lobbying in the European Union

Author: Daniel Naurin

Publisher: ECPR Press

ISBN: 0955248841

Category: Political Science

Page: 184

View: 4222

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Do transparency and publicity have the power to civilise politics? In deliberative democratic theory this is a common claim. Publicity, it is argued, forces actors to switch from market-style bargaining to a behaviour more appropriate for the political sphere, where the proper way of reaching agreement is by convincing others using public-spirited arguments. Daniel Naurin has conducted the first comprehensive analysis and test of the theory of publicity's civilising effect. The theory is tested on business lobbyists - presumably the most market-oriented actors in politics - acting on different arenas characterised by varying degrees of transparency and publicity. Innovative scenario-interviews with lobbying consultants in Brussels and in Stockholm are compared and contrasted with a unique sample of previously confidential lobbying letters. The results are both disappointing and encouraging to deliberative democratic theorists. While the positive force of publicity seems to be overrated, it is found that even behind closed doors business lobbyists must adapt to the norms of the forum.
Release

Behind Closed Doors

Author: S. M.

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 147978656X

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 152

View: 6009

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Behind Closed Doors is a heartwarming story that talks about survival and a mother's suffering. SM bravely opens her door and shares her experience on how she overcame her dark shadows while liberating herself from her inner fears and standing for what's right.Abandoned at 2 days old and raised in a violent household while being sexually abused for 5 years, SM came to find her strength through her books believing that someday, she will be freed from life's turmoil and be saved by her prince charming. At 17 she fell in love and at 20 wed the man of her dreams in the hope that he is the answer to her prayers, unfortunately life doesn't turn out according to plan and ended up discovering that her prince charming was a wolf in a sheep's clothing and the abuses continued. Endurance was the mode to survive not for herself but for her two sons. She found the courage to run away and took the role as father and mother while rebuilding her life once again.
Release

Behind Closed Doors

A Novel

Author: Natalie R. Collins

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 9781429991711

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 4764

DOWNLOAD NOW »

For twenty years, they had been closer than sisters, sharing girlhood secrets, their hopes and dreams for the future—and a soul-searing promise. Melissa was the only one who knew what had really happened to Jannie beyond the sacred walls of the Mormon Temple the night that changed her life forever.... UNTIL HER BEST FRIEND VANISHED WITHOUT A TRACE. Now Melissa has gone missing, just days after entrusting Jannie with a mysterious box that someone would kill to possess. And someone has—leaving in their murderous wake an innocent victim and a trail of blood that leads to the heart of Jannie's hidden burden. Desperate to protect her secret, and to find out what has happened to Melissa, Jannie trusts no one. Not the stranger whose piercing green eyes have already seen too much, nor the family and friends whose familiar fold may be shielding a cold-blooded killer who is lurking BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.
Release

Behind Closed Doors

Author: Danielle Allysandra Wauren

Publisher: Experiences & Experiments Books Pte Ltd

ISBN: 981458049X

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: N.A

View: 9505

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Debra has always felt insecure about who she was. She hated the life she had with her mother, never knew her dad. She struggles even more upon discovering she has a superpower. Seeing the future was her ability. Her mission was to find who her dad was but is interrupted when she found her mom dead on the floor after coming home from school. Juggling two missions, she finds out this it’s a tangled tale as the murderer was the person she was actually looking for – Dad.
Release

Behind Closed Doors: Free Sample

Author: B A Paris

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 1474054358

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 5883

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A debut psychological thriller you cannot miss ‘If you love The Girl on the Train read Behind Closed Doors’ - ELLE magazine
Release

Behind Closed Doors

Violence in the American Family

Author: Murray Murray Arnold Straus,Richard J. Gelles,Suzanne K. Steinmetz

Publisher: Transaction Publishers

ISBN: 9781412817936

Category: Social Science

Page: 301

View: 1038

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Behind Closed Doors is grounded in the unprecedented national survey of the extent, patterns, and causes of violence in the American family. Based on a study of over 2,000 families, the authors provide landmark insights into this phenomenon of violence and what causes Americans to inflict it on their family members. The authors explore the relationship between spousal abuse and child abuse as well as abuse between siblings, violence by children against their parents, and the causes and effects of verbal abuse. Taken together, their analysis provides a vivid picture of how violence is woven into the fabric of family life and why the hallmark of family life is both love and violence. This is a comprehensive, highly readable account of interest to both the professional and the layperson on an important topic, which concerns the social well-being of us all.
Release

Behind Closed Doors

Her Father's House and Other Stories of Sicily

Author: Maria Messina

Publisher: The Feminist Press at CUNY

ISBN: 1558616489

Category: Fiction

Page: 144

View: 6355

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Ten stories of impoverished Sicilian women in the early 20th century—“honed, polished, devastatingly direct . . . verismo at its unsentimental best” (Kirkus Reviews). The Sicilian writer Maria Messina’s captivating and brutal stories of the women of her home island are presented in a “lyrical and immediate” English translation by Elise Magistro (Publishers Weekly). Messina, who died in 1944, was the foremost female practitioner of verismo—the Italian literary realism pioneered by fellow Sicilian Giovanni Verga. Published between 1908 and 1928, Messina’s fiction represents the massive Sicilian immigration to America occurring at that time. The individuals in these stories are caught between the traditions they respect and a desire to move beyond them. Women are shuttered in their houses, virtual servants to their families, left behind while working men immigrate to the United States in fortune-seeking droves. A cultural album that captures the lives of peasant, working-class, and middle-class women, “Messina’s words will leave their mark. Their power makes them impossible to forget” (The Philadelphia Inquirer).
Release

Behind Closed Doors

Author: Susan R. Sloan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 075156978X

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 3307

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A gripping and emotional drama, perfect for fans of B A Paris and Jodi Picoult. Valerie O'Connor is just eighteen years old when she marries handsome war veteran, Jack Marsh. Blinded by love, she leaves her close-knit family behind and moves halfway across the country to be with him. But Jack is a damaged man and cannot stop himself taking out his fears on his wife and five children. Isolated from the people who care about her most and too scared to ask for help, Valerie is unable to protect herself or her family. One by one, pushed to the extreme, the children escape and Valerie is left to face the harsh reality of her marriage and her life. And then, as if out of the ashes, another generation begins. Have the Marsh children truly escaped their pasts, or is history doomed to repeat itself? Praise for Susan R. Sloan 'Unputdownable' Daily Mail 'Susan R. Sloan knows how to keep the pressure on' Cosmopolitan Visit the author's website on www.sloanbooks.com
Release

Bunny Tales

Behind Closed Doors at the Playboy Mansion

Author: Izabella St. James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0762432713

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 6649

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When this beach bunny caught the eye of Hugh Hefner at an L.A. nightclub, Izabella St. James was looking for a fun break from studying for the bar. As the latest Girlfriend of the Playboy founder, her “break” lasted two years, but life behind the gates of the Playboy Mansion was anything but fun. Sure there were parties, presents, puppies, and plastic surgery; but there was also a curfew, a strict regimen of who sits where on movie night, limited contact with the outside world, and a sex life that was anything but wild and crazy. While the E! reality show, The Girls Next Door, has been a ratings hit, each of the three Playboy Bunnies in the series has since left the Mansion in newsworthy ways: one is engaged to a football player, and Hugh's “main” Girlfriend has finally understood that there would be no fairy-tale marriage and family with the man she literally transformed her life for. Izabella was there to witness how each of these relationships formed, where each Girlfriend fell in the pecking—and bed—order, and when, exactly, the fabled life turned shabby and cheap. From catfights to sneaking in boyfriends, from high-profile guests in the Grotto to the bizarre rituals of the octogenarian at the center of the sexual revolution, Bunny Tales is compulsively readable and endlessly entertaining!
Release