Alive

Author: SM ERickson

Publisher: SM Erickson

ISBN: 1944793089

Category: Fiction

Page: 177

View: 8063

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Vega Fowell has spent her life in the air. In fact, for almost three-and-a-half centuries, everyone has. But as a pilot aboard the airship Perseus, Vega’s life is routine, bordering on stale. The massive ship never goes anywhere—all she has to do is keep it afloat. Humanity has lived on the airships in relative comfort, far above Ashby’s nanobot-created wasteland. When the mechanics of the machinery hit critical errors, the ones in charge need to find a way to survive on land, without causing widespread panic. It’s an impossible feat—one Vega must overcome if she, and the rest of passengers, want to survive. But hope is born when Vega does a flyover of the mainland and spots something suspicious. An island. Smoke. What looks like the beginnings of a settlement in the midst of the bots. Could there be actual people down there…alive?
Release

English Alive

Author: Alan Etherton

Publisher: Nelson Thornes

ISBN: 9780748785353

Category: English language

Page: 442

View: 2935

DOWNLOAD NOW »

English Alive is a four-book series designed specifically to meet the needs of English students in Caribbean secondary schools. The series adopts a lively and exciting new approach to the study of English, helping students to become more confident in their use of English and ultimately succeed at their exam.
Release

'Being Alive Well'

Health and the Politics of Cree Well-being

Author: Naomi Adelson

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 9780802083265

Category: Social Science

Page: 141

View: 2991

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A critical anthropological analysis of health theory with specific reference to the James Bay Cree. The author argues that definitions of health are not simply reflections of physiological soundness but convey broader cultural and political realities.
Release

Is It Alive?

Author: Kimberlee Graves

Publisher: Creative Teaching Press

ISBN: 9780916119256

Category: Education

Page: 8

View: 1362

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Repetitive, predictable story lines and illustrations that match the text provide maximum support to the emergent reader. Engaging stories promote reading comprehension, and easy and fun activities on the inside back covers extend learning. Great for Reading First, Fluency, Vocabulary, Text Comprehension, and ESL/ELL!
Release

Alive

Book One of the Generations Trilogy

Author: Scott Sigler

Publisher: Del Rey

ISBN: 0553393111

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 368

View: 6521

DOWNLOAD NOW »

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival. “I open my eyes to darkness. Total darkness. I hear my own breathing, but nothing else. I lift my head . . . it thumps against something solid and unmoving. There is a board right in front of my face. No, not a board . . . a lid.” A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief—she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust, but no people . . . and no answers. She knows only one thing about herself—her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin—yet she finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them, or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another. Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn. Praise for Alive “Suspenseful . . . [Alive] lives up to its hype, packing plenty of thrills.”—Entertainment Weekly “Fascinating and intriguing . . . a cross between Lord of the Flies and The Maze Runner and yet . . . so much more.”—Fresh Fiction “A ripping, claustrophobic thunderbolt of a novel, Scott Sigler’s Alive gives us an unforgettable young hero who must find the inner strength to lead without knowing where she is, who she is, and how bitterly the odds are stacked against her.”—Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising “Sigler has created a wonderful and engrossing character in M. Savage. Strong and smart, but with the naïveté and misgivings of any teenage girl, she’s someone you’ll definitely want on your side when s*** hits the fan, which it most certainly does.”—Veronica Belmont, host of Sword & Laser “A tense, unsettling page-turner of a story—both deeply strange and wildly compelling.”—Cherie Priest, author of Boneshaker and Maplecroft “From the first page I was hooked. The puzzle unfolds masterfully, right down to the last page.”—Dr. Phil Plait, author of Bad Astronomy From the Hardcover edition.
Release

Alive in Christ

How to Find Renewed Spiritual Power

Author: Charles W. Price

Publisher: Kregel Publications

ISBN: 9780825493508

Category: Religion

Page: 128

View: 2648

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Using several Old Testament types, Price explores the biblical principles for finding and renewing one's spiritual purpose and power.
Release

Soccer Alive

The Game Is the Best Teacher

Author: Detlev Brueggemann

Publisher: Meyer & Meyer Verlag

ISBN: 1841262358

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 192

View: 6207

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Soccer is a fast-paced game that requires players to be not only quick on their feet, but also in their decisions. Everyday training focuses on improving technical and tactical abilities, but almost always neglects the ability to read the game and make effective decisions quickly."Soccer Alive" provides players with a new and insightful training ......
Release

Sociology Alive!

Author: Stephen Moore

Publisher: Nelson Thornes

ISBN: 9780748754649

Category: Sociology

Page: 440

View: 2694

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Stop talking double Dutch and start talking the official language of the Netherlands with this guide, which should help you to build your vocabulary and perfect your grammar. Whether you are conversing with a tulip seller or asking directions to the Van Gogh museum, this title aims to help you feel confident understanding and speaking the language.
Release

Buried Alive

The True Story of Kidnapping, Captivity, and a Dramatic Rescue (NelsonFree)

Author: Roy Hallums

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN: 1418584150

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 1622

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A true-life adventure sure to shock as well as inspire. AK47s, masked thugs, and brutal urgency erupt from Roy Hallums' account of his abduction in Iraq, shredding through those frequently sterile cable news reports revealing that another "American contractor is being held hostage . . ." Hallums was the everyman behind that report?a 56-year-old retired Naval commander working as a food supply contractor in Baghdad's high-end Mansour District. His abduction was transacted in a matter of minutes, amidst a hail of gunfire and a handful of casualties. For the first few months of his captivity, Hallums endured beatings and psychological torture while being shuffled from one ramshackle safe house to another. From the four-foot-tall crawlspace where he carried out the bulk of his nearly year-long abduction, Hallums established a surprising degree of normalcy?a system of routines and timekeeping, along with an attention to the particulars that defined his horrific ordeal. His experience is recreated here, rich with harrowing specifics and surprising observations.
Release

Language Alive in the Classroom

Author: Rebecca S. Wheeler

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780275960551

Category: Education

Page: 228

View: 4275

DOWNLOAD NOW »

When it comes to grammar, teachers often wonder how to reach their students. This volume offers a resounding response. Articles range from an exploration of cultural attitudes toward grammar to models of how students may become sleuths as they discover the often surprising patterns of our language. Teachers are shown how to bring language alive in the classroom.
Release