The Taking of Annie Thorne

The Taking of Annie Thorne

I wandered around a bit more, then sat on a swing in the deserted playground for a while. When the street lights started to blink on, like startled orange eyes, I began my walk up towards the pit. I'd packed a torch in my bag, ...

Author: C. J. Tudor

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 9781405930987

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 393

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER 'TERRIFIC IN EVERY WAY' LEE CHILD The spine-tingling, sinister thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Chalk Man . . . ___________ One night, Annie disappeared. There were searches, appeals. Everyone thought the worst. And then, after 48 hours, she came back. But she couldn't - or wouldn't - say what had happened to her. Something happened to my sister. I can't explain what. I just know that when she came back, she wasn't the same. She wasn't my Annie. I didn't want to admit, even to myself, that sometimes I was scared to death of my own little sister. _______________ 'Confirms Tudor as Britain's female Stephen King. There is a creeping dread on every page' Daily Mail 'Shows that her excellent The Chalk Man was no one-off in matching Stephen King for creepiness' Sunday Express's Bestseller Predictions 2019 'Written with such skill it's hard to believe this is only her second book. It gives King a run for his money' James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series 'Dark, gothic and utterly compelling' J. P. Delaney, author of Believe Me and The Girl Before 'Deliciously creepy . . . An absolute corker of a book' Riley Sager, bestselling author of The Last Time I Lied 'Tudor's 2018 The Chalk Man was a standout mystery novel with a fresh voice and a spooky plot. This is even better' Washington Post
Categories: Fiction

Save the Island

Save the Island

George gave the torch a shake. ... Her bag was still slung over her shoulders, and she opened it to put the useless torch away. As she stuffed it into the bag, her fingers brushed against something, and she started to laugh.

Author: Enid Blyton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781444906479

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 337

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series. Join the Famous Five on their sixth adventure for their top secret project at Kirrin Cottage - and choose for yourself how the mystery ends. Find Uncle Quentin and explore the mysterious tower - but don't give away any secrets! You choose where to search, but will you save Kirrin Island from destruction or figure it out too late? This exciting game story is based on Enid Blyton's Five On Kirrin Island Again. The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Across the Dreaming Night

Across the Dreaming Night

Oh God — the photos! They were in my bag and where was my bag? The policeman shone his torch around the sand and there was Q's suit coat and a bit further away his trousers where he'd stepped out of them before chasing me and, ...

Author: Judith White

Publisher: Penguin Random House New Zealand Limited

ISBN: 9781869796617

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 668

Shortlisted for Montana NZ Book of the Year Award, this is a vivid and beautifully drawn novel of love, loss and longing. A deeply moving novel in which disparate lives are drawn together. Quentin Stanley develops an unexpected connection with his hairdresser; while Matt, a troubled youth, finds himself with a baby to look after. A deception ensues that entangles unwilling participants in a dangerous and emotionally fraught situation.
Categories: Fiction

Fire and Roses

Fire and Roses

Only when you know that, will I grant you your wish...at a price, as ever.' 'But you said this was the last test, you—' 'You have some paper. Do you have something to write with?' I fumbled in my bag and found the pen I'd used for the ...

Author: Fiona Dunbar

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781408314463

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 253

'Hey, I'm Kitty Slade. My life used to be pretty, well, normal. But it turns out seeing dead people is a big deal. I had no idea what I was in for...' When Kitty goes to stay at a friend's house, it's not long before she discovers a ghostly ancient curse is at work. Things are about to get a whole lot more spooky for Kitty Slade...
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Haunted House on the corner

Haunted House on the corner

Shaking in fear, I searched my back pocket for a match. It was a good thing I brought a torch down with me, but now the problem is, how will I get my torch out of my bag? I felt the bag and placed it gently on the ground.

Author: Kenny Johns

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781387553648

Category:

Page:

View: 493

Categories:

Mr Dark

Mr Dark

Bones said, as he glanced in through the window. “It leads to the kitchen I think? Let me get a torch out of my bag.” He reached into his bag and searched for a torch, he then shone it in through the dark old dusty window opening, “Yea!

Author: Lance Reed

Publisher: Lance Reed

ISBN: 9781906801717

Category: Horror tales

Page: 121

View: 191

Categories: Horror tales

The Fox

The Fox

I said hi to Matt and Larry and dropped off my bag . I grabbed a torch and a cup of coffee and walked to Jahna's lodge . I closed my eyes and saw her smile as she stirred a rich rabbit stew , cooking over the peat fire .

Author: Arlene Radasky

Publisher: Arlene Radasky

ISBN: 1439211752

Category: Fiction

Page: 418

View: 474

Crossing time, a young, first century Caledonian woman favored by the Goddess Morrigna has the power to merge minds with a druid of her time and a twenty-first century woman in order to save her clan.
Categories: Fiction

Nothing happens here

 Nothing happens here

as if I was heading into a house down one of the long driveways near the trees, I ducked sideways into the bush and hurried down the dodgy steps cut into the hill. ... I paused long enough to pull my trusty torch from my bag.

Author: Cat Connor

Publisher: 9mm Press

ISBN: 9780473557584

Category: Fiction

Page: 334

View: 570

“I’m looking for a private investigator. I have lost something.” Not someone? “My speciality is people and I’ve been known to find the occasional lost dog.” “How about garden ornaments?” “Pardon?” I could feel a frown puckering the skin on my forehead and worked hard to dislodge it. “I’ve lost some garden ornaments.” “That’s not something I’ve ever been asked to find before. What type of ornaments?” “Gnomes,” he said with a straight face. “Gnomes? Are you serious?” Veronica Tracy PI has quite a bit on her plate, on any given day: her 94-year-old Nana and the Cronies of Doom, her cousin and his interesting love life, a retired greyhound, a new and successful private investigation company, and a crazy person following her. She juggles life with a sense of humour and the enduring knowledge that everything is temporary. This book is written in New Zealand English and set in Upper Hutt, New Zealand.
Categories: Fiction

Every Sparrow Falling

Every Sparrow Falling

It took me a minute to remember that I had a torch in my bag. I clicked it on and swung the beam around the forest. Hard to know where exactly I was with the thin beam lighting only a few branches and stones at a time, ...

Author: Shirley-Anne McMillan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780349003313

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 288

View: 557

'Be nice to the majority of people and they won't bother you much. Don't get too involved. Have a laugh but keep your distance.' These are the words 16-year-old Cariad lives by. She's just been placed in yet another foster home, this time with an elderly Christian couple in a small town off the coast of Northern Ireland. Cariad knows how to play this game. She'll toe the line just enough that her new foster parents don't ask what she gets up to when the sun goes down, just enough that they leave her alone. It's easier that way. But when a boy at school disappears - presumed dead - and no one seems to care, it really bothers her. Then one night out walking on the clifftops, she sees him and he asks her to keep his secret. Don't get too involved. Have a laugh but keep your distance. These are the words Cariad has lived by . . . until now.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Boy 23

Boy 23

I get up off the ground and grab my bag. I search inside for the torch. I wind the handle to charge it and then wait a second, making sure I haven't woken the man or his hound. And when I'm sure they're still sleeping, I switch on the ...

Author: Jim Carrington

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781408822913

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 384

View: 652

Boy 23 isn't in My Place any more. He can't see The Screen, he can't hear The Voice. Boy 23 is alone. One dark night, Boy 23 is thrown in the back of the van and driven out of My Place – the only home he has ever known. He is abandoned in a forest with a rucksack containing the bare essentials for survival. Before the van drives away, a voice tells him he must run as far as he can. His life depends on it. Boy 23 has never known another human. Boy 23 has never even been outside. So who is he? Why do people want to kill him? And more to the point, who is the voice that wants to save him? A hugely fast-paced dystopian page-turner which by the end will leave you in a state of shock. For fans of Chaos Walking and Charlie Brooker's Black Mirror.
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction