A Scandal in Battersea

Author: Mercedes Lackey

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0756411629

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 5883

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The twelfth novel in Mercedes Lackey's magical Elemental Masters series reimagines Sherlock Holmes in a richly-detailed alternate 20th-century England Christmas is a very special time of year. It is special for Psychic Nan Killian and Medium Sarah Lyon-White and their ward Suki, who are determined to celebrate it properly. It is special for their friends, Doctor John Watson, and his wife Mary, both Elemental Masters, who have found great delight in the season seeing it through young Suki’s eyes. It is also special to others...for very different reasons. For Christmas Eve is also hallowed to dark forces, powers older than mankind, powers that come awake on this long, cold night. Powers best left alone. Powers that could shake the foundations of London and beyond. It begins slowly. Women disappearing in the dark of night, women only missed by those of their own kind. The whispers only begin when they start to reappear—because when they do, they are no longer sane. And when Nan and Sarah and the Watsons are called on to examine these victims, they discover that it was no ordinary horror of the streets that drove them mad. But then, the shadows reach for other victims—girls of good, even exalted families, who vanish from concerts, lectures, and evening balls. And it will take the combined forces of Magic, Psychic Powers, and the world's greatest detective to stop the darkness before it can conquer all.
Release

The Politics of Marginality

Race, the Radical Right and Minorities in Twentieth Century Britain

Author: Tony Kushner,Kenneth Lunn

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136290826

Category: Political Science

Page: 212

View: 2265

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Immigration to Britain has rarely achieved the levels experienced by the US, but it is nevertheless true of all periods that immigrants, refugees and soujourners have been continually present'. While we may have the beginnings of a history of immigration, ethnicity and race in Britain, there is a lack of historiographical awareness in the subject. The essays in this collection, ranging from specific case studies to broad themes, are an attempt to provide a basis for future discussion.
Release

Battersea Island

Author: Robert H. Nieder

Publisher: Book Venture Publishing LLC

ISBN: 1640691774

Category: Fiction

Page: 274

View: 4568

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mathias Kamau-Barrett takes a hiatus from college to spend time on Battersea Island. He is hopeful that he can get involved with the residents and help them in their tax assessment problem. Upon his arrival to the remote location, he quickly becomes acquainted with Harper Shaye, lead advocate in the fight against the county. Becoming immersed in the situation, he discovers that he possesses the paranormal ability to read people and situations, which guides him to believe that there are ulterior motives within the county and the state to remove an indigenous population from their land.
Release

Battersea Girl

Tracing a London Life

Author: Martin Knight

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1780573839

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 7454

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A couple of years ago, Martin Knight began a quest to delve into his family history. He had a head start on many amateur genealogists, as 30 years earlier he had produced a school project on the very subject. The project was based on the papers and oral history of his then elderly grandmother, Ellen Tregent. Martin dusted this off and began to assemble the chain of events that shaped his grandmother's life. He even made contact with several living relatives who had known Ellen or some of the people and events she described. Ellen Tregent was born in 1888 and died in 1988 - her lifetime encompassing an unprecedented century of social change and world upheaval. She was born into a poor working-class family in Battersea, London. Her grandfather had arrived from Ireland 40 years earlier to escape almost certain death as potato famine ravaged his country. In Battersea Girl, Martin Knight charts Ellen's long and eventful life and the lives of her siblings. They encounter abject poverty, disease, suicide, murder, war and inevitably death, but, equally, the spirit of stoical people who were determined to make the most of their lives shines through in this enchanting book.
Release

From Suffragette to Fascist

The Many Lives of Mary Sophia Allen

Author: Nina Boyd

Publisher: The History Press

ISBN: 0752492780

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 6017

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Mary Allen, once a window-smashing suffragette, went on to become a pioneer policewoman, helping create Britain’s first female police force. Honoured for her work policing munitions factories and bombed towns during the First World War, she was soon infuriating the Establishment, travelling the world in her unauthorised uniform to the acclaim of foreign leaders and the dismay of the British government. Mary’s head was next turned after a meeting with Hitler, and she joined Mosley’s British Union of Fascists, narrowly escaping internment despite suspicions of spying, secret flights to Germany and Nazi salutes. The liaisons she formed with wealthy heiresses funded an extravagant lifestyle and the formation of a private army of women intended to save the country from Communist aerial attacks, nudity and white slavery. Although adored by her loyal friends, Mary was a stubborn, opinionated woman and today her achievements are overshadowed by the eccentricities of her later years. Citing documents specially released from the Home Office and sources contributed from Mary’s own family, Nina Boyd has produced a fascinating account of this extraordinary woman.
Release

A Cuckoo in Candle Lane

From the Sunday Times bestseller comes a gritty and gripping family saga

Author: Kitty Neale

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409139182

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 7455

DOWNLOAD NOW »

A Cuckoo in Candle Lane, is Sunday Times bestseller Kitty Neale's first novel, a powerful drama of family life set in post-war London. When Elsie and Bert Jones move with their children, Ann and Arthur, to Candle Lane, a modest street in Battersea, they miss their comfortable house in Wimbledon. But the move is the right thing to do, while Bert starts a new business. They are a warm-hearted family and Elsie soon makes friends with her less fortunate neighbour, Ruth, and her daughter Sally. But before long Elsie realises that all is not well in the house next door... Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn, this is a rags to riches story from the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Mother's Sacrifice and A Family Scandal.
Release