A Hundred Pieces of Me

Author: Lucy Dillon

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0698173201

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 5312

DOWNLOAD NOW »

"Lovely." --Jojo Moyes, author of Me Before You and One Plus One From the bestselling author of Lost Dogs and Lonely Hearts comes a delightful, compulsively readable novel about second chances and the magic of letting go... Reeling from her recent divorce, Gina Bellamy suddenly finds herself figuring out how to live on her own. Determined to make a fresh start—with her beloved rescue greyhound by her side—Gina knows drastic measures are in order. First up: throwing away all her possessions except for the one hundred things that mean the most to her. But what items are worth saving? Letters from the only man she’s ever loved? A keepsake of the father she never knew? Or a blue glass vase that perfectly captures the light? As she lets go of the past, Gina begins to come to terms with what has happened in her life and discovers that seizing the day is sometimes the only thing to do. And when one decides to do just that...magic happens. Includes an Author Q & A
Release

All I Ever Wanted

Author: Lucy Dillon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444796054

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 4513

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the bestselling author of A Hundred Pieces of Me and One Small Act of Kindness comes a heartwarming, bittersweet and uplifting story of missed chances and unexpected opportunities. 'Lucy Dillon's books make the world a better place' - Heat Caitlin's life is a mess. Her marriage to a man everyone else thinks is perfect has collapsed, along with her self-esteem, and breaking free seems the only option. Nancy, her four-year-old daughter, used to talk all the time; in the car, at nursery, to her brother Joel. Then her parents split up. Her daddy moves out. And Nancy stops speaking. Nancy's Auntie Eva, recently widowed and feeling alone, apart from the companionship of two bewildered pugs, is facing a future without her husband or the dreams she gave up for him. But when Eva agrees to host her niece and nephew once a fortnight, Caitlin and Eva are made to face the different truths about their marriages - and about what they both really want . . . 'Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptitive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better' - Jojo Moyes 'So satisfying and clever and deeply moving' - Sophie Kinsella
Release

The Thousand and One Nights

Commonly Called in England, The Arabian Nights' Entertainments : a New Translation from the Arabic, with Copious Notes

Author: Edward William Lane

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 6726

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release

Unexpected Lessons in Love

What happens when ‘I do’ turns into ‘I don’t know’?

Author: Lucy Dillon

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473541794

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 3323

DOWNLOAD NOW »

From the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of Where the Light Gets in and All I Ever Wanted 'Real, heart-breaking - I loved it' Katie Fforde What happens when 'I do' turns into 'I don't know'? Jeannie always wanted to fall in love, and now she’s finally got the whirlwind romance she dreamed of. Dan’s gorgeous, he’s a successful young vet, and he flew her to New York and proposed on Brooklyn Bridge. Jeannie has to remind herself this is actually her life. It seems too perfect, too magical, to be real. Yet it is. But now she’s on her way to the wedding she can’t shake off the tight sensation crushing her chest. Is it just nerves . . . or is this all happening a bit too fast? Jeannie has one last chance to shout, ‘Stop!’ But just as she grabs it, a twist of fate throws everything she knows into the air like confetti. What Jeannie learns about Dan, about her own heart, and about the power of love itself, will change her world for ever . . . __________________________ 'My heart is smashed and repaired for reading this wonderfully romantic and strong piece of fiction.’ Milly Johnson 'A heartwarming romantic comedy that tells us to be brave and to listen to our hearts.' Veronica Henry
Release

Exploring Arab Folk Literature

Author: Pierre Cachia

Publisher: Edinburgh University Press

ISBN: 0748654070

Category: Social Science

Page: 256

View: 534

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The character and range of Arab folk literature are investigated by Pierre Cachia in this collection of his pioneering essays in the field.
Release

Arabian Nights' Entertainments

Author: Robert L. Mack

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 0191605557

Category: Fiction

Page: 976

View: 2714

DOWNLOAD NOW »

No other edition offers extensive textual apparatus such as explanatory notes, plot summaries, particularly vital as stories are complex and interwoven. The Sultan Schahriar's misguided resolution to shelter himself from the possible infidelities on his wives leads to an outbreak of barbarity in his kingdoms and a reign of terror in his court, stopped only by the resourceful Scheherazade. The tales with which Scheherazade nightly postpones the muderous intent of the sultan have entered our language and our lives like no other collection of narratives before or since. Sinbad, Aladdin, Ali Baba: all make their spectacular entrance on to the stage of English literary history in the Arabian Nights Entertainments (1704-17). The stories contained in this `store house of ingenious fiction' initiate a pattern of literary reference and influence which today remains as powerful and intense as it was throughout the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. This edition reproduces in its entirety the earliest English translation of the French orientalist Antoine Galland's Mille et une Nuits. This remained for over a century the only English translation of the story cycle, influencing an incalculable number of writers, and no other edition offers the complete text supplemented by full textual apparatus. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Release

One Small Act of Kindness

Author: Lucy Dillon

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1444796038

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 4425

DOWNLOAD NOW »

What can you do to make the world a better place? Libby and her husband Jason have moved back to his hometown to turn the family B&B into a boutique hotel. They have left London behind and all the memories - good and bad - that went with it. The injured woman Libby finds lying in the remote country road has lost her memory. She doesn't know why she came to be there, and no one seems to be looking for her. When Libby offers to take her in, this one small act of kindness sets in motion a chain of events that will change many people's lives . . . 'A beautifully written story about friendship, trust and love. I adored it.' - Milly Johnson A perfect summer read for fans of Jojo Moyes and Katie Fforde.
Release

Berlin Noir

Author: Philip Kerr

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440657467

Category: Fiction

Page: 848

View: 7239

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Now in one volume—the first three novels in Philip Kerr’s New York Times bestselling historical mystery series starring hard-boiled detective Bernie Gunther... “A Chandleresque knight errant caught in insane historical surroundings. Bernie walks down streets so mean that nobody can stay alive and remain truly clean.”—John Powers, Fresh Air (NPR) Ex-policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930s Berlin. But then he went freelance, and each case he tackled sucked him further into the grisly excesses of Nazi subculture. And even after the war, amidst the decayed, imperial splendour of Vienna, Bernie uncovered a legacy that made the wartime atrocities look lily-white in comparison... This collection includes: MARCH VIOLETS THE PALE CRIMINAL A GERMAN REQUIEM
Release