3-D Negotiation

Powerful Tools to Change the Game in Your Most Important Deals

Author: David A. Lax,James K. Sebenius

Publisher: Harvard Business Press

ISBN: 1591397995

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 286

View: 1052

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Most discussions on negotiation use an exclusively at-the-table perspective, focused on tactics, persuasion, psychology and other 1-D elements of the negotiation process. Articulating a 3-D perspective, this book presents a practical approach by focusing on the surface process and also on the value to be unlocked with skillful deal-design.
Release

Gaining Ground in Difficult Negotiations

Author: Manon Schonewille,Felix Merks

Publisher: Maklu

ISBN: 9046604039

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 107

View: 8205

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Experienced managers and lawyers know the value of being proficient in negotiations, which are executed every day on nearly everything. Most negotiators are continually faced with diverse and complicated situations, so it is important to have a set of tools for handling challenging situations, as well as for dealing with people who may be difficult to interact with. In practice, there is a common tendency to respond to difficult situations or people with a 'fight or flight' response. Many business negotiations and settlement agreements risk ending with suboptimal outcomes. This book has been compiled to accompany the training of Bruce Patton, one of the world's most prominent scientists and experts on negotiation. It contains the key tools that are necessary to deal with difficult people and tense situations. These crucial insights and skills will enable the reader to change negotiation behavior from 'instinctive' to 'strategic and in control.' The book also includes convenient summaries, practical checklists, worksheets, as well as interviews with influential negotiation scholars, in order to capture the key concepts.
Release

Global Negotiation

The New Rules

Author: William Hernández Requejo,John L. Graham

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466886412

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 5576

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Each year American executives make nearly eight million trips overseas for international business. In the process, they leave billions of dollars on the negotiation table. Global Negotiation provides critical tools to help businesspeople save money (and face) when negotiating across cultural divides. Drawing on their more than 50 combined years of experience, as well as extensive field research with over 2000 business people in 21 different cultures, John L. Graham and William Hernández Requejo have discovered how to create long-lasting commercial relationships around the world. The authors provide a rare combination of practical insight and illuminating anecdotes, and offer examples from well-known companies such as Toyota, Ford, Intel, AT&T, Rockwell, Boeing, and Wal-Mart.
Release

Negotiation Excellence

Successful Deal Making

Author: Michael Benoliel

Publisher: World Scientific Publishing Company

ISBN: 981439792X

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 504

View: 7517

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Negotiation Excellence: Successful Deal Making was written by leading negotiation experts from top-rated universities in the USA and in Asia and its objective is to introduce the readers to the theory and best practices of effective negotiation. The book includes chapters ranging from: preparing and planning well for successful negotiations; building relationships and establishing trust between negotiators; negotiating creatively to create mutual value and win-win; understanding and dealing with negotiators from different cultures; and to managing ethical dilemmas. In addition to emphasizing the link between theory and practice, Negotiation Excellence: Successful Deal Making includes deal examples such as: Renault-Nissan alliance; mega-merger between Arcelor and Mittal Steel; Kraft Foods' acquisition of Cadbury PLC, Walt Disney Company's negotiation with the Hong Kong government; and Komatsu, a Japanese firm's negotiation with Dresser, an American firm.
Release

Sidetracked

Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Author: Francesca Gino

Publisher: Harvard Business Press

ISBN: 1422191389

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 256

View: 7815

DOWNLOAD NOW »

You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals. Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world. For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.
Release

The Dynamics of Conflict

A Guide to Engagement and Intervention

Author: Bernard S. Mayer

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1118178246

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 384

View: 9736

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Dynamics of Conflict When it was published in 2000, Bernie Mayer's The Dynamics of Conflict Resolution quickly became one of the seminal works in the conflict resolution field. The book bridged the gap between abstract theoretical approaches and practical handbooks and became an immensely valuable and accessible resource for experienced and novice practitioners, as well as for professors and students of conflict management who needed a deep yet practical view of conflict and methods for dealing with it. The Dynamics of Conflict is the second edition of Mayer's classic book. While building on the strengths of the first edition, this thoroughly revised and updated book keeps pace with the most current trends and research in the field and explores four key concepts: interactional dynamics, system dynamics, culture and conflict, and conflict engagement. Like the first edition, the focus of the new edition is on the ways we can productively think about conflict and conflict intervention, rather than on specific techniques and processes. Mayer presents ideas about conflict as a set of conceptual tools that build on one another and contribute to a multifaceted view of conflict and conflict intervention but that also stand on their own. Filled with illustrative examples, the book draws from the author's thirty years of experience with interpersonal, family, community, organizational, labor management, environmental, public policy, and international disputes and includes instances of conflicts that have been in the news. In addition, this vital resource contains information on the most important work that has been done in the past decade on culture, systems, and conflict engagement and shows how conflict concepts apply to new technologies such as online communication and conflict resolution efforts on the Web. In the concluding chapter Mayer explores how conflict intervention efforts fit into more general values about peace, democracy, and social justice, and the personal impact that conflict work as a field has on conflict specialists.
Release

Symposium

the role of the judge in the twenty-first century

Author: Boston University. School of Law

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 440

View: 8933

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Release