3-D Negotiation

Powerful Tools to Change the Game in Your Most Important Deals

Author: David A. Lax,James K. Sebenius

Publisher: Harvard Business Press

ISBN: 1591397995

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 286

View: 1217

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Most discussions on negotiation use an exclusively at-the-table perspective, focused on tactics, persuasion, psychology and other 1-D elements of the negotiation process. Articulating a 3-D perspective, this book presents a practical approach by focusing on the surface process and also on the value to be unlocked with skillful deal-design.
Release

Gaining Ground in Difficult Negotiations

Author: Manon Schonewille,Felix Merks

Publisher: Maklu

ISBN: 9046604039

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 107

View: 1499

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Experienced managers and lawyers know the value of being proficient in negotiations, which are executed every day on nearly everything. Most negotiators are continually faced with diverse and complicated situations, so it is important to have a set of tools for handling challenging situations, as well as for dealing with people who may be difficult to interact with. In practice, there is a common tendency to respond to difficult situations or people with a 'fight or flight' response. Many business negotiations and settlement agreements risk ending with suboptimal outcomes. This book has been compiled to accompany the training of Bruce Patton, one of the world's most prominent scientists and experts on negotiation. It contains the key tools that are necessary to deal with difficult people and tense situations. These crucial insights and skills will enable the reader to change negotiation behavior from 'instinctive' to 'strategic and in control.' The book also includes convenient summaries, practical checklists, worksheets, as well as interviews with influential negotiation scholars, in order to capture the key concepts.
Release

Global Negotiation

The New Rules

Author: William Hernández Requejo,John L. Graham

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1466886412

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 272

View: 5342

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Each year American executives make nearly eight million trips overseas for international business. In the process, they leave billions of dollars on the negotiation table. Global Negotiation provides critical tools to help businesspeople save money (and face) when negotiating across cultural divides. Drawing on their more than 50 combined years of experience, as well as extensive field research with over 2000 business people in 21 different cultures, John L. Graham and William Hernández Requejo have discovered how to create long-lasting commercial relationships around the world. The authors provide a rare combination of practical insight and illuminating anecdotes, and offer examples from well-known companies such as Toyota, Ford, Intel, AT&T, Rockwell, Boeing, and Wal-Mart.
Release

Sidetracked

Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Author: Francesca Gino

Publisher: Harvard Business Press

ISBN: 1422191389

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 256

View: 853

DOWNLOAD NOW »

You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals. Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino’s research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world. For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.
Release

The Domestic Politics of Negotiating International Trade

Intellectual Property Rights in US-Colombia and US-Peru Free Trade Agreements

Author: Johanna von Braun

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136582800

Category: Law

Page: 280

View: 3388

DOWNLOAD NOW »

The Domestic Politics of International Trade considers the issues surrounding intellectual property rights in international trade negotiations in order to examine the challenges posed to domestic policy-makers by the increasingly broad nature of Free Trade Agreements (FTAs). Throughout the book the author demonstrates the importance of domestic politics in understanding the nature and outcome of international negotiations, particularly as they relate to international economic diplomacy. The book looks in detail at the intellectual property negotiations which formed part of the US-Peru and US-Colombia Free Trade Agreements and analyses the extent to which public health authorities and other parties affected by the increased levels of intellectual property protection were integrated into the negotiation process. The book then juxtaposes these findings with an analysis of the domestic origins of US negotiation objectives in the field of intellectual property, paying particular attention to the role of the private sector in the development of these objectives. Based on a substantial amount of empirical research, including approximately 100 interviews with negotiators, capital based policy-makers, private sector representatives, and civil society organisations in Lima, Bogotá and Washington, DC, this book offers a rare account of different stakeholders’ perceptions of the FTA negotiation process. Ultimately, the book succeeds in integrating the study of domestic politics with that of international negotiations. This book will be of particular interest to academics as well as practitioners and students in the fields of international law, economic law, intellectual property, political economy, international relations, comparative politics and government.
Release