The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris

a love story to break your heart

Author: Natalie Meg Evans

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1784291064

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 5739

'A captivating story from beginning to end. Full of secrets and intrigue!' Amazon reviewer. Perfect for fans of The Hourglass and Island of Secrets. Plucky English girl Cora Mason has reinvented herself as Coralie de Lirac - confident French beauty with aristocratic connections. Catapulted into the sensuous world of Parisian society, Cora becomes a lady's hat maker, but living beyond one's means isn't easy. When Paris is threatened, the influence of a high-ranking lover protects her secret past . . . but the cruel demands of war - and of love - cannot be kept at bay forever. Soon Coralie must find the courage to do what's necessary to protect her friends, her freedom and everything she believes in. [The Girl Who Dreamed of Paris was previously published as The Milliner's Secret]
Release

Harper's Bazaar

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Celebrities

Page: N.A

View: 7584

Release

Catalog of Copyright Entries

Third series

Author: Library of Congress. Copyright Office

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Copyright

Page: N.A

View: 5101

Release

Goodbye, Paris

A Novel

Author: Anstey Harris

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1501196529

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 4238

A BOOK OF THE MONTH CLUB PICK AN INDIE NEXT PICK Jojo Moyes meets Eleanor Oliphant in Goodbye, Paris, an utterly charming novel that proves that sometimes you have to break your heart to make it whole. Grace once had the beginnings of a promising musical career, but she hasn’t been able to play her cello publicly since a traumatic event at music college years ago. Since then, she’s built a quiet life for herself in her small English village, repairing instruments and nurturing her long- distance affair with David, the man who has helped her rebuild her life even as she puts her dreams of a family on hold until his children are old enough for him to leave his loveless marriage. But when David saves the life of a woman in the Paris Metro, his resulting fame shines a light onto the real state of the relationship(s) in his life. Shattered, Grace hits rock bottom and abandons everything that has been important to her, including her dream of entering and winning the world’s most important violin-making competition. Her closest friends—a charming elderly violinist with a secret love affair of his own, and her store clerk, a gifted but angst-ridden teenage girl—step in to help, but will their friendship be enough to help her pick up the pieces? Filled with lovable, quirky characters, this poignant novel explores the realities of relationships and heartbreak and shows that when it comes to love, there’s more than one way to find happiness.
Release

Roger Ebert's Video Companion

Author: Roger Ebert

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Pub

ISBN: N.A

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 987

View: 4601

Fully indexed by title, stars, and director and thoroughly cross-referenced, this guide to movies on video also features lists of outstanding movies, new interviews, and full-length reviews
Release

Flug der Träume

Roman

Author: Ariel Lawhon

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104902070

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 569

Eine Gruppe von Passagieren wird im Mai 1937 zur Schickalsgemeinschaft. Der letzte Flug der Hindenburg und sein tragisches Ende markieren das Ende einer Ära. Ariel Lawhon entfaltet eins der größten Rätsel des 20. Jahrhunderts und erzählt von dieser Reise mit einer emotionalen Intensität, die noch lange nachwirkt. Am Abend des 3. Mai 1937 gehen in Frankfurt 97 Menschen an Bord des Zeppelins Hindenburg, für den letzten, schicksalhaften Flug nach Lakehurst, New Jersey. Unter ihnen eine ängstliche Stewardess, die etwas zu verbergen hat, der zuverlässige Navigator, der ihre Zuneigung gewinnen will, ein naiver Kabinenjunge, der eine dauerhafte Position im größten Luftschiff der Welt anstrebt, eine vorlaute Journalistin, die in Deutschland auf einer schwarzen Liste steht, und ein geheimnisvoller amerikanischer Geschäftsmann, der eine offene Rechnung begleichen möchte. Im Laufe der drei champagnerseligen Tage ihrer Reise lichtet sich allmählich der Dunst um ihre Lügen, Ängste, Pläne und Hoffnungen für die Zukunft. ›Flug der Träume‹ zeichnet ein intimes Porträt der tatsächlichen Personen an Bord des letzten Flugs der Hindenburg. Hinter ihnen braut sich der Sturm in Europa zusammen, vor ihnen lauert die Katastrophe. Aber zunächst schweben sie über dem Atlantik und ahnen nichts von dem unerbittlichen, tragischen Los, das sie erwartet.
Release

Das Geheimnis der Hutmacherin

Roman

Author: Natalie Meg Evans

Publisher: Heyne Verlag

ISBN: 3641194652

Category: Fiction

Page: 624

View: 5986

1940: Cora Masson, die Tochter eines cholerischen Hutverkäufers, arbeitet schlecht bezahlt in einer Hutmacherei in London. Als sie den Kunsthändler Dietrich kennenlernt, sieht sie ihre Chance gekommen und geht mit ihm nach Paris, in die Stadt ihrer Träume. Fortan macht sie sich als Coralie de Lirac unter falscher adeliger Identität einen Namen in der Modewelt. Doch als die Nazis in Frankreich einfallen, scheint ihr Geschäft ruiniert.
Release

Satoshi Kon

The Illusionist

Author: Andrew Osmond

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 128

View: 9570

“Satoshi Kon makes an art of Japanese anime.”—Rolling Stone The head-spinning anime fantasy Paprika (2006) introduced new viewers to one of Japan's most visionary directors. Satoshi Kon crashed onto the world scene in 1997 with his smart slasher-thriller Perfect Blue. His subsequent films range from the silver-screen romance of Millennium Actress (2001) to the socially conscious comedy Tokyo Godfathers (2003) and the surreally satirical TV series Paranoia Agent (2004). This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the work and vision of Satoshi Kon, with background and analysis of the key reality-warping films by anime's premier illusionist. This timely new collection follows the 2007 US release of Kon's latest film, Paprika, which was met with an enthusiastic welcome from his fans. For many, Paprika was a first introduction to Kon's work; other fans have been following his career avidly from its early days. Satoshi Kon: The Illusionist will satisfy newcomers and long-term fans alike. Andrew Osmond is a British freelance film reviewer and journalist who was part of the “Akira generation” of anime fans. He has been writing about cartoons and anime for ten years and has interviewed numerous anime professionals, including Satoshi Kon. His articles and reviews have appeared in Animerica, Total Anime, Neo, Manga Max, SFX, Sight and Sound, Empire, and many other magazines.
Release

Harper's Weekly

Author: John Bonner,George William Curtis,Henry Mills Alden,Samuel Stillman Conant,Montgomery Schuyler,John Foord,Richard Harding Davis,Carl Schurz,Henry Loomis Nelson,John Kendrick Bangs,George Brinton McClellan Harvey,Norman Hapgood

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 8191

Release

The Dream Wife

The gripping new psychological thriller with a twist you won't see coming in 2018

Author: Louisa de Lange

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1409180204

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 7775

'A hugely promising debut with a startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter, bestselling author of Close to Home Annie is the dream wife. Supportive, respectful, mild-mannered - everything her husband wants her to be. But underneath, she is so much more. Annie is a prisoner in her own life. Her finances, her routine and her contact with the outside world are all controlled by him. Only her love for her little boy keeps her sane, and at night she escapes into a dreamworld where she is free. But Annie is about to do a very bad thing. And you won't believe how she is going to do it . . . Perfect for fans of BA Paris, Sarah Pinborough, JP Delaney and Alice Feeney. ************* Readers LOVE The Dream Wife . . . 'I was very surprised at the end too . . . there is no way you can see it coming' 'Riveting and tense' 'The ending left me stunned . . . I did not see it coming' 'Just having a deep breath while I recover from this read . . . An absolute blinder!' ***** A tense and electrifying novel with a twist that will break your heart. Fans of Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough, The Girl Before by JP Delaney, Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris, Friend Request by Laura Marshall, Sweet Little Lies by Caz Frear and Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney will love this.
Release

Die Kleiderdiebin

Roman

Author: Natalie Meg Evans

Publisher: Heyne Verlag

ISBN: 3641161827

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 5372

Eine Hommage an die Haute Couture und an die Liebe Paris in den 30er-Jahren: Die junge Telefonistin Alix Gower träumt davon, die glamouröse Welt der Haute Couture zu erobern. Der charmante und gut aussehende Paul verschafft ihr die Chance ihres Lebens – eine Anstellung in einem der berühmtesten Modehäuser der Stadt, allerdings mit dem Auftrag, die Frühjahrskollektion zu kopieren. Alix stimmt zu, ein doppeltes Spiel zu spielen. Dabei setzt sie nicht nur ihre Zukunft, sondern auch ihr Herz aufs Spiel ...
Release

Motion Picture

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Motion pictures

Page: N.A

View: 6118

Release

Better Nate Than Ever

Author: Tim Federle

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1442446900

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 5587

“The Nate series by Tim Federle is a wonderful evocation of what it’s like to be a theater kid. Highly recommended.” –Lin-Manuel Miranda, star and creator of the musical, Hamilton A New York Times Notable Book of the Year, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year, and a Slate Favorite Book of the Year. A small-town boy hops a bus to New York City to crash an audition for E.T.: The Musical. Nate Foster has big dreams. His whole life, he’s wanted to star in a Broadway show. (Heck, he’d settle for seeing a Broadway show.) But how is Nate supposed to make his dreams come true when he’s stuck in Jankburg, Pennsylvania, where no one (except his best pal Libby) appreciates a good show tune? With Libby’s help, Nate plans a daring overnight escape to New York. There’s an open casting call for E.T.: The Musical, and Nate knows this could be the difference between small-town blues and big-time stardom. Tim Federle’s “hilarious and heartwarming debut novel” (Publishers Weekly) is full of broken curfews, second chances, and the adventure of growing up—because sometimes you have to get four hundred miles from your backyard to finally feel at home.
Release

Music

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Copyright

Page: N.A

View: 9655

Release