The Complete Equine Veterinary Manual

A Comprehensive and Instant Guide to Equine Health

Author: Tony Pavord,Marcy Pavord

Publisher: David & Charles Publishers

ISBN: 9780715332788

Category: Horses

Page: 256

View: 4736

A totally comprehensive, fully cross-referenced guide to equine health, including the latest developments in veterinary medicine.
Release

The Complete Equine Veterinary Manual

Author: Tony Pavford

Publisher: David & Charles

ISBN: 9780715318836

Category: Pets

Page: 256

View: 9859

Widely acknowledged as the best guide to veterinary care available to the horse owner today, this comprehensive manual is now fully revised to include up-to-the-minute advice on the latest defence against new threats to the horse's health. Every horse owner has experienced that feeling of helplessness when something is wrong with his or her animal. Correct diagnosis of any equine disease is a complicated business, but this excellent reference book provides a comprehensive and instant guide to equine health, and shows clearly when expert help is required. It offers two cross-referenced routes for the reader to find the necessary information: via an index of known equine diseases throughout the world, covering the symptoms, causes, diagnosis and treatment of each, or via an alphabetical encyclopaedia of specific diseases. Specially taken colour and black-and-white photographs aid in the identification of specific conditions.
Release

Equine Science

Author: Rick Parker

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN: 111113877X

Category: Science

Page: 608

View: 8106

EQUINE SCIENCE, 4th Edition imparts students with the basic understanding of horses necessary to be successful in equine care and management. Richly illustrated in full color, the book uses a logical, easy-to-follow outline to make both learning and lesson planning simple, while addressing essential topics like care and feeding, training, development and reproduction, illness, inheritance, and the history of horses. Bursting with helpful features, EQUINE SCIENCE, 4th Edition piques student interest with detailed graphics and photos, as well as informational sidebars, website references, and end-of chapter activities that test their knowledge of the material. Future equine professionals will especially appreciate the glossary of terms at the end of the text, as well as the appendix, which includes useful conversion factors and worksheets and provides contact information for professional organizations. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.
Release

Equine ER

Stories from a Year in the Life of an Equine Veterinary Hospital

Author: Leslie Guttman

Publisher: Eclipse Press

ISBN: 1581502133

Category: Medical

Page: 245

View: 2439

Written in the tradition of James Herriot, Equine ER explores the power of the human-horse connection, through the lens of Rood & Riddle. Author Guttman masterfully tells the story of veterinarians, staff, owners and patients, giving readers both educational information on the advanced technology of equine veterinary medicine and the compassion and dedication of the Rood & Riddle veterinarians and staff. The book follows the emotional journeys that doctors and owners embark on when a beloved horse becomes ill.
Release

AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians

Author: Deborah Reeder,Sheri Miller,DeeAnn Wilfong,Midge Leitch,Dana Zimmel

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1118504828

Category: Medical

Page: 424

View: 6950

AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians offers a compendium of information on the care and treatment of horses for equine veterinary technicians. Highly accessible and easy to use, the book builds on the basics of equine care to provide a complete reference for equine nursing and technical skills. AAEVT's Equine Manual for Veterinary Technicians is an invaluable guide for qualified equine veterinary technicians and assistants, particularly those earning their equine certification, vet tech students, and equine practices.
Release

The Behaviour and Welfare of the Horse

Author: Andrew Ferguson Fraser

Publisher: CABI

ISBN: 1845936299

Category: Pets

Page: 255

View: 7909

Rev. ed. of: The behaviour of the horse / Andrew F. Fraser. c1992.
Release

The Everything Horse Book

Buying, riding, and caring for your equine companion

Author: Karen Leigh Davis

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1605507784

Category: Pets

Page: 304

View: 4697

The horse is a majestic animal that needs the utmost in care and love. Luckily for horse owners and appreciators, this fully revised and updated second edition is a detailed introduction to horse companionship and care. This handy guide features all you need to know about horses, including information on: Anatomy and physiology; Feeding and grooming; Traditional and alternative treatments for health problems; Dressage, jumping, and other types of horsemanship; Careers with horses; And more! This edition also includes completely new material on horse colors and markings, parasite control, training philosophies, entering horse shows, and more! The Everything Horse Book is an ideal gift for anyone who has ever been interested in our equestrian friends!
Release

The BHS Veterinary Manual

Author: P Stewart Hastie

Publisher: Quiller Publishing Limited

ISBN: 9781905693627

Category: Horses

Page: 656

View: 8615

Authoritative, comprehensive and practical, this fully updated and revised edition includes new material on: Laminitis, Equine Metabolic Syndrome, Body Condition Scoring, Biosecurity including Yard Biosecurity plans and National Biosecurity plans; and a brief overview on international horse movements. Also included are sections on Exotic Diseases, Equine Grass Sickness, Atypical Myopathy and an update on RAO (COPD). The BHS Veterinary Manual is a companion volume to The BHS Complete Manual of Stable Management and indirectly to The BHS Complete Manual of Equitation. They are intended primarily for examination students but should also be essential reading for all who care about and care for the horse.
Release

Veterinary Manual for the Performance Horse

Author: Nancy S. Loving

Publisher: Wiley-Blackwell

ISBN: 9780632041664

Category: Medical

Page: 580

View: 1326

Not for sale in USA or Canada. A complete guide to performance and improving health care, preventing injury of the equine athlete. Easy to read, highly illustrated with a full glossary and index and offering comprehensive and the most practical information on: conformation evaluation, conditioning, stronger muscles, avoiding fatigue, stronger bones, improving breathing, feet for performance, evaluating fitness, successful training methods, causes of poor performance, avoiding lameness and other injuries, use of medications, high-tech therapy for injury; managing chronic lameness, avoiding laminitis, colic, tying-up, navicular disease, managing the confined horse, safe transportation for the equine athlete and prepurchase evaluation
Release

Adams' Lahmheit bei Pferden

Author: Ted S. Stashak,Horst Wissdorf

Publisher: Schlütersche

ISBN: 9783794402199

Category:

Page: 910

View: 1579

Release

The Complete Equine Emergency Bible

The Comprehensive Guide to Coping With Every Horse-Related Emergency From First Aid to Road Safety

Author: Karen Coumbe

Publisher: David & Charles

ISBN: 9780715326718

Category: Pets

Page: 192

View: 8231

Offers comprehensive advice on exactly what to do should you, your horse or a friend become injured when out riding or at the stable yard. This title covers many different topics from minor horse injuries such as surface wounds to more serious accidents such as broken bones or eye injuries. It also discusses sprains, concussion, and shock.
Release

Buyer's Guide

1999-2000

Author: William White

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Library science

Page: N.A

View: 9035

Release

Kaapse Bibliotekaris

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Libraries

Page: N.A

View: 1766

Issues for Nov. 1957- include section: Accessions. Aanwinste, Sept. 1957-
Release

Equine Veterinary Nursing Manual

Author: Karen Coumbe

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 047068027X

Category: Medical

Page: 464

View: 7671

Endorsed by the British Equine Veterinary Association, this book aims to cover the syllabus for the new RCVS equine veterinary nursing certificate. It covers subjects such as medical and surgical equine nursing, basic equine management and the theory underpinning these topics. It also includes chapters on nutrition, imaging and anatomy and physiology not previously well covered for the equine at a level appropriate for nurses. The approach is practical and the book is laid out in a user-friendly manner with copious illustrations.
Release

The Complete Textbook of Animal Health & Welfare E-Book

Author: Jane Williams

Publisher: Elsevier Health Sciences

ISBN: 0702049352

Category: Medical

Page: 504

View: 3396

The Complete Textbook of Animal Health and Welfare is a core text for students in animal care, animal technology or animal science programmes, and a supplementary text for related equine, wildlife and veterinary courses. It provides an in depth text for students at Further Education (FE) levels 2 and 3, and a foundation text for students studying in Higher Education. Each chapter covers the subject in depth (level 3 FE) via diagrams, images and text, then summarises it at a foundation level (level 2 FE) to engage students of different abilities. core text for students studying animal care, animal technology or animal science supplementary text for related equine, wildlife and veterinary courses reflects all aspects covered in the animal care curriculum highly illustrated written by author with expertise in this area with many contributions from experienced educationalists and experts to ensure quality & validity covers all species
Release