The Art of Seeing 2

The Best of Reuters Photography

Author: Reuters Limited

Publisher: Pearson Education

ISBN: 9781903684375

Category: Social Science

Page: 186

View: 1708

bull; Crafted by the team that published the first edition of The Art of Seeing, which was short-listed for the 2001 Book Design Awards. bull; The second instalment of fascinating and visually stunning images from the best of Reuters photography collection. An even sharper and brighter selection than the hugely successful first edition. bull; The best "best of " collection of contemporary photography on the market. bull; Contains new photos featuring contemporary and topical images.
Release

The Art of Seeing

Author: Aldous Huxley

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Eye

Page: 147

View: 4421

Explains the Bates method for improving one's eyesight, discusses causes of visual problems, and describes techniques for relaxing and exercising the eyes
Release

The Art of Seeing

An Interpretation of the Aesthetic Encounter

Author: Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi,Rick Emery Robinson

Publisher: Getty Publications

ISBN: 9780892361564

Category: Art

Page: 203

View: 7837

This study attempts to gain information concerning the receptive, as opposed to the creative, aesthetic experience by talking to museum professionals who spend their working lives identifying, appraising, and explicating works of art. The study is based on an underlying assumption that rules and practices for looking at art exist and must be mastered if success is to ensue. The anthropological research approach uses semi-structured interviews and subjects the responses to systematic analysis. Major conclusions emphasize the unity and diversity of the aesthetic experience. The structure of the aesthetic experience is found to be an intense involvement of attention in response to a visual stimulus, for no other reason than to sustain the interaction. The experiential consequences of such a deep and autotelic involvement are an intense enjoyment characterized by feelings of personal wholeness, a sense of discovery, and a sense of human connectedness. The aesthetic content requires two sets of preconditions that make the experience possible: the challenges contained in the object and the skills of the viewer. While the structure of the aesthetic experience is rated similar in terms by all the respondents, the challenges, or content stimuli that triggers the experience vary considerably. These challenges of art are the formal structure of the work, its emotional impact, the intellectual references it carries, and the opportunities it creates for a dialogue among the artist, his time, and the viewer. Without this content challenge there would be nothing to arrest the viewer, and consequently no experience. Level of skill is critical. Challenges and skill must be nearly in balance for the attention to become focused. A complex work of art will engage only a person who has developed complex visual skills. The book is divided into six chapters and concludes with appendices. "Interview Questions for Museum Professionals" and "Aesthetic Experience Questionnaire Form." Contains approximately 100 references. (MM)
Release

The Art of Seeing

A Novel

Author: Cammie McGovern

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743234057

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 566

As a child, the flamboyant, brooding, and beautiful Rozzie was always the star of her family -- especially in her younger sister Jemma's eyes. So when Rozzie takes up acting and, as a teenager, wins a part in a major motion picture, life changes irrevocably for both sisters. Rozzie is catapulted into the chaotic adult world of celebrity while Jemma travels to movie sets and relishes her sister's fame -- never seeing the strain that the spotlight puts on Rozzie. Soon Jemma develops her own artistic ambitions as a photographer, and Rozzie is forced to reveal the secret she has kept from her family for years -- a rare eye condition that threatens her vision. Only then does Jemma begin to see the truth about her sister and herself -- a reality that threatens the delicate balance of their relationship. A moving and profound story about family, celebrity, envy, and ultimately love, The Art of Seeing is a brilliant exploration of the powerful and enduring connection between sisters.
Release

The Art of Seeing

Essence of Vision and Epiphanies of Perception

Author: M.R. Subramanian

Publisher: Notion Press

ISBN: 1945621176

Category: Self-Help

Page: 310

View: 5934

Visit the Disney Land of vision, cognition and perception and enjoy the journey through this book. Read it and find yourself inspired and equipped to transform your world - and your life. The author has delineated the vision, philosophy and fragrance of some spiritual legends. He has taken up forty interesting questions as eternal arguments and explored them so as to provide interesting perceptions as answers. His Perception of a choreography for achieving congruence and clarity is detailed based on his experiences. The conservation and application of energy is the main determinant of success or failure in a spiritual endeavor. The Art of Seeing which includes various connotations – perceiving, looking, observing and being a witness - helps to achieve these. Pick up a book today and start seeing!
Release

The Art of Seeing

Author: Paul Zelanski,Mary Pat Fisher

Publisher: Pearson College Division

ISBN: 9780205748341

Category: Art

Page: 560

View: 2318

The Art of Seeing explores traditional and contemporary art and artistic media focusing on art as seen from the artist's point of view. The book introduces students to artistic techniques and introductory aesthetic principles. It provides clear, concise presentation, superb illustrations, and strong emphasis on the elements and media.
Release

Photographing the Landscape

The Art of Seeing

Author: John Fielder

Publisher: Big Earth Publishing

ISBN: 9781565792289

Category: Photography

Page: 192

View: 7337

"Photographing the Landscape: The Art of Seeing" summarizes the subtleties of cameras and lenses, and it offers insights into different camera formats. But throughout these technical discussions, Fielder maintains a reverence for nature despite the temptations of technology. Following in the tradition of Ansel Adams, Fielder places nature above everything else. Take a look at his photographs and you'll begin to understand. Take heed of his instruction and you'll understand even more.
Release

The art of seeing

photographs from the Alfred Stieglitz collection

Author: Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.),Weston J. Naef

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Photography

Page: 64

View: 3141

Release

Woman Warrior and the Art of Seeing

Author: MaRa Heart Warrior

Publisher: Bookpeople

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: 189

View: 7872

The Teachings of an Enlightened American Woman, her autobiography & the experiences of her first initiated students, as they integrate the Teachings into their lives. This is the creation of a true spiritual path in the realm of the Great Tradition.
Release

Photography and the Art of Seeing

A Visual Perception Workshop for Film and Digital Photography

Author: Freeman Patterson

Publisher: Firefly Books Limited

ISBN: 9781554079803

Category: Art

Page: 154

View: 7601

"How to perceive and photograph subjects using focused awareness and dynamic design. Includes color photographs and instructional guidance."--Provided by publisher.
Release

The Art of Seeing

Your Psychic Intuition, Third Eye and Clairvoyance. Practical Manual to Learning and Improving Your Clairvoyant Abilities

Author: Nathaniel

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN: 9781477666982

Category:

Page: 128

View: 877

Clairvoyance manual, this book will teach you how to develop and use the psychic ability of clairvoyance. Learn aura view, chakra reading and psychic reading. Learn how to receive messages through clairvoyance and how to perceive spirits, ghosts, Angels and entities.
Release

The Art of Seeing Things

Essays

Author: John Burroughs,Charlotte Zoë Walker

Publisher: Syracuse University Press

ISBN: 9780815606789

Category: Nature

Page: 282

View: 9194

A collection of essays by noted naturalist John Burroughs in which he contemplates a wide array of topics including farming, religion, and conservation. A departure from previous John Burroughs anthologies, this volume celebrates the surprising range of his writing to include religion, philosophy, conservation, and farming. In doing so, it emphasizes the process of the literary naturalist, specifically the lively connection the author makes between perceiving nature and how perception permeates all aspects of life experiences.
Release

Photography and the Art of Seeing

A Visual Perception Workshop for Film and Digital Photography

Author: Freeman Patterson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Design

Page: 156

View: 7774

In this third edition of Photography and the Art of Seeing, Freeman Patterson reviews principles of composition and visual design and provides techniques and exercises for breaking away from traditional concepts. Aspiring photographers are made aware of the barriers to seeing and learn how to observe, imagine and express in a personal and creative way.
Release

The Art of Seeing

A Creative Approach to Photography

Author: Derek Doeffinger

Publisher: Silver Pixel Press

ISBN: 9780879857479

Category: Photography

Page: 96

View: 5997

Shows you how to take better photographs by studying the elements of the subject, using lighting, composition, color, shape, form, texture, and viewpoint. Explains how cameras, lenses, and films see differently from you. Suggests ways to achieve creativity by shattering preconceptions and lack of awareness. Helps you break through creative barriers.
Release

God and the Art of Seeing

Visual Resources for a Journey of Faith

Author: Richard Kidd,Graham Sparkes

Publisher: Smyth & Helwys Pub

ISBN: 9780951810491

Category: Religion

Page: 226

View: 1117

The authors of this book invite us to accompany them in walking around an imaginary gallery which exhibits the work of six artists -- Edvard Munch, Marc Chagall, Stanley Spencer, Georgia O'Keeffe, Jacob Lawrence and Vincent Van Gogh. Along the way the authors draw widely on their own experience, essentially one of joy in the presence of visual forms -- pictures, sculptures, landscapes, seascapes and city-scapes, and other memorable art-objects. Their conviction is that too much Western Christianity, with its strong emphasis on words, creeds and doctrines, has forgotten just how important the visual can be for human development; we 'look and see' long before we 'speak and hear with understanding'. The authors urge that the same seeing-skills used on a tour of a gallery are those also needed for the 'spiritual' journey, as we seek to discover God's elusive presence in the world around us. Their hope is that, through looking carefully at the work of these six artists, readers will find fr
Release

Tracking and the Art of Seeing 2e

How to Read Animal Tracks and Sign

Author: Paul Rezendes

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062735241

Category: Nature

Page: 336

View: 7206

In this newly revised and updated edition of his highly acclaimed field guide, renowned nature photographer and tracking expert Paul Rezendes brings the fields and forests to life with his unique observations on North American wildlife and their tracks and sign. Illustrated with hundreds of his original photographs, Tracking & the Art of Seeing provides complete information on the behavior and habitat of over 50 animal species and shows you how to identify animals by their tracks, tail patterns, droppings, dens, scratches and other signs.
Release