Pansy Boy

Author: Paul Harfleet

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781909954243

Category: Bullying

Page: 64

View: 2823

In this graphic novel in rhymed couplets, a young boy tackles homophobia in school by planting pansies at the site of homophobic attacks, taking strength from the flowers he loves. The power of his actions empowers his school to value what is delicate and different. The book comes to life in vivid graphic art and comes complete with a personal field guide to the flowers and birds included in its pages.
Release

For the Love of Pete

Author: Elizabeth Hoyt

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0349408602

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3268

NYT Bestselling author Elizabeth Hoyt brings us a sexy, hilarious romp that will leave your heart racing . . . Dante Torelli is an undercover FBI agent assigned to protect a mob informant and his family. But when the informant's hiding place is blown, a baby girl is snatched by a ruthless hitman. Now, Dante must save the toddler, uncover the traitor in his department, evade various bad guys, and deal with the toddler's sexy aunt, all before the biggest mob trial in Chicago history, set to begin in just three days. When Zoe Adler's stepsister went into the witness protection program because of her sleazeball boyfriend, she wasn't supposed to tell anyone. Except the two sisters have always been close, and Zoe has been babysitting her niece, Pete, since her birth. What harm could it be to secretly get Zoe an apartment in the same building where the FBI is keeping the family under protection? So when someone inside the FBI turns and a hitman snatches Pete, Zoe is right there. During the shootout, she jumps into a sexy, uptight FBI agent's car and hangs on as he pursues the hitman. No matter what it takes, Zoe is going to bring her niece back. Perfect for fans of Marie Force, Julie Garwood and Jaci Burton 'Elizabeth Hoyt's historicals are hot, and her contemporaries deserve the same label. This is a great novel.' - Eloisa James 'Fast paced and funny, this novel reads like Janet Evanovich crossed with The Sopranos.' - RT Book Reviews
Release

For the Love of Pete

Author: Elizabeth Hoyt writing as Julia Harper

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0446543551

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 2726

Dante Torelli is an undercover FBI agent assigned to protect a mob informant and his family. But when the informant's hiding place is blown, a baby girl is snatched by a ruthless hitman. Now, Dante must save the toddler, uncover the traitor in his department, evade various bad guys, and deal with the toddler's sexy aunt, all before the biggest mob trial in Chicago history, set to begin in just three days. When Zoe Adler's stepsister went into the witness protection program because of her sleazeball boyfriend, she wasn't supposed to tell anyone. Except the two sisters have always been close, and Zoe has been babysitting her niece, Pete, since her birth. What harm could it be to secretly get Zoe an apartment in the same building where the FBI is keeping the family under protection? So when someone inside the FBI turns and a hitman snatches Pete, Zoe is right there. During the shootout, she jumps into a sexy, uptight FBI agent's car and hangs on as he pursues the hitman. No matter what it takes, Zoe is going to bring her niece back.
Release

Pansy and the Promise

Author: Stanley Ross Rule

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN: 149085634X

Category: Fiction

Page: 230

View: 7407

A spiritual awakening happens to ten-year-old Pansy Hunt when her parents launch out on a covered wagon adventure from Lincoln, New Mexico, to Galveston Island, Texas, in the year 1900. Along the trail, Papa shares campfire stories with Pansy about her unique family history. Stories like Pansy's great-great grandmother, who is captured and raised by a warring Indian tribe, only to be rescued seven years later by a brave Indian scout. Stories that teach her about trusting God in the most impossible circumstances imaginable. These tales combine with real adventures along the trail to develop Pansy's spiritual understanding that God promises He will "never leave us nor forsake us." Letters and photos at the end of the book reveal that these adventures are drawn from the true life and family history of Pansy Virginia Hunt Rule. Pansy and the Promise is written for young minds to easily grasp the concept of God's grace, mercy, and strength in a story of adventure, mystery, and intrigue.
Release

A Delicate Truth

Author: John le Carré

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN: 0241965179

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 5797

A counter-terror operation, codenamed Wildlife, is being mounted in Britain's most precious colony, Gibraltar. Its purpose: to capture and abduct a high-value jihadist arms-buyer. Its authors: an ambitious Foreign Office Minister, and a private defence contractor who is also his close friend. So delicate is the operation that even the Minister's Private Secretary, Toby Bell, is not cleared for it. Suspecting a disastrous conspiracy, Toby attempts to forestall it, but is promptly posted overseas. Three years on, summoned by Sir Christopher Probyn, retired British diplomat, to his decaying Cornish manor house, and closely watched by Probyn's daughter Emily, Toby must choose between his conscience and his duty to the Service. If the only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing, how can he keep silent? 'No other writer has charted - pitilessly for politicians but thrillingly for readers - the public and secret histories of his times, from the Second World War to the 'War on Terror'' Guardian 'The master of the modern spy novel returns . . . this is writing of such quality that - as Robert Harris put it - it will be read in one hundred years. John le Carré was never a spy-turned-writer, he was a writer who found his canvas in espionage, as Dickens did in other worlds. The two men deserve comparison' Daily Mail 'A brilliant climax, with sinister deaths, casual torture, wrecked lives and shameful compromises' Observer 'With A Delicate Truth, le Carré has in a sense come home. And it's a splendid homecoming . . . the novel is the most satisfying, subtle and compelling of his recent oeuvre' The Times
Release

The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English: J-Z

Author: Eric Partridge

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9780415259385

Category: Americanisms

Page: 2189

View: 8011

Containing over 65,000 entries 'The New Partridge' details, in an accessible way, the slang and unconventional English of the English-speaking world since 1945. It gives equal weight to US and British slang and includes entries from Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, South Africa, Ireland and the Caribbean.
Release

Herd register

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 4935

Release

Wiedersehen mit Brideshead

Die heiligen und profanen Erinnerungen des Captain Charles Ryder

Author: Evelyn Waugh

Publisher: Diogenes Verlag AG

ISBN: 3257603436

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 4640

›Wiedersehen mit Brideshead‹ ist das englische Gegenstück zum amerikanischen ›Großen Gatsby‹: das Porträt der Schönen und Reichen in den Jahren zwischen den Weltkriegen, die Chronik einer Vertreibung aus dem Paradies bei Anbruch der modernen Zeit – und die Geschichte einer unmöglichen Liebe.
Release

American Swineherd

Published Monthly in the Interests of Swine Raising

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 407

Release

Eat the Pretty Ones

A Testament

Author: Nick Wedlake

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 1449017142

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 236

View: 9102

This is the true story of what happens to a pretty little boy, and his brothers in the shadows. It is the suppresed story of the sexual exploitation of boys and young men. The number of boys being exploited, molested, abused, and beaten is actually astounding. This is the story of the separation of the soul from the flesh. How boys are taught to be strong, like the men who hurt them, even as most girls are taught to be weary of men; how the broken vessel of a man finds the boy...the boy he once was...with all the make-believe...with all the hope...
Release

We Mixed Our Drinks

The Story of a Generation

Author: Nerina Shute

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Great Britain

Page: 152

View: 827

Release

Philip Larkin: Letters to Monica

Author: Philip Larkin

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571264611

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 496

View: 9362

Philip Larkin met Monica Jones at University College Leicester in autumn 1946, when they were both twenty-four; he was the newly-appointed assistant librarian and she was an English lecturer. In 1950 Larkin moved to Belfast, and thence to Hull, while Monica remained in Leicester, becoming by turns his correspondent, lover and closest confidante, in a relationship which lasted over forty years until the poet's death in 1985. This remarkable unpublished correspondence only came to light after Monica Jones's death in 2001, and consists of nearly two thousand letters, postcards and telegrams, which chronicle - day by day, sometimes hour by hour - every aspect of Larkin's life and the convolutions of their relationship.
Release

Dream Katcher

Author: S. Harrington

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595308988

Category: Fiction

Page: 132

View: 2329

Dream Katcher is a spell binding thriller-that you can't put down. Anna Sullivan's dream job as a homicide detective for Seattle is quickly shattered by a series of killings. This friendly city is on high alert as a brilliant stalker goes on a killing spree. The unmarred bodies of women continue to be dumped in local parks only to be discovered by unsuspecting early morning walkers. Quickly the local press nicknamed the stalker as "The Park Killer". Anna becomes obsessed by the case and compelled to catch the murderer. Unfortunately, fate deals her an unlucky card and her life starts to unravel. But she can't give up. She is addicted to following the clues and determined to solve the case.
Release

Aristophanes: The Complete Plays

Author: N.A

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781440623837

Category: Drama

Page: 736

View: 9603

A brand-new translation of the world's greatest satirist. With a signature style that is at once bawdy and delicate, as well as a fearless penchant for lampooning the rich and powerful, Aristophanes remains arguably the finest satirist of all time. Collected here are all 11 of his surviving plays-newly translated by the distinguished poet and translator Paul Roche.
Release