National Geographic Readers: Sharks!

Author: Anne Schreiber

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 1426312962

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 2388

He’s quick. He’s silent. He has five rows of deadly teeth. Chomp! Meet the shark—the fish who ruled the deep before dinosaurs roamed the Earth! This fish has soft cartilage so he can glide, twist, and turn before his prey can say "gulp!" He can smell a single drop of blood in 25 million drops of ocean. He can feel electricity given off by his prey. He will lose and replace more than 10,000 teeth in his lifetime. Cool photos bring kids into the shark’s world. Fun facts go deep into the shark’s scary science.
Release

Ocean soul

Author: Brian Skerry

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783866902411

Category:

Page: 263

View: 2436

Release

Oceanic Whitetip Sharks

A 4D Book

Author: Jody S. Rake

Publisher: Capstone

ISBN: 1977101550

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 24

View: 7316

"Oceanic whitetip sharks are unique for their long, whitetipped fins and their fierce hunting skills. Find out what makes this shark such a bold predator. Download the Capston 4D app to access a variety of bonus content."--
Release

National Geographic Kids Chapters: Diving With Sharks!

And More True Stories of Extreme Adventures!

Author: Margaret Gurevich

Publisher: National Geographic Books

ISBN: 1426324634

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 4144

Fans of Shark Week, Sharknado, and all things shark-related will want to sink their teeth into this exciting shark-infested chapter book. Join real-life cave divers, extreme photographers, and researchers as they brave thrilling undersea adventures! Kids who are familiar with the popular National Geographic Kids Chapters line are sure to be on the edge of their seats over these new totally true tales of adventure and survival. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Release

Der Funke

Die Geschichte eines autistischen Jungen, der es allen gezeigt hat

Author: Kristine Barnett

Publisher: Kailash Verlag

ISBN: 3641093279

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 4939

In jedem Kind verbirgt sich der »Funke«. Kristines Sohn Jacob hat einen höheren IQ als Einstein und verfügt über ein fotografisches Gedächtnis. Und er ist Autist. »Der Funke« erzählt die Geschichte einer Mutter, die gegen den Rat aller Experten darum kämpft, ihrem Sohn ein normales, glückliches Leben zu ermöglichen, indem sie ihn ermutigt, seinem »Funken« zu folgen, sich auf das zu konzentrieren, was er liebt, statt auf das, was ihn hindert. Großartige Möglichkeiten können sich eröffnen, wenn wir lernen, das wahre Potenzial zu erwecken, das in jedem Kind ruht – und in jedem von uns.
Release

Der lange Weg zur Freiheit

Autobiographie

Author: Nelson Mandela

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104031541

Category: History

Page: 864

View: 4579

»Ich bin einer von ungezählten Millionen, die durch Nelson Mandelas Leben inspiriert wurden.« Barack Obama Eine fast drei Jahrzehnte währende Gefängnishaft ließ Nelson Mandela zum Mythos der schwarzen Befreiungsbewegung werden. Kaum ein anderer Politiker unserer Zeit symbolisiert heute in solchem Maße die Friedenshoffnungen der Menschheit und den Gedanken der Aussöhnung aller Rassen wie der ehemalige südafrikanische Präsident und Friedensnobelpreisträger. Auch nach seinem Tod finden seine ungebrochene Charakterstärke und Menschenfreundlichkeit die Bewunderung aller friedenswilligen Menschen auf der Welt. Mandelas Lebensgeschichte ist über die politische Bedeutung hinaus ein spannend zu lesendes, kenntnis- und faktenreiches Dokument menschlicher Entwicklung unter Bedingungen und Fährnissen, vor denen die meisten Menschen innerlich wie äußerlich kapituliert haben dürften.
Release

National Geographic Kids Mission: Shark Rescue

All about Sharks and How to Save Them

Author: Ruth A. Musgrave

Publisher: National Geographic Children's Books

ISBN: 9781426320910

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 2633

Inspiring young animal lovers to get up close to all different types of sharks and the real-life challenges they face is what Mission: Shark Rescue is all about. This compelling narrative combines fun and amazing adventure stories, gorgeous photography, hands-on activities, fascinating information, and more, connecting the reader in-depth with the animal's real world. Meet real-life sharks and learn about their habitats, challenges, and successes, plus learn how YOU can take action and save these amazing endangered creatures. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Release

National Geographic Readers: Deadliest Animals

Author: Melissa Stewart

Publisher: National Geographic Society

ISBN: 1426309899

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 3714

Did you know that a tiny golf ball-sized creature called the blue-ringed octopus contains enough venom to kill 26 adult humans? Or why the Sydney funnel web spider is one of the most dangerous creatures in the world? In this Level 3 book, kids will be fascinated by 12 species that you hope you'll never come across! Sharks, snakes, jellyfish and more—these creatures are among the most threatening—and interesting—in the world! National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Release

Gallagher Girls 4: Mit Spionen spielt man nicht

Author: Ally Carter

Publisher: Planet! in der Thienemann-Esslinger Verlag GmbH

ISBN: 3522652665

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 7488

Aufregung bei den Gallagher Girls! Cammie muss mit ihrer Freundin Bex in London untertauchen, denn sie schwebt in großer Gefahr. Doch auch hier überschlagen sich die Ereignisse. Cammies Lehrer Mr Solomon taucht unerwartet auf und verhält sich höchst verdächtig. Das MI6 ist ihm dicht auf den Fersen. Ist er etwa ein Doppelagent, der für den geheimnisvollen Cavan-Zirkel arbeitet? Cammie weiß nicht, wem sie noch vertrauen soll, und gleichzeitig geht ihr Mr Solomons letzte Warnung nicht mehr aus dem Kopf: Der Gallagher Akademie droht unmittelbare Gefahr ...
Release

School Library Journal

SLJ.

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Children's libraries

Page: N.A

View: 1678

Release

Unser Körper

Author: Wolfgang Tarnowski,Katrin Tarnowski

Publisher: TESSLOFF Verlag

ISBN: 9783788629007

Category: İnsan fizyolojisi

Page: 48

View: 5876

EKZ: Bau und Funktion des menschlichen Körpers.
Release

Calpurnias (r)evolutionäre Entdeckungen

Author: Jacqueline Kelly

Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG

ISBN: 3446243879

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 4518

Calpurnia ist zwölf, als sie begreift, dass ihr vorgezeichneter Lebensweg, nicht ihren Vorstellungen entspricht. Wie die anderen Mädchen soll auch sie Kochen, Stricken und Klavierspielen lernen, damit sie bald heiraten und eine Familie gründen kann. Doch Cal streift viel lieber durch die Natur, beobachtet Pflanzen und Tiere und macht sich Notizen über ihre Entdeckungen. Der Einzige, der sie versteht, ist ihr Großvater, ein eigenwilliger Forscher und Tüftler. Er schenkt ihr Bücher und öffnet ihr die Augen für den technischen Fortschritt und die naturwissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse des anbrechenden 20. Jahrhunderts. So erobert sich Cal ihren Weg in eine selbstbestimmte Zukunft.
Release

Der Mensch und das Meer

Warum der größte Lebensraum der Erde in Gefahr ist

Author: Callum Roberts

Publisher: DVA

ISBN: 3641100062

Category: Social Science

Page: 592

View: 8375

Der Wandel eines faszinierenden, bedrohten Lebensraums Die Ozeane sind nicht nur der größte Lebensraum der Erde, sondern auch der am wenigsten erforschte. Die unermessliche Vielfalt dieses Ökosystems beginnen wir erst jetzt bis in die letzten Winkel zu begreifen – auch wie wichtig das Meer für unser Leben ist. Im letzten Jahrhundert hat jedoch die Herrschaft des Menschen über die Natur auch die Ozeane erreicht: Wir fischen die Meere leer und füllen sie stattdessen mit Umweltgiften. Tiefseebergbau droht den Lebensraum unzähliger Pflanzen und Tiere bis zur Unkenntlichkeit zu verändern. Die Klimaerwärmung ließ bereits ein Viertel aller Korallen zugrunde gehen. In seinem aufrüttelnden Buch beschreibt der Meeresbiologe und –schützer Callum Roberts den großen Reichtum der Ozeane und ihren Wandel, und er ruft dazu auf, der Zerstörung der Meere endlich Einhalt zu gebieten, denn noch ist es nicht zu spät.
Release

Bisus und Ramona

Author: Beverly Cleary

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783781703063

Category: Families

Page: 172

View: 7729

Release

Environmentalism in the Realm of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature

Author: Chris Baratta

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN: 1443835420

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 190

View: 6704

The collection of essays titled Environmentalism in the Realm of Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature discusses the environmental and ecocritical themes found in works of science-fiction and fantasy literature. It focuses on an analysis of important literary works in these genres to yield an understanding of how they address the environmental issues we are facing today. Organized into four sections titled “Industrial Dilemmas,” “The Natural World, Community, and the Self,” “Materialism, Capitalism, and Environmentalism,” and “Dystopian Futures,” the essays included also investigate the solutions that these works present to ensure the sustainability of our natural world and, in turn, the sustainability of humanity. This collection will appeal to a broad range of scholars, including those who focus their studies on one of, or all of, the following fields: Ecocriticism, Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature, and Environmentalism in Literature. The essays investigate the myriad ways that science fiction and fantasy literature address environmental concerns, with a focus on the detrimental effects – on humanity, on society – of environmental destruction. With topics ranging from the dangers of industrial progress to the connection between environmental degradation and the destruction of the individual, to environmental dangers posed by capitalistic societies to ignored warnings of ecological crises, the essays each tactfully analyze the relationship between the environmental themes in literature and how readers and scholars can learn from the irresponsible treatment of the environment, while also considering solutions to this crisis that are found in science fiction and fantasy literature.
Release

White Shark

Author: Peter Benchley

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 9780312955731

Category: Fiction

Page: 340

View: 4795

When a Connecticut shore community is threatened by a malevolent and lethal creature called White Shark, it is up to oceanic scientist Simon Chase to stop the reign of terror
Release

Secondary School Reading

Process, Program, Procedure

Author: Walter Hill

Publisher: Allyn & Bacon

ISBN: N.A

Category: Reading (Secondary)

Page: 430

View: 7159

Release