Kitchen Disco

Author: Clare Foges

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571307892

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 4690

At night when you are sleeping There's a party in your house, It's a pumping, jumping, funky bash When all the lights go out . . . When the sun goes down, the Kitchen Disco starts up - and all the fruit in the fruit bowl come out to play. There are lemons who break-dance, tangerines who twirl and some very over-excited apples. But one night a nasty mango turns up to spoil the fun... Kitchen Disco is a humorous, rhyming picture book for young children.
Release

Chin Up Britain

Author: Jenny Eclair

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472237838

Category: Humor

Page: 176

View: 8500

Chin up, Britain! Now is the time to return to basic commonsense and embrace a new austerity. Can't afford a holiday? Slather on some sun tan lotion that smells of coconuts, at least you'll smell like you're on holiday. Don't know what to do with a left-over half a banana? Discard it surreptitiously on the floor of a government-owned building, 'accidentally' slip on it and claim thousands of pounds of compensation. Can't afford new shoes? Polish your old ones. And if all else fails, why not sell your children on ebay? In her inimitable style, Jenny Éclair brings you helpful and hilarious tips for changing the way you live, including beauty on a budget, identifying your swappable skills (burying dead animals, tuning a freeview box), improving manners on public transport, the fine art of 'out-presenting' and a guide to gate-crashing.
Release

Wo ist mein Hut

Author: Jon Klassen

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783314101175

Category: Picture books for children

Page: 40

View: 4141

Der Bär ist unglücklich, denn sein Hut ist weg. Auf seiner Suche fragt er alle Tiere, die ihm begegnen, doch diese können ihm nicht helfen. Er ist sehr traurig, doch dann kommt die Erleuchtung: Er hat seinen Hut gesehen. Ab 4.
Release

Best Knickers Always

50 Lessons For Midlife

Author: Rebecca Perkins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 140915016X

Category: Self-Help

Page: 288

View: 5373

Have you ever caught a glimpse of yourself in the mirror and wondered who is that woman staring back? Could your relationship do with a revamp? Or are you coping wth divorce and wondering if you can ever face dating again? Do you wonder where your confidence went? Do you have a little voice that says, 'Oh I couldn't, I'm too old/ unfit/ overweight/ tired?' Rebecca Perkins's message is simple: women are living longer than ever. Midlife is now something to be embraced and celebrated, the beginning of a whole new era where you can start living the life you want. With advice on the issues we all face as milestone birthdays approach, be it 40, 50 or 60, Rebecca Perkins explains why midlife is a time of wisdom, reflection and celebration. With lessons like: Be Less Available; Don't Self-Sabotage; Have a Kitchen Disco Playlist; it's full of reminders about self-esteem, looking forward and being happier, either by changing your life or rediscovering what you lost sight of along the way. With 50 delightful lessons to empower and inspire, BEST KNICKERS ALWAYS is like a pep-talk from a best friend, telling you how to change your life one day at a time, one step at a time, by being kind to yourself. It's not just a celebration of life, it's a companion.
Release

Dear You

A Letter to My Unborn Children

Author: Tessa Broad

Publisher: RedDoor Publishing

ISBN: 1912317001

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 176

View: 378

Tess Broad wanted children. She longed for them. It wasn't to be. In this candid and moving memoir, Tess writes to the children that never were. She writes to them as their adult selves with openness and honesty and tells them of the childhood she envisaged for them and the mother she believed she would be. She describes her reluctant transformation from the woebegone, wannabe mummy that she once was, to the woman she is now; childless but chilled, sailing through Mother's Day with a smile on her face. Happy. From the 'trying for a family' stage to the relentless treadmill of infertility treatment, Tess recounts her story with humour and pathos, taking the reader on her journey with her, sharing her experiences, the roller-coaster ride of IVF, the sudden departure of the husband whose children she wanted to have and ultimately to acceptance that the life she wanted and expected was not hers for the taking. This is a breathtaking memoir that offers a shoulder to lean on for everyone experiencing the uncertainties and pain of infertility.
Release

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 10th Edition

Author: Rebecca L. Thomas

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 1440834350

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 1636

View: 749

Whether used for thematic story times, program and curriculum planning, readers' advisory, or collection development, this updated edition of the well-known companion makes finding the right picture books for your library a breeze. • Offers easy subject access to children's picture books • Features a user-friendly organization • Provides in-depth indexing and full bibliographic detail
Release

Der lange Weg zur Freiheit

Autobiographie

Author: Nelson Mandela

Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag

ISBN: 3104031541

Category: History

Page: 864

View: 5737

»Ich bin einer von ungezählten Millionen, die durch Nelson Mandelas Leben inspiriert wurden.« Barack Obama Eine fast drei Jahrzehnte währende Gefängnishaft ließ Nelson Mandela zum Mythos der schwarzen Befreiungsbewegung werden. Kaum ein anderer Politiker unserer Zeit symbolisiert heute in solchem Maße die Friedenshoffnungen der Menschheit und den Gedanken der Aussöhnung aller Rassen wie der ehemalige südafrikanische Präsident und Friedensnobelpreisträger. Auch nach seinem Tod finden seine ungebrochene Charakterstärke und Menschenfreundlichkeit die Bewunderung aller friedenswilligen Menschen auf der Welt. Mandelas Lebensgeschichte ist über die politische Bedeutung hinaus ein spannend zu lesendes, kenntnis- und faktenreiches Dokument menschlicher Entwicklung unter Bedingungen und Fährnissen, vor denen die meisten Menschen innerlich wie äußerlich kapituliert haben dürften.
Release

Christopher Street

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Gay liberation movement

Page: N.A

View: 9788

Release

Mein Leben oder ein Haufen unvollkommener Momente

Author: Peter Bognanni

Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG

ISBN: 3446259686

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 272

View: 371

Getroffen haben sich Tess und Jonah nur ein einziges Mal. Obwohl sie sieben Monate zusammen waren. In dieser Zeit haben sie alles miteinander geteilt per Chat, Facebook, Tweets, haben sich herzzerreißende E-Mails geschrieben, ihr Innerstes preisgegeben, sich gegenseitig ihre Liebe erklärt. Und trotzdem hat Tess es nicht kommen sehen: Jonahs Selbstmord. Doch Tess sendet weiter Nachrichten an Jonah, ihre erste Liebe. Es ist ihre Art, die Trauer zu verarbeiten. Und eines Tages erhält sie tatsächlich Antwort ... Ein außergewöhnlicher Roman über Tod und Abschied in Zeiten von Social Media und darüber, dass jedem Ende ein neuer Anfang – und vielleicht sogar eine neue Liebe – innewohnt.
Release

Disco Divas

Women and Popular Culture in the 1970s

Author: Sherrie A. Inness

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 9780812218411

Category: Social Science

Page: 232

View: 5701

The 1970s tend to be allocated a slender role in American cultural and social history. The essays in Disco Divas reveal that the 1970s, far from being an era of cultural stasis, were a time of great social change, particularly for women.
Release

Dard-E-Disco

Author: Harihara Kumar Gopalan

Publisher: HARIHARA KUMAR GOPALAN

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 28

View: 1461

This is a slice of life short story about a couple in Bangalore. The story’s protagonist, Ramanujam Iyengar, is faced with a strange situation wherein his wife during one of her cribbing sessions asks him to develop a six pack physique. This strange request arises after watching a song, ‘Dard-E-Disco’; where ‘Shah Rukh Khan’ flaunts a six pack body, something that he apparently did at his wife’s behest. The trials and tribulations that Rama faces in achieving this daunting task, the ensuing hilarious scenarios and the aftermath of the achievement forms the bulk of the story. The story ends with the dawn of realization ending the protagonist’s conflicts.
Release

Country Life

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Country life

Page: N.A

View: 1688

Release

Bathroom Boogie

Author: Clare Foges

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571337325

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 9927

The tiles become a dancefloor The light a disco ball It's called the bathroom boogie - The most splashy bash of all! When the children go to school and the adults go to work . . . the Bathroom Boogie starts up - and all your favourite bathroom friends come alive! The shower creates a rain dance, whilst the mouthwash back-flips and the toothbrushes bop and rave to the hot tap's funky beat! Bathroom Boogie is the zany and hilarious rhyming picture book sequel to Kitchen Disco, with trademark cool artwork from Al Murphy.
Release

The New Yorker

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9483

Release

Buy, Buy Baby

How Big Business Captures the Ultimate Consumer - Your Baby Or Toddler

Author: Susan Gregory Thomas

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007259052

Category: Advertising and children

Page: 276

View: 881

In the tradition of No Logo and Fast Food Nation, Buy Buy Baby investigates how today's consumer economy markets to infants and toddlers.
Release

Southeast Asia on a Shoestring

Author: Marie Cambon,Kristin Kimball,Mat Oakley

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781741041644

Category: Travel

Page: 972

View: 8198

Provides information for the budget traveller on getting around Southeast Asia and recommends places to see, accomodations, and restaurants.
Release

Disco Daddy

Author: Morag Prunty

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 1447227360

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 7835

It's time to hang up your handbag and dance around your glitterball. Ex-model Valerie never imagined that her short marriage to leather-clad wildman Jack Valentine would herald the end of her life. Now she's fed up with being propositioned by playboys and longs for a safe, suburban husband who will look after her. Record producer Sinead has an appetite for 'scruffy pop totty'. She knows that they are never, on paper, an ideal solution, but she's never been able to relinquish her natural desires for a safe, settled, middle-aged man in a suit. Magazine editor Karin is the author of 'Ireland's Most Eligible Bachelor' list so, in theory, she should get first dibs at the pickings. Trouble is, she knows they are lean and include a flicky-haired Australian TV presenter and a business man with a penchant for golf-wear and creative combovers. When all three women are challenged for find a man to marry before they all turn forty in the summer, they realise the time has come to hang up their handbags and cut to the chase...
Release

Thailand

A Travel Survival Kit

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Thailand

Page: N.A

View: 7047

Release