Given to the Imperial General

Author: Mina Carter

Publisher: Mina Carter

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 294

View: 4162

Illicit love, for a man she shouldn’t even look at… Keliana knows it’s forbidden, but she can’t get the handsome colonel of out of her mind, nor can she ignore her dreams of one day loving him openly as a free woman. When she’s called before her prince and given to Nikolai as a gift, she thinks her dreams have finally come true. Until Nikolai is raised to prince. Now royal, he cannot marry a harem mistress and her fledging dreams are dashed. He’s always wanted her, but she belongs to his prince. Until now… Keliana is an imperial harem mistress, but that doesn’t stop Jareth Nikolai from wanting her. A colonel in the imperial fleet and the prince’s right hand man, Jareth has earned his reputation as a loyal, stone-cold soldier, but thoughts of Keliana heat his blood to boiling–even though she’s the property of his prince. But the Prince’s marriage means the imperial harem is being disbanded and when Jareth see’s his chance… he claims the curvy little courtesan for his own. But enemies plot in the shadows, and Jareth receives information that makes him believe he’s not the only man in the ex-harem-mistresses bed. Furious, he banishes her from his house to fend for herself on the streets only to realise weeks later he’s been played. Can he uncover the truth and reclaim the woman he’s loved for years, or has he lost everything that matters? **Please note - This title has previously been released with another publisher and has not been revised or altered significantly.** Genre: Science fiction romance, scifi romance, alien romance, alien general, space romance, courtesan, auction, alien prince, pregnancy romance
Release

The Prince Lost to Time (Nicholas Segalla series, Book 2)

Mysteries and intrigue from the dramatic era of the French Revolution

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755395697

Category: Fiction

Page: 199

View: 9976

A missing prince may provide the answers - can he be found? The Prince Lost to Time is Paul Doherty's second novel to feature Nicholas Segalla - a shadowy scholar travelling through time solving the past's greatest mysteries. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C. J. Sansom. As the flames of revolution spread through France, they engulf the Royal Family, whose fairy-tale life in the magnificent palace of Versailles is shattered during the violent and bloody Reign of Terror. First to face the executioner is King Louis XVI, followed nine months later by his beautiful queen, the passionate Marie Antoinette. Several months before her death her young son and heir, Louis Charles, is torn from her arms, disappearing into the annals of history for ever. Although many presume him dead, legends spring up about the boy who would be king - did he die? If not, what happened to him? To keep his promise to the doomed queen, Segalla must brave treachery to unlock the answer. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Wonderful story' 'No one can make you feel as if you're living in different times like Paul Doherty' 'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read'
Release

The History of Francis-Eugene, Prince of Savoy ...

Containing the Military Transactions of Above Thirty Campaigns, Made by His Serene Highness in Hungary, Italy, Germany, and the Low-Countries. And Interspersed with Other Memorable Events, During a Course of More Than Fifty Years

Author: John Bancks

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Europe

Page: 352

View: 3071

Release

The History of John, Duke of Marlborough ...

Including a More Exact, Impartial, and Methodical Narrative of the Late War Upon the Danube, the Rhine, and in the Netherlands, Than Has Ever Yet Appeared. Comp. from Authentick Journals ...

Author: John Bancks

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: 371

View: 837

Release

Early Medieval China

A Sourcebook

Author: Wendy Swartz,Robert Ford Campany,Yang Lu,Jessey Choo

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN: 0231531001

Category: History

Page: 832

View: 8871

This innovative sourcebook builds a dynamic understanding of China's early medieval period (220–589) through an original selection and arrangement of literary, historical, religious, and critical texts. A tumultuous and formative era, these centuries saw the longest stretch of political fragmentation in China's imperial history, resulting in new ethnic configurations, the rise of powerful clans, and a pervasive divide between north and south. Deploying thematic categories, the editors sketch the period in a novel way for students and, by featuring many texts translated into English for the first time, recast the era for specialists. Thematic topics include regional definitions and tensions, governing mechanisms and social reality, ideas of self and other, relations with the unseen world, everyday life, and cultural concepts. Within each section, the editors and translators introduce the selected texts and provide critical commentary on their historical significance, along with suggestions for further reading and research.
Release

The works of W. Robertson

With an account of his life and writings

Author: William Robertson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9409

Release

The Little, Brown Book of Anecdotes

Author: Clifton Fadiman

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0316084727

Category: Fiction

Page: 784

View: 9004

A book compiled of anecdotes from other collections, arranged under the name of the person they're about.
Release

The Boston Gazette

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Boston (Mass.)

Page: N.A

View: 5812

Release

God Blew, and They Were Scattered Book Ii

Peter's People (The Colonial Years)

Author: Genevieve Tallman Arbogast

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN: 1469120593

Category: Fiction

Page: 349

View: 8274

Continuing with the saga of the family Taelmann (anglicized to Talman, Tallman, Tollman, Talma, etc.), GOD BLEW AND THEY WERE SCATTERED, BOOK II, Peters People (The Colonial Years), the author, Genevieve Tallman Arbogast, has, from extant records, laced together events that would have defined the lives of descending generations. This narrative begins in Denmark, in Schleswig-Holstein. As the map changes years later, with the end of the Thirty Years War (1614-1648), Denmark will be sharing a political life in common with Germany and Sweden, as will the formerly independent city-state of Hambrough. However, when the allied families of Talman and de Lichte arrived in Schleswig-Holstein, it was under the jurisdictional rule of a German prince, Duke John Adolphus, who would within five years of their arrival ascend to the throne of Scandinavia as Christian IV of Denmark. For the purposes of this undertaking, however, it will suffice to say that Holsteins records, then and now, can claim a German heritage. The allied families of Taelmann and de Lichte arrived in Schleswig-Holstein about 1583, following their narrow escape from the Spanish Netherlands. Prior to their migration, they had been threatened by the rejuvenated Spanish Inquisition, revived during the Counter-Reformation movement of the Catholic Church in the sixteenth century. As disclosed in Book I, the Jesuits of that movement were responsible for the burnings of so many so-called `Protestant heretics that their crimes against humanity have been compared to that of Hitlers modern day holocaust. As time elapses, the children of the next generation are caught up in the wars of Scandinavia, which evolves to eventually draw them into the conflicts of the `Thirty Years War. As might be expected, several members of the Taelmann family are lost on the battlefield. As a result, the elder Peter Taelmann tries to convince his fourth generation sons to leave Schleswig for opportunities in the New World. That begins an adventure for young Peter Taelmann (Talman), which, in 1647, takes him to the Island of Barbados, where he accepts a position on Island Plantation, under the employ of Philip Hill. During his tenure of almost three years, in the capacity of physician and apothecary, he strives to rehabilitate abused and injured African captives, who are being brought to the island by Captain le Blanc, the slaver. The care-for-work agreement, between the planter and the captain of the Africaneer, makes it possible for failing Island Plantation to continue growing tobacco. The struggle to return the traumatized victims to health, while running a plantation, brings many poignant moments, introducing such delightful characters as Matilda, Prissy, and Mingoe. Rudie Braithewaite and his wife Evie, who operate a tavern on the wharf at Surinam, bring color to the narrative as they introduce the young physician to the island and its history, before they become victims of the burgeoning slavery business. As matters become intense on the island, safety for the inhabitants of Island Plantation becomes a concern. Mistress Hill urges her husband to return with her and their daughter to their former home in Newport, Rhode Island. However, obsessed with the idea of again making the plantation profitable, Hill, instead, begins to search for backing to convert his cash crop from tobacco to sugar cane. Those plans include the development of a shipping service, necessary to transport sugar and its by-products to the North American mainland for exportation to Europe. In the interim, the young physician becomes attracted to the planters beautiful daughter; and, as the attraction is reciprocal, Miss Ann manipulates Peter into riding with her to exercise her fathers thoroughbred horses. As he is taught the skills of an equestrian, many evenings are spent riding along a sandy stretch of beach, which separates Island Plantation from the Atlantic Oc
Release

Works

With an Account of His Life and Writings

Author: William Robertson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2571

Release

The Duke of Windsor's War

Author: Michael Bloch

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1405517085

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 5060

Drawing on unique sources, Michael Bloch describes the career of the Duke of Windsor during the Second World War.As a military liaison officer in France during 1939-40, he issued warnings which, had they been heeded, might have avoided the defeat of France;as Governor of the Bahamas 1940-45, he succeeded in what was regarded as one of the most difficult posts in the British Empire.But at the same time he and his wife (to marry whom he had given up a throne) had a second war to contend with - against King George VI and Queen Elizabeth who were determined to treat them as outcasts.This book caused a furore on publication, being the first work to give a detailed account of the bitter relations between the ex-King and his family.
Release