Fettered Kingdoms

An Examination of a Changing Ethic

Author: John Bryant

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Animal welfare

Page: 84

View: 6104

Release

Animalscam

The Beastly Abuse of Human Rights

Author: Kathleen Marquardt,Herbert M. Levine,Mark Larochelle

Publisher: Regnery Publishing

ISBN: 9780895264985

Category: Political Science

Page: 221

View: 7965

The first book to reveal the abuses of animal rights activists reveals terrorist tactics and deception on the part of those involved in the fight for "animal rights."
Release

Animal Rights

A Subject Guide, Bibliography, and Internet Companion

Author: John M. Kistler

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780313312311

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 227

View: 7970

Presents an introduction to the subject, suggestions on searching the Internet, and a bibliography of literature on animal nature, fatal and nonfatal uses, animal populations, and animal speculations.
Release

Livestock/Deadstock

Working with Farm Animals from Birth to Slaughter

Author: Rhoda M. Wilkie

Publisher: Temple University Press

ISBN: 1592136508

Category: Nature

Page: 248

View: 6894

How humans think and feel about their work handling food animals.
Release

Animals and Society (RLE Social Theory)

The Humanity of Animal Rights

Author: Keith Tester

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1317652568

Category: Social Science

Page: 222

View: 4699

Animals and Society uses a variety of historical sources and a coherent social theory to tell the story of the invention of animal rights. It moves from incidents like the medieval execution of pigs to a discussion of the politics and strategies of modern rights organisations. The book also presents radical interpretations of nineteenth-century animal welfare laws, and the accounts of the Noble Savage. The insights generated by social science are always at the core of the discussion and the author daws on the work of Michel Foucault, Norbert Elias, Claude Levi-Strauss and Mary Douglas. This wide-ranging and accessible book provides a fascinating account of the relations between humans and animals. It raises far-reaching questions about the philosophy, history and politics of animal rights.
Release

Between the Species

A Journal of Ethics

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Animal welfare

Page: N.A

View: 7492

Release

Animal Issues

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Animal rights

Page: N.A

View: 9292

Release

Encyclopedia of Bioethics

Author: Stephen Garrard Post

Publisher: Schirmer Books

ISBN: 9780028659169

Category: BUSINESS & ECONOMICS

Page: 3062

View: 5811

Online version of the 5 v. encyclopedia published in 2004.
Release

Matters of Life and Death

New Introductory Essays in Moral Philosophy

Author: Tom Regan

Publisher: McGraw-Hill Humanities Social

ISBN: 9780070513303

Category: Philosophy

Page: 392

View: 2563

MATTERS OF LIFE AND DEATH, Third Edition, is a collection of original essays by leading philosophers devoted to the major moral issues of the day, including abortion, euthanasia, the death penalty, famine, war, suicide, the environment, and animal rights.
Release

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave

Author: Frederick Douglass

Publisher: Big Nest via PublishDrive

ISBN: 1910833819

Category: Fiction

Page: 106

View: 9387

One of the most influential pieces of literature to fuel the abolitionist movement of the early 19th century in the United States, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass is a memoir and treatise on abolition written by famous orator and former slave Frederick Douglass. In factual detail, the text describes the events of his life.
Release

Ethics of Animal Use

Author: Peter Sandøe,Stine B. Christiansen

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 1118691199

Category: Medical

Page: 192

View: 6916

An interesting and accessible introduction to ethical issues raised by various forms of human use of animals. This textbook avoids moral lecturing and presents a range of ethical viewpoints without defending or applying any specific stance. Readers are encouraged and provoked to reflect for themselves, and to sharpen their own points of view regarding the ethical limits on our use of animals. They will also gain further understanding of the views held by other people. Early chapters of this interdisciplinary book cover changes over time in our view of animals, the principles of animal ethics, and different views of what counts as a good animal life. Later chapters apply the conceptual tools to specific issues including: food animal production, advanced veterinary treatment of pets, control of infectious diseases, wildlife management, as well as the use of animals in research. Specifically designed for students of veterinary medicine, animal science, welfare and behaviour, and veterinary nursing. Also of interest to those wanting to combine an up-to-date, science-based account of animal issues with clear-headed moral reflection. "The book covers an impressive range of topics with accuracy and fairness. Despite its ambitious scope, the authors have achieved remarkable unity in the book, and have produced a book that is easy and pleasant to read. Their work will surely provide a major tool for rationalizing the debate about the ethics of animal use, and I commend them for their invaluable contribution." From the Foreword by Professor Bernard Rollin, Colorado State University.
Release

Thinking Through the Environment

A Reader

Author: Mark J. Smith

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1134616953

Category: Science

Page: 448

View: 5822

This reader brings together material from ecological thought, environmental policy, environmental philosophy, social and political thought, historical sociology and cultural studies. The extracts tell the story of the way the natural environment has been understood in the modern world and how this has recently been questioned as contemporary societies are seen as characterised by uncertainty and complexity. The literature guides the reader through the conventiaonal grounds for thinking about rights and obligations in relation to future generations, non-human animals and the biotic commununities, bringing each into question. This then leads into a critical examination of social and political theories and their capacity for drawing on ecological thought. Each of the seven sections of readings is introduced by the editor who locates the set of readings within the specific themes and issues at the heart of each section. This broad-reaching and thought-provoking set of readings stresses the diversity of response to environmental problems both within and between anthropocentric and ecocentric approaches and will encourage the reader to examine how they are manifested in the areas of environmental ethics, policy analysis and social and political theory.
Release

How Europe Underdeveloped Africa

Author: Walter Rodney

Publisher: Verso Books

ISBN: 1788731204

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 7479

The classic work of political, economic, and historical analysis, powerfully introduced by Angela Davis In his short life, the Guyanese intellectual Walter Rodney emerged as one of the leading thinkers and activists of the anticolonial revolution, leading movements in North America, South America, the African continent, and the Caribbean. In each locale, Rodney found himself a lightning rod for working class Black Power. His deportation catalyzed 20th century Jamaica's most significant rebellion, the 1968 Rodney riots, and his scholarship trained a generation how to think politics at an international scale. In 1980, shortly after founding of the Working People's Alliance in Guyana, the 38-year-old Rodney would be assassinated. In his magnum opus, How Europe Underdeveloped Africa, Rodney incisively argues that grasping "the great divergence" between the west and the rest can only be explained as the exploitation of the latter by the former. This meticulously researched analysis of the abiding repercussions of European colonialism on the continent of Africa has not only informed decades of scholarship and activism, it remains an indispensable study for grasping global inequality today.
Release

Nudge

Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Author: Richard H. Thaler,Cass R. Sunstein

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101655097

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 320

View: 2415

From the winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow New York Times bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children’s health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible “choice architecture” to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice. More than 750,000 copies sold
Release

History of the Franks

Author: Gregory Bishop of Tours,Saint Gregory (Bishop of Tours)

Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 284

View: 6101

Written in the 6th century by Gregory, the Bishop of Tours, "Historia Francorum," translated as History of the Franks, is a ten volume work that recounts the world's history from creation, focusing on the movement of Christianity into Gaul, an ancient region corresponding to modern France, Belgium, the south Netherlands, Southwest Germany, and northern Italy.
Release

The Index

Author: Francis Ellingwood Abbot,William James Potter

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Religion

Page: N.A

View: 5511

Release

Friends of the Constitution

writings of the "other" Federalists, 1787-1788

Author: Colleen A. Sheehan,Gary L. McDowell

Publisher: Liberty Fund Inc.

ISBN: N.A

Category: History

Page: 523

View: 1293

There were many writers other than John Jay, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton who, in 1787 and 1788, argued for the Constitution's ratification. In a collection central to our understanding of American founding, "Friends of the Constitution" brings together forty-nine of the most important of these "other" Federalists' writings.
Release