Debates in Family Law Around the Globe at the Dawn of the 21st Century

Author: Katharina Boele-Woelki

Publisher: Intersentia Uitgevers N V

ISBN: 9789050958752

Category: Law

Page: 416

View: 1440

This volume contains articles on three areas of family law that, at the dawn of the 21st century, have provoked passionate discussion. The topics of concern include: (compulsory) arrangements regarding children, registration schemes for same-sex couples (new jurisdictions), and the effectiveness of the pater est rule. The book's contributions are preceded by two introductory articles. The historical introduction addresses the 'cultural constraints argument' which, according to a few legal scholars, prevents both spontaneous and deliberate harmonization of family law. Is family law indeed embedded in unique national (legal) culture? What lessons can be learned from the past? The methodological introduction proffers some general ideas as to how comparative family law is perceived and what it should entail whereby a comparison is made between more recent developments in Europe and the United States.
Release

Die Golfstaaten auf dem Weg zu einem modernen Recht für die Familie?

Zur Kodifikation des Personalstatuts in Bahrain, Katar und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten

Author: Lena-Maria Möller

Publisher: Mohr Siebeck

ISBN: 9783161535819

Category: Law

Page: 281

View: 8194

Islamisches Recht wird oftmals als starr und entwicklungsunfahig wahrgenommen. Die Reduktion des islamischen Rechts auf Religion und jahrhundertealte Tradition verfehlt jedoch dessen Dynamik und Wandelbarkeit. Wie ein modernes Recht fur die Familie im islamischen Rechtskreis entstehen kann, untersucht Lena-Maria Moller am Beispiel der neuen Familiengesetzbucher Bahrains, Katars und der Vereinigten Arabischen Emirate. Interdisziplinar und rechtsvergleichend erortert sie, inwieweit das neukodifizierte Ehe-, Scheidungs-, und Kindschaftsrecht den rasanten soziookonomischen Wandel der arabischen Golfregion abbildet und aktuellen Regelungserfordernissen gerecht wird. Neben der Berucksichtigung der Rechtspraxis im Familienrecht werden die jungsten Kodifikationen des arabischen Raums auch rechtshistorisch und rechtspolitisch kontextualisiert und ihr Entstehungsprozess eingehend beleuchtet.
Release

Unifying and Harmonising Substantive Law and the Role of Conflict of Laws

Author: N.A

Publisher: Martinus Nijhoff Publishers

ISBN: 9004186832

Category: Law

Page: 288

View: 5974

Traditionally, conflict of law rules designate only national substantive law as the applicable law. Many unifying and harmonizing substantive law instruments of both States and non-State organizations, however, are designed specifically for application to cross-border relationships. Achieving this objective is, generally, hindered by conflict of law rules. The requirements which non-national law needs to fulfil in order to be accepted as the law governing a cross-border relationship deserve clarification. Not only uniform law, such as the CISG and the envisaged European substantive law instrument for the law of obligations, but, particularly, instruments which are aimed at harmonizing substantive law, challenge the established systems of conflict of laws. In seeking a positive approach towards the application of a law other than national law various aspects need to be considered: (1) is the decision taken by a court or an arbitral tribunal; (2) what field of law (contract/delict/tort or family relationships) is involved; and (3) the objective or subjective (choice by the parties) designation of the applicable law.
Release

Die europäische Vereinheitlichung des Internationalen Ehegüterrechts und des Internationalen Güterrechts für eingetragene Partnerschaften

Author: Katja Dengel

Publisher: Mohr Siebeck

ISBN: 9783161534577

Category: Law

Page: 447

View: 1799

Die Kommissionsvorschlage zum Internationalen Eheguterrecht und zum Internationalen Guterrecht fur eingetragene Partnerschaften sollen einen klaren Rechtsrahmen fur grenzuberschreitende vermogensrechtliche Wirkungen einer Ehe bzw. eingetragenen Partnerschaft schaffen. Katja Dengel analysiert die vorgeschlagenen Texte auf der Basis eines Vergleichs aller mitgliedstaatlichen Sach- und Kollisionsrechte. Schwerpunkte sind der Anwendungsbereich, die objektiven und subjektiven Anknupfungsmomente sowie ausgewahlte Fragen des Allgemeinen Teils. Der Vorschlag zur Vereinheitlichung des Internationalen Guterrechts fur eingetragene Partnerschaften wird daruber hinaus unter dem Gesichtspunkt einer moglichen Diskriminierung gleichgeschlechtlicher Paare beleuchtet. Die Arbeit mundet in konkrete Verbesserungsvorschlage.
Release

The Meaning of Wife

A Provocative Look at Women and Marriage in the Twenty-first Century

Author: Anne Kingston

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 1466804491

Category: Social Science

Page: 352

View: 9636

"One part The Beauty Myth . . . and one part Backlash"*--a provocative exploration of who and what a wife really is. There is a wife crisis in North America, a brewing storm of conflicting forces swirling around what it means to be a wife at the beginning of the 21st Century. The word is so fraught with ambiguity that it has become a litmus test, eliciting from women emotions ranging from longing to antipathy, anxiety to derision. This crisis is at the heart of Anne Kingston's The Meaning of Wife. Delving into the complex, troubling, and sometimes humorous contradictions, illusions, and realities of contemporary wifehood, Kingston takes the reader on a fascinating journey into the wedding industrial complex, which elevates the bride to a potent consumer icon; through the recent romanticization of domesticity; and across the conflicted terrain of wifely sexuality. She looks at "wife backlash," and the new wave of neo-traditionalism that urges women to marry before their "best-before" dates expire; explores the apotheosis of abused wives and the strange celebration of wives who kill; and muses on the fact that Oprah Winfrey and Martha Stewart, two of the world's wealthiest and most influential women, are both non-wives whose success has hinged on thier understanding of wives. The result is an entertaining mix of social, sexual, historical, and economic commentary that is bound to stir debate even as it reframes our view of both women and marriage.
Release

The Congressional Globe

Author: United States. Congress

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 3881

Release

Stranger Intimacy

Contesting Race, Sexuality and the Law in the North American West

Author: Nayan Shah

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520950402

Category: History

Page: 358

View: 5716

In exploring an array of intimacies between global migrants Nayan Shah illuminates a stunning, transient world of heterogeneous social relations—dignified, collaborative, and illicit. At the same time he demonstrates how the United States and Canada, in collusion with each other, actively sought to exclude and dispossess nonwhite races. Stranger Intimacy reveals the intersections between capitalism, the state's treatment of immigrants, sexual citizenship, and racism in the first half of the twentieth century.
Release

Die letzten Tage der Nacht

Author: Graham Moore

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 3732539822

Category: Fiction

Page: 463

View: 8317

"Eine geniale Reise in die Vergangenheit" The Washington Post New York, 1888. Thomas Edison hat mit seiner bahnbrechenden Erfindung der Glühbirne ein Wunder gewirkt. Die Elektrizität ist geboren, die dunklen Tage der Menschheit sind Vergangenheit. Nur eine Sache steht Edison und seinem Monopol im Weg, sein Konkurrent George Westinghouse. Zwischen den beiden Männern entbrennt ein juristischer Kampf, es geht um die Milliarden-Dollar-Frage: Wer hat die Glühbirne wirklich erfunden? Und wer hat also die Macht, ein ganzes Land zu elektrifizieren? Der NEW YORK TIMES-Bestseller jetzt auf deutsch! Graham Moore, der für sein Drehbuch für den Film "Imitation Game" mit einem Oscar ausgezeichnet wurde, ist mit "Die letzten Tage der Nacht" ein packender historischer Roman gelungen, der auf wahren Ereignissen beruht.
Release

The Examiner

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2687

Release

American Archives

Consisting of a Collection of Authentick Records, State Papers, Debates, and Letters and Other Notices of Publick Affairs, the Whole Forming a Documentary History of the Origin and Progress of the North American Colonies; of the Causes and Accomplishment of the American Revolution; and of the Constitution of Government for the United States, to the Final Ratification Thereof. In Six Series ...

Author: Peter Force,Matthew St. Clair Clarke

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 7288

Release

The Athenaeum

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3732

Release

One in a Billion

The Story of Nic Volker and the Dawn of Genomic Medicine

Author: Kathleen Gallagher,Mark Johnson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1451661320

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 3291

The breathtaking story of a young boy with a never-before-seen disease, and the doctors who take a bold step into the future of medicine to save him—based on the authors’ Pulitzer Prize–winning reporting. In this landmark medical narrative, in the tradition of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks and The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, Pulitzer Prize–winning journalists Mark Johnson and Kathleen Gallagher chronicle the story of Nic Volker, the Wisconsin boy at the center of a daring breakthrough in medicine—a complete gene sequencing to discover the cure for an otherwise undiagnosable illness. At just two years old, Nic experienced a searing pain that signaled the awakening of a new and deadly disease, one that would hurl Nic and his family up against the limits of modern medicine. For years, through false starts and failed cures, Nic holds on to life, buoyed up by his mother’s fierce drive to get him the care he needs. But when even the world’s experts are stumped by Nic’s illness, his doctors come up with a radical, long-shot plan: a step into the unknown. The next major scientific frontier, following the completion of the Human Genome Project, was to figure out how to use our new knowledge to save lives—to bring genomic or personalized medicine into reality. It’s a quest that is undertaken by researchers around the world. But it is only when geneticist Howard Jacob hears about young Nic that the finish line finally comes into sight: It’s no longer a race to make history. It’s a race to save this boy’s life. One in a Billion is an unforgettable tale of the lives that converged to launch a medical revolution. As pioneering geneticist Mary-Claire King pronounced upon learning Nic’s story: “It was as if one had heard about Case Zero of AIDS and the cure, all at once.”
Release

Leslie's

Author: John Albert Sleicher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3737

Release

Harper's Weekly

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 8807

Release