Career In Journalism

A Beginner's Guide to Becoming a Journalist

Author: Anthony Ekanem

Publisher: Anthony Ekanem

ISBN: 3961122083

Category: Travel

Page: 55

View: 9393

A great many people who want to be writers say that they want to have a career in journalism. They may envision themselves going to exotic locales to cover stories. While these things do happen to journalists, it takes a long time to make your bones before you are sent on any interesting assignments. A journalist is someone who reports on timely events. Timing is everything to a journalist. Whether you write for a periodical or a newspaper, you need to make sure that your articles are timely. Your purpose is to keep the public as up to date as possible when it comes to news and events that may affect them. This is the basic concept of being a journalist. You should report on all sides of a story, not just take one side, even if it appears that one side is right or wrong. A good journalist gets all sides of the story, prints it and then lets the reader decide, based upon the article. A good journalist does not make up the reader's mind for them. As you continue in your career, you will find your voice when it comes to your writing. Do not be surprised if your first articles are rewritten by your editor. Another rule that you need to learn when you are starting a career as a journalist is to not fall in love with your own work. Do not feel hurt if an editor does not like a phrase in your article, or makes some changes. They are only doing their job. You will soon get to know the editor and they will get to know your style of writing.
Release

Breaking Into Journalism

Your Guide to a Career in Journalism in Australia and New Zealand

Author: Mark Pearson,Jane Johnston

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 9781864486735

Category: Journalism

Page: 130

View: 7770

A practical guide to starting a career in journalism
Release

Careers in Journalism

Author: Jan Goldberg

Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional

ISBN: 0071389547

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 192

View: 5412

Careers in Journalism offers all the information career seekers need to explore and choose a profession and then narrow it down to a job that suits them. The book provides an overview of journalism, outlines job options, and shows how to plan and prepare for a career.
Release

Your Career in Journalism

Author: Meyer L. Stein

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Journalism

Page: 191

View: 5991

Tells how men and women are trained on newspapers and magazines, in broadcast journalism and public relations; how they work and what the future holds for newcomers in the field.
Release

The NCTJ Essential Guide to Careers in Journalism

Author: Andy Bull

Publisher: SAGE

ISBN: 1848607512

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 288

View: 407

The National Council for the Training of Journalists (NCTJ) Guide to Careers in Journalism is the essential resource to securing a job as a journalist on a newspaper or magazine, on radio and television, or online. The book contains: full details of over 60 highly-respected, NCTJ-accredited courses which give you exactly the qualifications you need comprehensive outlines of what it will be like as a trainee journalist on newspapers, magazines, TV, radio or a website day-in-the-life accounts from a wide range of young journalists advice, quotes, comments and warnings from over 100 working journalists a comprehensive listing of potential sources of work experience, traineeships, and jobs.
Release

Careers in Journalism

Author: Juvenal Londoño Angel

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Journalism

Page: 26

View: 4909

Release

Preparing for a Career in Journalism

Author: Ferguson

Publisher: Ferguson Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780894342516

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 168

View: 2542

Explores the career opportunities in the field of journalism, provides a detailed look at six specific occupations, discussing education and training needed, skills required and salary ranges, and offers advice on steps to prepare for a career.
Release

Exploring Careers in Journalism

Author: David Seidman

Publisher: The Rosen Publishing Group

ISBN: 9780823932986

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 134

View: 1745

Discusses various careers in journalism, highlighting the duties, lifestyle, educational needs, and interests required.
Release

Careers in Journalism

Author: Simon Kent

Publisher: Kogan Page Publishers

ISBN: 9780749423896

Category: Journalism

Page: 92

View: 2535

This edition seeks to clarify the different areas and jobs available within journalism and to make more accessible a profession that is competitive.
Release

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Journalism

Author: Christopher K. Passante

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1440626294

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 336

View: 2226

An insider helps money-seekers crack their way into Craigslist! For those short on cash, the free website Craigslist provides a wide range of money-making opportunities, from selling personal items to setting up an entrepreneurial business to finding a new job. This guide provides the best strategies, creative ideas, and inside tips for maximizing the selling, buying, and bartering potential on the Craigslist. ? Maximizes opportunities for the over 500 Craigslist sites worldwide ? Over 40 million U.S. users and 12 billion page views each month, the eighth most-viewed English-language site in the world ? MSNBC report: large increase in items sold on Craigslist, even as economy slows ? A unique focus on money-making opportunities and job search capabilities within Craigslist
Release

Opportunities in Journalism Careers

Author: Jim Patten,Donald L. Ferguson

Publisher: NTC/Contemporary Publishing Company

ISBN: 9780844240145

Category:

Page: 205

View: 3594

Surveys careers in journalism, discussing the employment outlook, career advancement, educational requirements, salary opportunities, and where to get more information.
Release

Creating Your Career in Communications and Entertainment

Author: Leonard Mogel

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 9780883622087

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 302

View: 5729

This volume provides a survey of careers throughout the communications, media, and entertainment industries. Intended for readers interested in pursuing careers in media and entertainment.
Release

Women in Journalism at the Fin de Siècle

Making a Name for Herself

Author: F. Gray

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137001305

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 271

View: 2429

As the nineteenth-century drew to a close, women became more numerous and prominent in British journalism. This book offers a fascinating introduction to the work lives of twelve such journalists, and each essay examines the career, writing and strategic choices of women battling against the odds to secure recognition in a male-dominated society.
Release

Page One

Inside The New York Times and the Future of Journalism

Author: David Folkenflik,Participant Media

Publisher: PublicAffairs

ISBN: 1610390776

Category: Social Science

Page: 208

View: 2768

The news media is in the middle of a revolution. Old certainties have been shoved aside by new entities such as WikiLeaks and Gawker, Politico and the Huffington Post. But where, in all this digital innovation, is the future of great journalism? Is there a difference between an opinion column and a blog, a reporter and a social networker? Who curates the news, or should it be streamed unimpeded by editorial influence? Expanding on Andrew Rossi's “riveting” film (Slate), David Folkenflik has convened some of the smartest media savants to talk about the present and the future of news. Behind all the debate is the presence of the New York Times, and the inside story of its attempt to navigate the new world, embracing the immediacy of the web without straying from a commitment to accurate reporting and analysis that provides the paper with its own definition of what it is there to showcase: all the news that's fit to print.
Release

Malled

My Unintentional Career in Retail

Author: Caitlin Kelly

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101476370

Category: Political Science

Page: 240

View: 4858

One woman's midcareer misadventures in the absurd world of American retail. After losing her job as a journalist and the security of a good salary, Caitlin Kelly was hard up for cash. When she saw that The North Face-an upscale outdoor clothing company-was hiring at her local mall, she went for an interview almost on a whim. Suddenly she found herself, middle-aged and mid-career, thrown headfirst into the bizarre alternate reality of the American mall: a world of low-wage workers selling overpriced goods to well-to-do customers. At first, Kelly found her part-time job fun and reaffirming, a way to maintain her sanity and sense of self-worth. But she describes how the unexpected physical pressures, the unreasonable dictates of a remote corporate bureaucracy, and the dead-end career path eventually took their toll. As she struggled through more than two years at the mall, despite surgeries, customer abuse, and corporate inanity, Kelly gained a deeper understanding of the plight of the retail worker. In the tradition of Nickel and Dimed, Malled challenges our assumptions about the world of retail, documenting one woman's struggle to find meaningful work in a broken system.
Release

Essential Reporting

The NCTJ Guide for Trainee Journalists

Author: Jon Smith,Joanne Butcher

Publisher: SAGE

ISBN: 1446259641

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 280

View: 2917

"If you want a book that instructs you about all the technical skills you need to pass the examinations set by the National Council for the Training of Journalists (NCTJ) and embark on a career in journalism, then this is the book for you. It outlines the basic knowledge required to succeed as a trainee reporter. Shorthand, intros, writing styles, subbing, layout, the way newsrooms work and how to find things out are among the range of skills described." - Times Higher Education "Precisely what it says on the cover - a down-to-earth essential handbook for anyone embarking on a career in journalism. All you need to know about avoiding newsroom minefields and attracting the editor's attention for the right reasons. If only it had been around in my day!' - Bob Satchwell, Executive Director, Society of Editors This is a book for everyone who wants to be a journalist: a practical guide to all you need to know, learn and do to succeed as a trainee reporter in today's newsroom. Although the world of journalism is changing fast, as technology blurs the boundaries between newspapers, radio, television and web-based media, the reporter's core role remains the same: to recognise news, communicate with people, gather information, and create accurate, balanced and readable stories. Essential Reporting, written by an experienced NCTJ examiner, explains how to do this. Contents include: what makes a good reporter what is news, and how to find it how newsrooms work day-to-day life as a reporter key reporting tasks covering courts and councils successful interviewing writing news stories specialist reporting handling sound, pictures and the web It also contains a wealth of advice, tips and warnings from working journalists, a guide to NCTJ training and examinations, a glossary and a guide to further reading. It will be invaluable to anyone embarking on a career in journalism and is the NCTJ's recommended introductory text for all students on college and university courses preparing them to become successful reporters.
Release