Burned and Broken

If you like Peter James, you'll love this

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0751562068

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 2755

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo - perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald. A DEAD GIRL A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend. A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront. A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR? To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge. Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed? A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons, James Oswald, LJ Ross, Joy Ellis and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love this crime debut. **** Praise for Burned and Broken: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)
Release

Truly Evil

Author: Mark Hardie

Publisher: Sphere

ISBN: 9780751562095

Category: Cold cases (Criminal investigation)

Page: 368

View: 9478

A BRUTAL ACT OF VIOLENCE A body has been found dumped on the shores of Southend. Already under scrutiny following the murder of a corrupt cop, DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell of the Essex Major Investigation Team are tasked with solving the case quickly, and quietly. A WOMAN TOO SCARED TO TALK When the victim's identity is revealed, the list of suspects begins to grow: a young woman knows more than she's letting on, but is she really involved? Or there's the estranged father, who's been trying to find the victim for months. One thing is clear: no one is telling the whole truth. A KILLER BACK FOR MORE? Then a shocking tragedy leads Pearson to a similar murder case from decades before. Is it a coincidence, or is history repeating itself? As Pearson and Russell search for the answer, they find themselves drawn into a terrifying cover-up going back fifty years... If you like Peter James, LJ Ross, Erin Kelly, TM Logan and Patricia Gibney, then you'll love Mark Hardie's gripping novels. **** Praise for Mark Hardie: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)
Release

The Other Mrs Walker

Author: Mary Paulson-Ellis

Publisher: Mantle

ISBN: 1743549202

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 7370

The Other Mrs Walker - a detective story with no detective - is a beautiful, beguiling and intensely moving debut. "One of the strongest debuts of the year" Glasgow Herald Somehow she'd always known that she would end like this. In a small square room, in a small square flat. In a small square box, perhaps. Cardboard, with a sticker on the outside. And a name . . . An old lady dies alone and unheeded in a cold Edinburgh flat, on a snowy Christmas night. A faded emerald dress hangs in her wardrobe; a spilt glass of whisky pools on the carpet. A few days later a middle-aged woman arrives back to the city of her birth, her future uncertain, her past in tatters. But what Margaret Penny cannot yet know is that in investigating the death of one friendless old lady, her own life will become enriched beyond measure. PRAISE FOR THE OTHER MRS WALKER "An impressive debut . . . Flinted with shards of black humour, The Other Mrs Walker is refreshingly inventive crime fiction as Margaret gradually uncovers the truth of children born and died. Of madwomen dragged out into the street. Of a mother who had tried in her own way to keep her daughter safe." Irish Times "Intriguing and atmospheric" Guardian
Release

Glimpse

A Novel

Author: Jonathan Maberry

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 1250136326

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 6492

"A waking dream, at once powerful and subtly sinister." —Clive Barker, New York Times bestselling author A chilling thriller that explores what happens when reality and nightmares converge, and how far one will go to protect the innocent when their own brain is a threat. From New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry comes a novel that puts a bold new spin on the supernatural thriller. Rain Thomas is a mess. Seven years an addict and three difficult years clean. Racked by guilt for the baby she gave up for adoption when she was sixteen. Still grieving for the boy’s father who died in Iraq. Alone, discarded by her family, with only the damaged members of her narcotics anonymous meetings as friends. Them, and the voices in her head. One morning, on the way to a much-needed job interview, she borrows reading glasses to review her resume. There is a small crack in one lens and through that damaged slice of glass she sees a young boy go running down the aisle of the subway train. Is he screaming with laughter or just screaming? When she tries to find the boy, he’s gone and no one has seen him. The day spins out of control. Rain loses whole chunks of time. She has no idea where her days went. The voices she hears are telling her horrible things. And even stranger things are happening. Unsure whether she is going insane, Rain sets out to find answers to long buried questions about an earlier life she has avoided for years—in what may be the most dangerous collision of all, that between reality and nightmare. How far will one person go to save someone they love? Read on at your own peril...
Release

Hold On to Your Dreams

Arthur Russell and the Downtown Music Scene, 1973-1992

Author: Tim Lawrence

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN: 9780822390855

Category: Music

Page: 444

View: 7485

Hold On to Your Dreams is the first biography of the musician and composer Arthur Russell, one of the most important but least known contributors to New York’s downtown music scene during the 1970s and 1980s. With the exception of a few dance recordings, including “Is It All Over My Face?” and “Go Bang! #5,” Russell’s pioneering music was largely forgotten until 2004, when the posthumous release of two albums brought new attention to the artist. This revival of interest gained momentum with the issue of additional albums and the documentary film Wild Combination. Based on interviews with more than seventy of his collaborators, family members, and friends, Hold On to Your Dreams provides vital new information about this singular, eccentric musician and his role in the boundary-breaking downtown music scene. Tim Lawrence traces Russell’s odyssey from his hometown of Oskaloosa, Iowa, to countercultural San Francisco, and eventually to New York, where he lived from 1973 until his death from AIDS-related complications in 1992. Resisting definition while dreaming of commercial success, Russell wrote and performed new wave and disco as well as quirky rock, twisted folk, voice-cello dub, and hip-hop-inflected pop. “He was way ahead of other people in understanding that the walls between concert music and popular music and avant-garde music were illusory,” comments the composer Philip Glass. “He lived in a world in which those walls weren’t there.” Lawrence follows Russell across musical genres and through such vital downtown music spaces as the Kitchen, the Loft, the Gallery, the Paradise Garage, and the Experimental Intermedia Foundation. Along the way, he captures Russell’s openness to sound, his commitment to collaboration, and his uncompromising idealism.
Release

Good and Cheap

Eat Well on $4/Day

Author: Leanne Brown

Publisher: Workman Publishing

ISBN: 0761184171

Category: Cooking

Page: 208

View: 7110

A perfect and irresistible idea: A cookbook filled with delicious, healthful recipes created for everyone on a tight budget. While studying food policy as a master’s candidate at NYU, Leanne Brown asked a simple yet critical question: How well can a person eat on the $4 a day given by SNAP, the U.S. government’s Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program informally known as food stamps? The answer is surprisingly well: Broiled Tilapia with Lime, Spicy Pulled Pork, Green Chile and Cheddar Quesadillas, Vegetable Jambalaya, Beet and Chickpea Salad—even desserts like Coconut Chocolate Cookies and Peach Coffee Cake. In addition to creating nutritious recipes that maximize every ingredient and use economical cooking methods, Ms. Brown gives tips on shopping; on creating pantry basics; on mastering certain staples—pizza dough, flour tortillas—and saucy extras that make everything taste better, like spice oil and tzatziki; and how to make fundamentally smart, healthful food choices. The idea for Good and Cheap is already proving itself. The author launched a Kickstarter campaign to self-publish and fund the buy one/give one model. Hundreds of thousands of viewers watched her video and donated $145,000, and national media are paying attention. Even high-profile chefs and food writers have taken note—like Mark Bittman, who retweeted the link to the campaign; Francis Lam, who called it “Terrific!”; and Michael Pollan, who cited it as a “cool kickstarter.” In the same way that TOMS turned inexpensive, stylish shoes into a larger do-good movement, Good and Cheap is poised to become a cookbook that every food lover with a conscience will embrace.
Release

Fired Up or Burned Out

Author: Michael L. Stallard

Publisher: HarperCollins Leadership

ISBN: 1418567833

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 256

View: 7854

Indisputable evidence has revealed the greatest threat to America's economy. Is it off-shoring labor? Unethical corporate practices? A turbulent market that forces downsizing? No. A Gallup Organization survey of more than one million Americans show that nearly 75 percent of all workers are disengaged. Employee disengagement is a widespread malady in American organizations, causing the loss of billions of dollars, hours of dissatisfaction, and work lives lacking true value. In his book, Fired Up or Burned Out, Michael Stallard shares the three key actions necessary to transform even a lethargic, disconnected organization or office into an impassioned, innovative, and thriving workplace.
Release

The Gospel of Inclusion

Reaching Beyond Religious Fundamentalism to the True Love of God and Self

Author: Carlton Pearson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1416585036

Category: Religion

Page: 256

View: 6069

Fourth-generation fundamentalist Carlton Pearson, a Christian megastar and host, takes a courageous and controversial stand on religion that proposes a hell-less Christianity and a gospel of inclusion that calls for an end to local and worldwide conflicts and divisions along religious lines. The Gospel of Inclusion explores the exclusionary doctrines in mainstream religion and concludes that according to the evidence of the Bible and irrefutable logic, they cannot be true. Bishop Pearson argues that the controlling dogmas of religion are the source of much of the world's ills and that we should turn our backs on proselytizing and holy wars and focus on the real good news: that we are all bound for glory, everybody is saved, and if we believe God loves all mankind, then we have no choice but to have the same attitude ourselves. The Gospel of Inclusion also tells the story of a powerful religious figure who watched everything he had crumble due to a scandal. Why? He didn't steal money nor did he have inappropriate sexual relationships. Following a revelation from God, he began to preach that a loving God would not condemn most of the human race to hell because they are not Christian. Hepreaches that God belongs to no religion. The Gospel of Inclusion is the journey of one man's quest to preach a new truth.
Release

Introduction to Probability

Author: Charles Miller Grinstead,James Laurie Snell

Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.

ISBN: 0821894145

Category: Probabilities

Page: 510

View: 7563

This text is designed for an introductory probability course at the university level for sophomores, juniors, and seniors in mathematics, physical and social sciences, engineering, and computer science. It presents a thorough treatment of ideas and techniques necessary for a firm understanding of the subject. The text is also recommended for use in discrete probability courses. The material is organized so that the discrete and continuous probability discussions are presented in a separate, but parallel, manner. This organization does not emphasize an overly rigorous or formal view of probability and therefore offers some strong pedagogical value. Hence, the discrete discussions can sometimes serve to motivate the more abstract continuous probability discussions. Features: Key ideas are developed in a somewhat leisurely style, providing a variety of interesting applications to probability and showing some nonintuitive ideas. Over 600 exercises provide the opportunity for practicing skills and developing a sound understanding of ideas. Numerous historical comments deal with the development of discrete probability. The text includes many computer programs that illustrate the algorithms or the methods of computation for important problems. The book is a beautiful introduction to probability theory at the beginning level. The book contains a lot of examples and an easy development of theory without any sacrifice of rigor, keeping the abstraction to a minimal level. It is indeed a valuable addition to the study of probability theory. --Zentralblatt MATH
Release

You Only Live Twice

Author: Ian Fleming

Publisher: Pickle Partners Publishing

ISBN: 1787206602

Category: History

Page: 191

View: 6624

James Bond is about to be cashiered out of Her Majesty’s Secret Service. The British agent whose exploits have been followed by millions of readers around the world, who has thwarted such arch-criminals as Dr. No and Goldfinger, now finds himself on a last-chance mission. Sick with grief over the death of Tracy, his beautiful wife of a day, Bond has bungled two important assignments. As You Only Live Twice opens, Bond faces an unspoken ultimatum. He must make good on a vital mission to Japan or his career in the service will be finished.... In this latest adventure novel the inimitable Ian Fleming unfolds a spellbinding tale of the Orient—of sensuous pleasure and maniacal torture—of a suicide garden of sulphurous fumaroles and poisonous plants surrounding a pool of man-eating piranha—of a lissome beauty named Kissy Suzuki—and of James Bond’s appointment with destiny in a place of easy death.
Release

The New-Yorker

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page: N.A

View: 7640

Release

The Encyclopedia of British Film

Fourth Edition

Author: Brian McFarlane,Anthony Slide

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 071909139X

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1000

View: 6417

This is a comprehensive history of the British film industry from its inception to the present day, with minute listings of the producers, directors, actors and studios behind a century of great British cinema.
Release

Written in Bones

Author: James Oswald

Publisher: Michael Joseph

ISBN: 9780718183677

Category:

Page: 416

View: 3438

""
Release

The Hoosier School-master

A Novel

Author: Edward Eggleston

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Country life

Page: 218

View: 5014

Story of a school-master of the lawless and homely pioneer life of Indiana that rings true in the telling, for it has its roots deep in American life. It is a book that remains year in and year out a perennial favorite among children and grownups.
Release

Leslie's

Author: John Albert Sleicher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 8803

Release

The Definitive Book of Body Language

The Hidden Meaning Behind People's Gestures and Expressions

Author: Barbara Pease,Allan Pease

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 9780307483690

Category: Self-Help

Page: 400

View: 9043

Available for the first time in the United States, this international bestseller reveals the secrets of nonverbal communication to give you confidence and control in any face-to-face encounter–from making a great first impression and acing a job interview to finding the right partner. It is a scientific fact that people’s gestures give away their true intentions. Yet most of us don’t know how to read body language–and don’t realize how our own physical movements speak to others. Now the world’s foremost experts on the subject share their techniques for reading body language signals to achieve success in every area of life. Drawing upon more than thirty years in the field, as well as cutting-edge research from evolutionary biology, psychology, and medical technologies that demonstrate what happens in the brain, the authors examine each component of body language and give you the basic vocabulary to read attitudes and emotions through behavior. Discover: • How palms and handshakes are used to gain control • The most common gestures of liars • How the legs reveal what the mind wants to do • The most common male and female courtship gestures and signals • The secret signals of cigarettes, glasses, and makeup • The magic of smiles–including smiling advice for women • How to use nonverbal cues and signals to communicate more effectively and get the reactions you want Filled with fascinating insights, humorous observations, and simple strategies that you can apply to any situation, this intriguing book will enrich your communication with and understanding of others–as well as yourself. From the Hardcover edition.
Release

The Academy and Literature

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 9654

The Poetical gazette; the official organ of the Poetry society and a review of poetical affairs, nos. 4-7 issued as supplements to the Academy, v. 79, Oct. 15, Nov. 5, Dec. 3 and 31, 1910
Release